We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced but great position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Valbonne, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“over priced but great position”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

took my family both children and parents. we decided to eat in the restaurant below...the food was below average it took absolutely ages to arrive and both the wait staff and the chefs seemed to be so much more interested in their private lives than serving customers. the portions were very small very small infact some of the people had to order second meals. we were told "that's fine dining for you" oh paleeese. the food was not that good and we paid for too many staff to stand around chatting to each other. the rooms were clean but covered in ants and bugs and when we said something we were told "oh you get that up here" for all of us it was way over priced trying to be a ritzy establishment but run by bogans. poor form indeed!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robswife64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for placing your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic beach front position so much - there are not many resorts where you can walk out of your room and onto the golden sands of the Coral Sea.

I am very sorry that we have not met your expectations with the restaurant in this occasion. We value the opinions of all of our guests and endeavour to offer an experience that satisfies.

I have passed your suggestions to our Head Chef and restaurant manager who continue to strive to meet each individual guest requirements and are grateful for the constructive criticism.

Life in the tropics means that we share our environment with all sorts of insects and animals, and you may see small ants (that don’t bite) and other harmless insects in your room. They are completely harmless and make up an important part of our fragile eco system. We do actively work to control them and are disappointed to hear that they have dampened your time here with us.

Thanks again for taking to time to tell us how your feel.

Management at Castaways,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    268
    118
    68
    47
See reviews for
166
416
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our planned accommodation was closed due to cyclone Yasi damage so we checked in here and was pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and fresh with a fantastic view of the beach and pool. The restaurant and bar was very good too. We enjoyed our short stay and walked along the beach to view some of the damage nature had handed some properties.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eraserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thanks for writing this review for us! Next time you visit you will have to stay for more than just one night. Mission Beach is a tropical paradise that is rich with activities and day trips - Castaways Resort & Spa Activities Centre can coordinate a range of tours while holidaying at Mission Beach including Great Barrier Reef tours, white water rafting, sky diving, sailing, kayaking, eco tours and fishing charters just to name a few. We insist that one day is not enough! I am sure you will agree.

Thanks again,

Castaways management & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

All rooms have ocean views which is the only good thing I can say about the room, old tied furniture and very poor quality towels and linen the bathroom was basic and about 20 years old. The main reception area has had a facelift as has the pool and bar area but found the dinning experience left a lot to be desired, small portions of food.Vegetables and sauces were an added cost to the dish making for a very expensive meal and wine prices also high. Not a large selection on the menu. Very disappointing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peregian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The view from our room was the only redeeming feature of this resort. We found it totally over priced at $205 per night room only found the room furniture very old and the bathroom dated the towels were poor quality and the dinning was also overpriced and very small portions need to pay extra for veg & potato also drinks $$$$ would not recommend as a good value stay.

Room Tip: all rooms have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamcatcher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Many thanks for your response.

My sincerest apologies that our resort did not meet your expectations. We are all very proud of our resort and responses like this are taken very seriously - it is with the constructive criticism such as yours that we can continue to improve our resort.

If you are ever in Mission Beach again - we do hope you give us another chance to meet your expectations.

Management and the team at Castaways
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights for a "doing absolutely nothing" holiday. The location, right on the beachfront, was amazing, and I would say that the part of the 14km long beach that we were on was the nicest looking part, too. The mornings were best, we would lie on the recliners by the pool in the sun and read till we got too hot, then jump in the sea of the pool to cool down, then repeat. Bliss. Unfortunately the resort pool/dining area (and balconies) only gets the morning sun, so you would have to move to the beach for the rest of the day or find something else to do (nature walk, go on a drive). The rooms left a bit to be desired, while clean, with modern furniture, the bathroom was pretty old and crusty and the mini fridge made a lot of noise sporadically which kept waking me up at night. All the service we were in contact with was quite rushed and not particularly welcoming, which suprised us as our contact via phone had been so friendly. We only ate at the resort one night as it seemed a little pricey, and while it is probably one of the best options on Mission Beach for a restaurant quality feed, we still preferred the local fish and chip place (BYO and all). So if the pool facilities and beachfront location are more important that great dining options and luxury rooms then go for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
I am so pleased that you chose Mission Beach for your three day escape. It is one of the few places in the world that it is almost impossible not to feel relaxed and invigorated after spending a few days here. It is also great to hear that you made the most of our stunning poolside area – nothing says holiday like a cocktail by the pool!

I have passed over your issues with the fridge with maintenance and can only apologise that is stopped you from getting the quality of sleep you deserved. We have the best beds in the business in our rooms at Castaways – the Western Dream Beds and we place ‘sleep quality’ very high on our list of priorities.

Thanks for your compliments about our restaurant Bibesia – we are very proud with the quality of food that we serve here, I am pleased you also discovered some of the other 'budget' Mission Beach eating options – we also think fish and chips is a must for a true North Queensland holiday.

Thanks again fro taking the time to review us – I have passed on all of your suggestions to our department heads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Firstly my booking was lost despite the fact it had been booked on their website. The room had a good view otherwise resembled a cheap motel. I was given a key that did not work which left me stranded at 11pm when there was no one at reception and no phone in foyer to call for help. There were staff in the kitchen who could not hear me knock because there music was so loud. Next morning was given free breakfast as compensation and had to wait ine hour to be served. Could not believe this is advertised as resort and charges accordingly. Stay at the elandra.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sairair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
I am so sorry that your time at Castaways did not reflect your expectations or the standard of which we normally operate. I have been informed of the unfortunate situation with your key and can understand how frustrated you must have felt. Our restaurant- although in a relaxed and chilled-out North Queensland setting, strives to offer service that is not only friendly but efficient and I agree that waiting a long time to be served is not acceptable. This is in no way an example of how we usually operate.

I have passed over this complaint to our Food and Beverage manager to get to the bottom of what happened with breakfast service on that particular morning. If you would like to contact me personally to further discuss this please do. 07 4068 7444

It never sits well with us that one of our guests has left unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The location is right on the beach and the views from the room were beautiful and relaxing. The public areas (reception, restaurant, bar, pool) all seem to be new and are very nice however, for the price charged, I think the room could do with a refurb - it all looked a bit worn, scuff marks and scratches on the furniture and the bathroom needs an upgrade, although the bed and bedding seemed new and was very comfortable. It was all clean and quite spacious, just not quite up to what I'd expect for the price.
Staff and service was ok, it got the job done but wasn't particularly exceptional.
With a room upgrade and improved staff efficiency this could be an awesome place but currently for the price charged is only average

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
131 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#1 of 23 in Mission Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Property: Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing