We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay in Licuala Lodge”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2nd stay in Licuala Lodge”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have enjoyed our 2nd stay at Licuala Lodge and we really enjoyed seeing Sue and Mick again and enjoying their humor. Still a great place where you get a wonderful breakfast. We enjoyed using the bbq in the evening and the great pool. Also the cassowary was visiting again. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funbar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Hi Funbar75 - many thanks for your review. Glad to know that you are both back safe and sound in sunny Bern. We know that Swiss humour is on the same platform as Aussie humour.

Life is tough, and if you have the ability to laugh at it you have the ability to enjoy it.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
150
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2012

There couldn't be too many better ways to start the new year than this. Great stay in a beautiful room, Mick and Sue really made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. As for QLD's best breakfast, it was every bit as good as the hype suggested, highly rate Licuala lodge and will without doubt be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewy1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi Chewy - thanks for the review. Glad you liked the brekky. Surely one of life's little pleasures is sitting down with like-minded guests and having fresh fruit, homemade bread, a cooked breakfast outdoors overlooking a tropical garden, and solving the world's problems.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Lovely setting and lucky to see a cassowary with chicks. Lovely breakfast served by friendly and helpful owners who supplied lots of local information...peaceful and relaxing. A great base to explore the local beaches and hinterland of Cairns region.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Hi Gwen - thanks for the review. Glad to know that all went well for you both in Cairns. The chicks are getting quite brave now and are getting bigger and fatter by the day. Best wishes for the 2013 school year and beyond.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here for one night to skydive from Mission Beach.
The whole experience was excellent, rooms were spotless, attention to detail was superb. A cassowary visited 3 times in the 14 hours we were there which was brilliant. We used the outdoor bbq which came with complimentary condiments and we had time to use the pool.
We were up early due to our skydive, but were sent packing with a breakfast!
Excellent service and they really do deserve 5 stars.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
G'day Richard - you'll be pleased to know that our male cassowary turned up on Nov 6 with two chicks. Fingers crossed that they both survive. Well done yourself on surviving the skydive :-) And all that's left for you now is to convince the rest of Dorset to start BBQ-ing each weekend.

Love to all in sunny ole Blighty

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a quality, well thought out and operated B&B. The accomodation is of a high standard & the hosts friendly & helpful. And as if that wasn't enough the breakfast was just great so if you want to recharge your batteries in the lovely Mission Beach region then try and spend a few days here. I'm thinking you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfterDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Hi AfterDark - many thanks for the review. Just to let you know that our male cassowary made an appearance on the 6th Nov with two beautiful little chicks.

Love to all in sunny Brissie

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in early October and this was certainly the most memorable of all our 18 stops while touring Australia. The hosts were friendly, helpful, considerate and had a great sense of humour, even gifting us a bottle of wine and a discount! Theroom was clean, (most important), fresh and had every amenity we could have wanted. Breakfast was a great experience, where else could one get a full English breakfast sitting on a veranda in 30 degrees with views over a superbly maintained garden and pool. If travelling south from here don't forget to ask for the "BIG" list, good fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
G'day Graham - hope all is well in sunny London. Sense of humour is most important, especially when on holiday. If you are intrigued by the 'BIG' list, then do a search on 'big things in australia'.

All the best - love to all in the UK

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed overnight at Licuala Lodge in October and wish we'd been able to stay longer.

Mission Beach is a beautiful and very relaxed area of the Australian coast - with a bit of Skydiving thrown in to the mix if you feel that way! There's a lovely rainforest feel to both the whole township, as well as the lodge. We awoke to the sound of so many birds - we felt like we were in an aviary! It was amazing! (We had slept with our door open by accident - perhaps wouldn't have woken us up if we'd closed it!)

We were pleasantly surprised to be visited by a local cassowary (or 3!) during our short stay too!

The rooms are beautiful, so clean and well equipped with a fridge, ceiling fan, complimentary toiletries and bedding/towels. The lodge itself is equipped with everything you'd need - a massive fridge (stocked with a variety of very cheap drinks and ice lollies, full kitchen facilities (including condiments, cling film and tin foil!), a BBQ and outdoor eating area, TV, games, books washing facilities ($3 per load), swimming pool and pool towels and free tea and coffee making facilities too.

The owners are so friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay an extremely comfortable and enjoyable one. Breakfast was yummy too!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Lodge to anyone - it is a lovely place to be and stay!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms I saw looked the same - there wasn't a bad one there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Hi Beck - glad to know that you are back safe and sound in sunny Poole. Also glad that you mentioned that you slept with your door open. Besides the doors to each room there are screen doors and curtains, and having the door open at night allows a lovely night breeze to float through the room. The Lodge is the kind of safe place where you can leave your door open at night - absolutely no worries :-)

Lots of people at the moment are finding it expensive to eat out at restaurants all the time, so they do welcome the cooking facilities that we offer - and the fresh herbs straight from the garden. The lemon basil is to die for.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#4 of 23 in Mission Beach
258 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Property: Licuala Lodge
Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing