We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Licuala Lodge at Mission Beach in April. We would highly recommend this property to everyone. Sue and Mick were extremely helpful and there were nice little touches, such as tea and homemade fresh scones and cream when we arrived. The rooms were a nice size and everything was of excellent quality. The facilities were excellent too, including laundry room, refreshments available and plenty of room in the lounge to either watch Tv or read a book. Pool looked nice, although we didn't use it as it rained for the two days we were there unfortunately. A lovely find in the rainforest with plenty of wildlife too, including the Cassowary which we spotted in the garden. Lastly, but by no means least, Sue's beautifully breakfast each morning was delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same standard. Excellent
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxed575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Hi - many thanks for the review. Hope all is well in sunny Woking. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather. Sadly not much we can do about the weather, but at least here in North Qld it is always warm albeit wet on occasions.

One of Sue's better ideas (naturally she has nothing but good ideas) was to start baking her own bread a few months ago and that is proving to be a big hit with our guests. Home made stuff is always better than shop bought :-)

Love to all in ole Blighty

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Licuala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is a very private, purpose built B&B in a tropical rainforest. Breakfast was a true delight and we had the best pancakes ever, made by Sue. Wonderful pool in the gardens.
Nicely set up for bringing in takeaway food as its a bit remote to walk to restaurants.
Val & Dave
British Columbia, Canada

Room Tip: If you have the far end unit nobody walk past your room on the deck.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Hi Val and Dave - hope all is well in sunny BC. The snow should have disappeared by now :-)

Many thanks for the review - glad you liked the breakfast and the pool. A lot of our guests do appreciate that you can bring takeaway food to the Lodge, or do your own cooking as eating out each night at restaurants can be a big burden on the wallet.

Love to all in Kamloops

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at Licuala Lodge as part of our journey from Cairns to Sydney and had a wonderful, relaxing time. The owners, Mick and Sue were very accommodating. They helped us book our trip to the Great Barrier Reef and booked us in to stay another night at the lodge at short notice. Sue made us a delicious breakfast to take on our trip due to the early start! Our room was spotless, very comfortable and the lodge has absolutely everything you'd need. A home away from home....thank you for having us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

G'day Emma - glad to know that you are back safe and sound in sunny Maidstone. Many thanks for your kind words. Sue does work extremely hard to keep the Lodge as clean as possible. And just in case you didn't know she doesn't use any chemical cleaners - just those wonderful wonderful Enjo cloths. Clean and Green :-)

Sue's breakfast is becoming legendary - if only the waiter was just as good !!

All the best - love to all in ole Blighty

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were visiting Australia from Oman in the Middle East and decided to stay at Licuala for our 10th anniversary. The pictures on the website were the first thing that attracted us to this B&B and we were further impressed by our welcoming (an humorous!) hosts, quaint queenslander style accommodation, multiple guest amenities, manicured gardens and cassowary encounters. Sue and Mick's homemade breakfast was delicious and we found that this relaxing affair was something that we looked forward to daily. We also enjoyed swims in the pool by moonlight and walking around the gardens in the property, appreciating the effort that has gone into all of the hand-picked plant varieties. Thank you also to our hosts for the complimentary bottle of wine! I'm afraid there was only one downside... as this was our first experience in B&B type accommodation, we believe this perfect stay at Licuala may have spoiled us for life!
Warmest Regards from the Middle East and thank you for your hospitality
Cat and Joe
Salalah, Oman

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat and Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Hi Cat and Joe - glad to know that you are back safe and sound in sunny Oman. You are still the one and only guests we have had from Oman, and I guess that your pin will remain on its own for some time.

Not long after you left we harvested all the passionfruit - too much for us and we ended up giving most of it to all our neighbours. The rest of the garden we hope to finish by the end of this year (2013) - fingers crossed for some decent weather in the coming months.

Many thanks for your kind words, and for sure we'll look you up if we happen to be passing through Salalah.

May you have many many more happy anniversaries :)

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have enjoyed our 2nd stay at Licuala Lodge and we really enjoyed seeing Sue and Mick again and enjoying their humor. Still a great place where you get a wonderful breakfast. We enjoyed using the bbq in the evening and the great pool. Also the cassowary was visiting again. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funbar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Hi Funbar75 - many thanks for your review. Glad to know that you are both back safe and sound in sunny Bern. We know that Swiss humour is on the same platform as Aussie humour.

Life is tough, and if you have the ability to laugh at it you have the ability to enjoy it.

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

There couldn't be too many better ways to start the new year than this. Great stay in a beautiful room, Mick and Sue really made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. As for QLD's best breakfast, it was every bit as good as the hype suggested, highly rate Licuala lodge and will without doubt be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewy1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi Chewy - thanks for the review. Glad you liked the brekky. Surely one of life's little pleasures is sitting down with like-minded guests and having fresh fruit, homemade bread, a cooked breakfast outdoors overlooking a tropical garden, and solving the world's problems.

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Lovely setting and lucky to see a cassowary with chicks. Lovely breakfast served by friendly and helpful owners who supplied lots of local information...peaceful and relaxing. A great base to explore the local beaches and hinterland of Cairns region.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Hi Gwen - thanks for the review. Glad to know that all went well for you both in Cairns. The chicks are getting quite brave now and are getting bigger and fatter by the day. Best wishes for the 2013 school year and beyond.

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
2.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range: £75 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing