We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Nearby Hotels
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach(Mission Beach)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach(Bingil Bay)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Beach Shores(Wongaling Beach)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dunk Island View Caravan Park(Wongaling Beach)(Great Value!)
US$33
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Licuala Lodge(Mission Beach)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mission Beach Resort(Mission Beach)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mission Beach Retreat(Mission Beach)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hibiscus Lodge(Wongaling Beach)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctuary Retreat(Bingil Bay)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Boutique Bungalows(Wongaling Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
305
299
140
81
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
299
140
81
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastaways resortcontinental breakfastthe main hotelpalm treesthe ground floorcoral seabeachfront locationfantastic locationbar and restaurantday bedprawnsstinger netbedroom apartmentport douglasfamily roomthe great barrier reefstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a great resort hotel located right on beautiful Mission Beach. The resort has a lovely pool along the front looking out over the beach with the restaurant / bar as a backdrop. Staff are very friendly and helpful though most of them appeared to be young people on a working holiday but I would assume there is not a large employment base in Mission Beach to select staff from.
The atmosphere is very laid back and casual with most guests not wearing shoes when using the restaurant / bar during the day but it is that sort of place and no one seemed to be really bothered.
(this is the except bit) Kids running amok in the pool was a headache for us as were looking for a quieter time of it, but dont really blame the kids. Gave the death stare to a couple of parents who just really didnt give a care to what their little darlings were up to. Dont be put off by that as it really is a fabulous place to stay and we will certainly be back.
We did book the week before school holidays started but the little blighters were there anyway.

Didnt have dinner in the restaurant this time around. We visited The Sand Bar restaurant just up the road where Gerrard and his small team looked after us with excellent food and kept the wine coming. Breakfast at the resort was continental (inc in room rate) which was bit hit and miss but it was okay. You can have a full hot breakfast for an extra $10 which seemed pretty good value. I did see the food coming out of the kitchen and it certainly looked very nice and everyone dining seemed to enjoy it (dinner).

Enjoy a nice cocktail at the bar area in the evening when things are a bit quieter and you can really appreciate what a beautiful place it is.

As a day trip this time we stopped in at the pub in El Arish just off the main highway about 25km away for lunch. Certainly worth a visit for good value meals and a real Aussie country pub experience with a few locals thrown in as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear "Great Resort except..."

Thank you so much for taking time out and write your feedback here on Tripadvisor. In this tropical environment that we are in it is very convenient and comfortable to be very casual and I can see that this may be slightly different or unusual to other establishments in a big city environment.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also got the pleasure of visiting the El Arish pub.

I do hope we will see you back with us in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We atayed for 1nite in room 212 with a Beachview. From the start to the finish everthing was Perfect. The staff were all very friendly & the room clean & bed so comfy, aircon was lovely.
The restaurant was just perfect & we had a lovely waitress named M............ ( Ive actually misplaced her name that I wrote down which was unusual) She was the best waitress I've met in along time. We had the fish which was devine. The whole experience was lovely & we shall return. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear "Just what we needed"

Thank you so much for the great feedback you have posted here on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our tropical little paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel was very reasonable price and is located in front of Mission Beach. Beautiful view from our room, which was clean, comfortable bed.

The pool and restaurant was very well presented and food very nice. I had a stroll and this seems the best accommodation in Mission Beach, absolutely tranquil and very relaxing.

Staff was also very helpful. We only stayed 1 night in our way to Cairns, but we will come back to spend more days so we can have time to do some board paddle, kayaking or go to Dunkan Island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "Absolutely beach front"

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even better to hear that you are coming back to stay with us again. There are a great deal of activities to part take in here in the area we would love to have you back to make sure you get to try them all.
The days when you are not out on the paddle board you can always relax here in our pool.

Thank you for your great feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Castaways is ideally located on Mission Beach, actually being located on the beachfront. The room was clean and comfortable, with relatively modern decor. The only potential problems with the room was that the air-conditioning wasn't very powerful, and the room had a strong salty smell. The latter of these is probably unavoidable being so close to the beach.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the food at the restaurant was delicious. I didn't make use of any of the internet facilities, so I can't comment on their quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "Great for the Beach"

Thank you so much for your nice feedback here on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After being extremely disappointed with our pre-booked accommodation we had lunch at Castaways and immediately decided to ditch the first place and check in here at Castaways. We were lucky enough to get the last room and were given a discounted rate which was greatly appreciated after forfeiting our money from the first establishment down the road. Castaways has that "away from it all" feel with all rooms having views to the beach through swaying palm trees. Our room was on the third floor (elevator) and sunrises were spectacular from the bed. We ate twice at the hotel and both times service and quality of food was fantastic.Swmming pools (one lap and one plunge) were near the bar/restaurant and gave it a real resort feeling with music playing throughout the day. We loved the sling chairs placed on the lawns facing the beach where you could take a bottle of wine and beers and chill in the afternoon. Walking distance to the little village where there is a pub and couple of other eateries and take-aways. We did a rain forest walk through ancient fan palms hoping to see a cassowary (probably best we didn't actually see one - they can be quite dangerous if you get too close!) which was lovely in the cool of the afternoon. Our room rate included a continental breakfast which included cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast, jams, muffins, tea and coffee. A cooked breakfast could be provided for an extra $10. We would definitely return to Castaways Mission Beach when passing through again and recommend it to both couples and families.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room as all face the beach. We enjoyed the top floor as it offered a little more privacy. Some of the ground floor rooms had gates leading straight on to the pool deck.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear "A Haven on the Beach"

I am sorry to hear that your vacation started off badly however am delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide here. Comments like yours have a great value for us being a smaller, independent resort as it reaches a large amount of potential guests so we very much appreciate the time you put in to doing this.

We hope to see you back here soon!

PS: We will keep the sling chairs reserved for you for your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews