We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Aussie
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I spent 1 night at Castaways Resort on our way to Port Douglas from Townsville. The location of the resort was excellent (walking distance to town and right on the beach) and the view from our 2-bedroom spa apartment was fantastic. Unfortunately, the room had only been partially renovated and felt quite old and dated which was very disappointing. Whilst the staff were friendly enough during our stay I had to ask several times for additional items for my room and several emails/phone calls to the resort with questions/request before arrival went unanswered. The food (both lunch and dinner) at the restaurant was excellent! Overall, it was ok (view & location) but the 2-bedroom apartment rooms certainly need to be fully renovated.

Room Tip: Check that your room has been fully renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    270
    120
    70
    48
See reviews for
168
421
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have stayed at Castaways several times and were very pleased to see the resort is back to full operation after the cyclone. Unfortunately they have lost their English chef so the food standard has slipped a bit, but the bar is still fabulous - fantastic cocktails.

Room Tip: Always book beachside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argonaut7745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Public Relations Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thanks so much for loyalty to Castaways Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your thoughts on trip advisor. We agree - the resort and the beach looks amazing - you almost wouldn't believe there had been such a large cyclone here only a few months ago! Looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in Mission Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of a 7 day driving tour of North Queensland. On first arriving the exterior at the land side of the building does not do the resort justice. However once you pass through into reception you quickly see why this place is popular. With the beach starting right at the property boundary the situation is idyllic. Palm trees and uninterrupted sea views to the island immediately let you know you are somewhere special.

Our room was on the third floor of three. No problem with luggage as the lifts worked fine. Staff were extremely welcoming and although we arrived a little early a room was ready and we were able to move straight in. We were shore side and the view and sound of the sea were just what we were hoping for - terrific.

Service throughout was good, the room was clean and comfortable and the bed was fine. The breakfast was buffet style with hot food cooked to order. We settled for fruit, cereals etc and the quality was good. The lunchtime menu from the bar was good value. Dinner menu was a little limited and on the second night we ate at a restaurant in mission beach which was only a short walk along the sea - really good.

Overall we enjoyed our short stay here and given they are still recovering from the cyclone earlier this year the place is in good shape.

Room Tip: Go for shore side room to get the tremendous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Public Relations Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for your review - we really appreciate our guests taking the time to share their thoughts of trip advisor and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope you stay a little longer next time. The Mission Beach area is rich with day trips and activities from reef snorkelling and diving trips to extreme sports such as skydiving and rafting – we know that a two day stop over is not nearly enough!

Thanks again – see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Regularly visit castaways for the unpretentious relaxed atmosphere yet with a slightly luxurious beach club feel. Rooms are small and lack any space but then there is plenty off space and areas to lounge pool side, beach side and bar side with day beds and sun lounges. Excellent dinner, Very nice lunch and kids can swim and play with plenty of space for adults. We are never disapointed when we visit here as price versus value this hotel has some excellent aspects. Fresh produce, reasonably priced meals and excellent quality.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgijayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review of Castaways - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for telling us your thoughts on the restaurant - I have passed them over to our Chef and he is 'chuffed' that all his hard work is paying off. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Breathtakingly beautiful location, accommodation extremely suitable, meals had a good variety of choice and price appropriate given the venue, staff courteous at all times so I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had a wondeful 10 days in the Doorila penthouse apartment which was a perfect place to stay with another family. Luxury accomodation at a reasonable price, fantastic facilities and a great deck with expansive views out to sea and Dunk Island.

The Castaways Resort itself was also just great. The absolute beachfront position is amazing, great pool and a fantastic restaurant. To cap it off the staff were wonderful and went the extra yard to make sure everything was there for us and our stay was memorable.

A highlight of the trip was a trip out to one of the islands in the resort boat, champagne hampers with some whale viewing on the way!!

We also used the resort spa which was first class.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Hi Natasha,
Thank you so much for writing this review. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us- Looking forward to seeing you and your family here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Fantastic position right on the beach. Check in was smooth and quick. The room was well presented with comfortable beds. The service from all staff was friendly and efficient without being over familiar. Breakfast (a la carte menu) was very good and reasonably priced. Dinner for me was a bit disappointing in that the meals were not good value in size for price paid but the food was cooked and presented very well.
Overall a great place to stay in a beautiful location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayResort, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thanks so much for the review - we are thrilled you enjoyed your time at our gorgeous resort! We appreciation your thoughts on our restaurant and I have passed your suggestions on to our Head Chef. Thanks again - looking forward to seeing you again here soon.

The team at Castaways
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
116 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Property: Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing