We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing experience”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Beautiful garden setting, wonderful breakfast and lovely hosts. We stayed three nights and found plenty to do in the area. Hosts were thoughtful and generous with information about the region. They packed us a HUGE breakfast when we had to leave early. We missed the resident cassowary- our one disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

G'day LuciJon - thanks for the review :-) One of the many benefits of staying in a smaller place is that we have a lot of local knowledge and we know pretty much all there is to know about the area. Sorry about the cassowary. As you would expect our big female made an appearance just an hour or so after you left - no good for you but very good for the other guests.

Hugs and kisses to all in sunny Duluth

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for two nights but would have liked to stay longer. Apart from our lucky sighting of a Cassowary in the beautiful garden, we were made to feel most welcome by our lovely hosts Mick and Sue. Our rooms were clean and pretty and we had a lovely patio infront of our room to sit enjoying the garden and the beautiful birds and butterflies that frequent it. The breakfast is unbeatable with treats like fresh passion fruit from the garden and the yummiest pancakes that I have ever had...The big kitchen and lounge shared by all the guests is a practical and homey. Sue has a book exchange library which my daughter used to exchange the books that she had already read for new ones. Good idea! Our stay at Licuala Lodge was unforgettable. Tammy & family

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoschoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Hi Tammy and Family - many thanks for the review. I think that Sue has shared her secret pancake recipe with you, so you too can make some yummy pancakes :-)
Lots of people enjoy the book exchange - so very practical. And I hope that the Moonflower will bloom for you for many years to come.

Love to all in sunny Berlin

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This place is excellent! We have stayed here for one night (on our way to Daintree Nationalpark) but we would recommend to stay longer. This is the perfect place to relax. The cosy wooden lounges are surrounded by a beautiful rainforest-like garden. The owners have a talent to set nice decoration details in rooms and common areas (for example, a teddy bear on our bed, towels were placed shell-like).

The breakfast was included and very delicious. It was as special as the rest of the lounge and you won't find such a great breakfast in many other hotels. They had a range of tasty fruits (even maracuya from their garden), yoghurt, cereales, pancakes, juices... We could also choose extra omlettes, eggs any style etc. Everything was extraordinary! Again, great decoration deatails made this breakfast special.

We would come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi Jumarei - thanks for the review. We do think that the little extras all add up to making your stay with us a bit special, and we are glad that you think so too. A lot of the breakfast fruit comes straight from our garden (all organic), and our pineapples are beginning to show - so they should be ready in a couple of months.

Have a safe trip home and give our hugs to all in sunny Berlin

Mick, Sue and Ted (the bear)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights from the 22nd of June. Within a couple of hours staying at Licuala Lodge my wife asked how I found this little gem of a B&B and that sums the place up, a gem. Excellent clean and comfortable accommodation, full English Brekkie and lovely hosts in Mick and Sue. As others say, set in lovely tropical gardens and visits from the local Cassowary. The set up of cummunal lounge and kitchen adds to the homeliness of the lodge. On my list of repeat visits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmminhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick a, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Hi - thanks for the review. We're very glad that you did manage to find us. We aim for a homely feeling which puts all our guests at ease and in a relaxed mode. We hope that you have success with the Moonflower :-)

Love to all in sunny Hong Kong

Mick and Sue - Licuala Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

This was simply the greatest find on our travels. Great hosts and great value for money. Set in lovely gardens full of birds and butterflies this lovely comfortable stop is highly recommended. Located not far from the beach it is a comfortable base for seeing the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WombatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick a, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Wombat - thanks for the review. We're soooo glad that you did find us and that you enjoyed your stay here. When the weather is good there is always an abundance of beautiful butterflies in the garden - especially the Ulysses and the Cairns Birdwing.
Our yellow Sunbirds are very active at the moment, and very inquisitive. Always flitting around people's cars looking at themselves in the wing mirrors.

Hugs to all in sunny Cleveland

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A last minute getaway from our hectic life in Cairns took us to this amazing place which could have been a million miles away from anywhere.
From the very moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Mick & Sue and shown to our room which was immacuately presented and cosy.
The tropical rainforest surroundings provided us with an abundance of wildlife to gaze at whilst sipping wine on the verandah, including cassowaries, butterflies of all descriptions and more. Breakfast was an experience in itself, where else would you find home made bread freshly baked and bunches of passionfruits hanging off the vines as you walked through the gardens.
The attention to detail given in this amazing place would put the majority of high end resorts to shame.
Pure relaxation!
Thanks for a wonderful experience Mick & Sue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick a, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Aussiedragon - thanks for your kind words. Sue has now been baking her own bread for some time and yes it tastes and smells like bread used to taste and smell. No preservatives in the bread. And she makes various kinds of bread - something for everyone.
The passion fruit is doing particularly well this year, as is the dragon fruit. Fingers crossed for our mango tree - we've had it now for six years and still no fruit so far.

The Lions just managed to win last Saturday - that will have pleased you no doubt. The next test will be tight again.

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at Licuala Lodge for 2 nights in June 2013 and would definiately stay again if in the area and recommend to others. We made good use of the communal facilities such as the lounge. Kitchen, bbq area, laundry and pool. After 2 weeks of travelling hotel to hotel we really enjoyed the home away from home feeling that licuala lodge offered, and to be in such beautiful surroundings was a bonus.
The owners Mick and Sue are very friendly and helpful with plenty of time for their guests. The breakfast is delicious and served on the veranda giving stunning views of the immaculate gardens. It is also a great opportuntiy to meet and socialise with other travellers.
Also, although choosing to stay the 'safe' side of the fence we managed to see a Cassawary up close one afternoon and another during breakfast.
Overall, Licuala Lodge is a great find in the rainforest, perfect for a relaxing and peaceful escape. Just be sure to pack your insect repellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick a, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi ScottonJones - thanks for the review. Many of our guests make good use of our kitchen facilities. Makes a welcome change from eating out all the time and a great way to socialize with other guests.
The Lions just scraped in with a win, hope you managed to get tickets for the game. Fingers crossed for the remaining two tests.

All the best

Mick and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing