We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We atayed for 1nite in room 212 with a Beachview. From the start to the finish everthing was Perfect. The staff were all very friendly & the room clean & bed so comfy, aircon was lovely.
The restaurant was just perfect & we had a lovely waitress named M............ ( Ive actually misplaced her name that I wrote down which was unusual) She was the best waitress I've met in along time. We had the fish which was devine. The whole experience was lovely & we shall return. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear "Just what we needed"

Thank you so much for the great feedback you have posted here on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our tropical little paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel was very reasonable price and is located in front of Mission Beach. Beautiful view from our room, which was clean, comfortable bed.

The pool and restaurant was very well presented and food very nice. I had a stroll and this seems the best accommodation in Mission Beach, absolutely tranquil and very relaxing.

Staff was also very helpful. We only stayed 1 night in our way to Cairns, but we will come back to spend more days so we can have time to do some board paddle, kayaking or go to Dunkan Island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "Absolutely beach front"

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even better to hear that you are coming back to stay with us again. There are a great deal of activities to part take in here in the area we would love to have you back to make sure you get to try them all.
The days when you are not out on the paddle board you can always relax here in our pool.

Thank you for your great feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Castaways is ideally located on Mission Beach, actually being located on the beachfront. The room was clean and comfortable, with relatively modern decor. The only potential problems with the room was that the air-conditioning wasn't very powerful, and the room had a strong salty smell. The latter of these is probably unavoidable being so close to the beach.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the food at the restaurant was delicious. I didn't make use of any of the internet facilities, so I can't comment on their quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "Great for the Beach"

Thank you so much for your nice feedback here on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After being extremely disappointed with our pre-booked accommodation we had lunch at Castaways and immediately decided to ditch the first place and check in here at Castaways. We were lucky enough to get the last room and were given a discounted rate which was greatly appreciated after forfeiting our money from the first establishment down the road. Castaways has that "away from it all" feel with all rooms having views to the beach through swaying palm trees. Our room was on the third floor (elevator) and sunrises were spectacular from the bed. We ate twice at the hotel and both times service and quality of food was fantastic.Swmming pools (one lap and one plunge) were near the bar/restaurant and gave it a real resort feeling with music playing throughout the day. We loved the sling chairs placed on the lawns facing the beach where you could take a bottle of wine and beers and chill in the afternoon. Walking distance to the little village where there is a pub and couple of other eateries and take-aways. We did a rain forest walk through ancient fan palms hoping to see a cassowary (probably best we didn't actually see one - they can be quite dangerous if you get too close!) which was lovely in the cool of the afternoon. Our room rate included a continental breakfast which included cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, jams, muffins, tea and coffee. A cooked breakfast could be provided for an extra $10. We would definitely return to Castaways Mission Beach when passing through again and recommend it to both couples and families.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room as all face the beach. We enjoyed the top floor as it offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "A Haven on the Beach"

I am sorry to hear that your vacation started off badly however am delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide here. Comments like yours have a great value for us being a smaller, independent resort as it reaches a large amount of potential guests so we very much appreciate the time you put in to doing this.

We hope to see you back here soon!

PS: We will keep the sling chairs reserved for you for your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great spot, total beachfront. We got a great deal with getaway. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. We would not hesitant to stay again. Rooms could do with a bit of a update but were clean and comfortable. Great views from balcony. A copy n paste of the beachfront review below. Great place though a little outdated for how much you pay

Room Tip: From having the double floor room I regret paying that much for what I got
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "Quaint"

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate this and it is of great value both for us and our future guests.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the time with us and hope to see you back in our little paradise soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great spot, total beachfront. We got a great deal with getaway. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. We would not hesitant to stay again. Rooms could do with a bit of a update but were clean and comfortable. Great views from balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "Beachfront"

Thank you so much for taking the time and write a feedback comment here on Tripadvisor. It is of great value to us and help us to constantly improve and update our facilities and services.

We do hope to see you back here in our own little paradise soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I did not stay at the resort but had the pleasure of having a massage with Yoko at Castaway's spa. This is a must. Yoko is not one of those masseuse that watches the clock. She lets her intuition and clients needs be the guide to the session. Yoko, has the knack of finding the core issues that contribute to ones physical stresses. Just want a relaxing massage Yoko will do it

Room Tip: Don't forget to book ahead and you don't have to be staying at the resort. to have a massage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roz32112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear "Massage out of this world"

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a comment here on Tripadvisor. I will make sure that Yoko hears about your lovely feedback!

I know that her focus lies heavily on creating individual sessions and based on your feedback she has done just that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
2 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
350 reviews
1 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 22 in Mission Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
119 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing