We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delightful sanctuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salalah, Oman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a delightful sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were visiting Australia from Oman in the Middle East and decided to stay at Licuala for our 10th anniversary. The pictures on the website were the first thing that attracted us to this B&B and we were further impressed by our welcoming (an humorous!) hosts, quaint queenslander style accommodation, multiple guest amenities, manicured gardens and cassowary encounters. Sue and Mick's homemade breakfast was delicious and we found that this relaxing affair was something that we looked forward to daily. We also enjoyed swims in the pool by moonlight and walking around the gardens in the property, appreciating the effort that has gone into all of the hand-picked plant varieties. Thank you also to our hosts for the complimentary bottle of wine! I'm afraid there was only one downside... as this was our first experience in B&B type accommodation, we believe this perfect stay at Licuala may have spoiled us for life!
Warmest Regards from the Middle East and thank you for your hospitality
Cat and Joe
Salalah, Oman

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat and Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Hi Cat and Joe - glad to know that you are back safe and sound in sunny Oman. You are still the one and only guests we have had from Oman, and I guess that your pin will remain on its own for some time.

Not long after you left we harvested all the passionfruit - too much for us and we ended up giving most of it to all our neighbours. The rest of the garden we hope to finish by the end of this year (2013) - fingers crossed for some decent weather in the coming months.

Many thanks for your kind words, and for sure we'll look you up if we happen to be passing through Salalah.

May you have many many more happy anniversaries :)

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
141
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have enjoyed our 2nd stay at Licuala Lodge and we really enjoyed seeing Sue and Mick again and enjoying their humor. Still a great place where you get a wonderful breakfast. We enjoyed using the bbq in the evening and the great pool. Also the cassowary was visiting again. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funbar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Hi Funbar75 - many thanks for your review. Glad to know that you are both back safe and sound in sunny Bern. We know that Swiss humour is on the same platform as Aussie humour.

Life is tough, and if you have the ability to laugh at it you have the ability to enjoy it.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

There couldn't be too many better ways to start the new year than this. Great stay in a beautiful room, Mick and Sue really made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. As for QLD's best breakfast, it was every bit as good as the hype suggested, highly rate Licuala lodge and will without doubt be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chewy1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi Chewy - thanks for the review. Glad you liked the brekky. Surely one of life's little pleasures is sitting down with like-minded guests and having fresh fruit, homemade bread, a cooked breakfast outdoors overlooking a tropical garden, and solving the world's problems.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Lovely setting and lucky to see a cassowary with chicks. Lovely breakfast served by friendly and helpful owners who supplied lots of local information...peaceful and relaxing. A great base to explore the local beaches and hinterland of Cairns region.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Hi Gwen - thanks for the review. Glad to know that all went well for you both in Cairns. The chicks are getting quite brave now and are getting bigger and fatter by the day. Best wishes for the 2013 school year and beyond.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here for one night to skydive from Mission Beach.
The whole experience was excellent, rooms were spotless, attention to detail was superb. A cassowary visited 3 times in the 14 hours we were there which was brilliant. We used the outdoor bbq which came with complimentary condiments and we had time to use the pool.
We were up early due to our skydive, but were sent packing with a breakfast!
Excellent service and they really do deserve 5 stars.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
G'day Richard - you'll be pleased to know that our male cassowary turned up on Nov 6 with two chicks. Fingers crossed that they both survive. Well done yourself on surviving the skydive :-) And all that's left for you now is to convince the rest of Dorset to start BBQ-ing each weekend.

Love to all in sunny ole Blighty

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a quality, well thought out and operated B&B. The accomodation is of a high standard & the hosts friendly & helpful. And as if that wasn't enough the breakfast was just great so if you want to recharge your batteries in the lovely Mission Beach region then try and spend a few days here. I'm thinking you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfterDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Hi AfterDark - many thanks for the review. Just to let you know that our male cassowary made an appearance on the 6th Nov with two beautiful little chicks.

Love to all in sunny Brissie

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in early October and this was certainly the most memorable of all our 18 stops while touring Australia. The hosts were friendly, helpful, considerate and had a great sense of humour, even gifting us a bottle of wine and a discount! Theroom was clean, (most important), fresh and had every amenity we could have wanted. Breakfast was a great experience, where else could one get a full English breakfast sitting on a veranda in 30 degrees with views over a superbly maintained garden and pool. If travelling south from here don't forget to ask for the "BIG" list, good fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
G'day Graham - hope all is well in sunny London. Sense of humour is most important, especially when on holiday. If you are intrigued by the 'BIG' list, then do a search on 'big things in australia'.

All the best - love to all in the UK

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.6 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Property: Licuala Lodge
Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing