We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

lovely rooms, lovely house, lovely garden, lovely hosts....what else can you ask for? Would always come back and always recommend this place, although its a 5 min drive from Mission Beach itself. cosy and quiet place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
G'day Michel - many thanks for the review. And we only have lovely guests such as yourself. Have a safe journey back home

Love from Mission beach

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
151
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our overnight stay was very pleasant, met guests from Germany and hosts were most hospitable. The breakfast and home cooked food was delicious. Enjoyed a quiet evening sleep and saw a cassawary and chick in the morning about 9.30am which was a bonus as they are declining in numbers. Well kept gardens and pool. However at this time of year" March Flies or Horse Flies" were about to annoy. A fly swap was provided to keep them at bay. Ceiling fans are in the rooms but no air conditioning. Rooms have insect screens which kept the flies and mozzies out. Would consider a return visit in the winter months again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CairnsAussie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi CairnsAussie - many thanks for the review. Sadly for the Wet Tropics region we have to contend with the Marsh Flies for about 3 weeks of the year (late Sept early Oct), and not a lot that we can do about them. But on the plus side you get to see an adult cassowary and a chick :-)

Look forward to seeing you again sometime in winter

Love to all in sunny Cairns

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a gem. Beautifully situated on the edge of the rainforest, with the added bonus of seeing a male cassawary and his chick. Beautiful gardens and surroundings with a lovely pool. Not for everyone I may note but if you are into wildlife, bird life and no children then this maybe for you. We had a Sunbird building a nest on the light cord right ourside our room. Butterflies and birds everywhere. Just watch as you walk around the beautiful gardens as I nearly walked into a golden orb web....it was huge. The lodge is situated between South and North Mission but if driving anyway then into the throng of Mission beach isnt too far. Also near distance to a great Thai restaurant Spicy Thai, which is a must.
No aircon in the rooms but fans were adequate for that time of year, not sure how it would be in the height of summer. Rooms average but then you really only sleep there, if you are out and about people, like we were. Maybe could have done with a bigger fridge, that got cold but hey! Private undercover parking for your car which makes it easy to unload your luggage and keeps your car cool.
Hosts great, they are always busy, gardening cleaning, cooking ensuring your stay personal. Breakfast lovely and sets you up for the day, beautifully served by Mick!
Wouldnt hesitate to stay again, great for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Lisa and Dave - many thanks for the review.

We always recommend the Spicy Thai to all our guests. Great restaurant and BYO to boot.

The fridges in the rooms are small, but there is a great big one in the guest lounge which houses all the ice-cold beer and soft drinks that you could possibly need :-)

Mission Beach is all about the wildlife and the rainforest and all about relaxing - and that is all here at the Lodge.

Breakfast seems to be our speciality

Love to all in sunny Townsville

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Such a lovely property, gardens are a joy to walk in and eye off the plants you would love to grow down south. We were very happy that we had booked the King Suite, it was well worth it. We did make use of the kitchen facilities one night and the next had dinner at the local Spicy Thai Hut which Sue and Mick will tell you about, do book though, they were turning away locals the night we were there. Breakfasts on the balcony, waited on by Maitre d' Mick and cooked beautifully by Sue, were good fun to be with the other guests to hear of their travels. Our bed was comfy and we slept with the doors open to hear the birds 1st thing in the morning, though some of the loud ones had very penetrating calls, would've got through concrete. The pool was very refreshing in the afternoon although you have to make sure you are there when the waterfall is running otherwise just ask dear sweet Mick to turn it on! Sue and Mick were a good combo to have a natter with. We were privileged to see the Cassowary father and chick twice and we haven't stopped "goo goo, gah gah-ing" about it since.
The only thing I would ask for is a shelf in the shower to rest our soap etc on so as not to keep bending down on the ground for it.
In the really hot weather I can see it is a bit far to walk to the beach but this place would surely be more likely to attract visitors with their own transport. When all else fails jump into the pool, under the waterfall of course!

Room Tip: Go for the King Suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandDaveat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
G'day Sue and Dave - thanks for your kind words. Things are taking shape in the garden, and much more wildlife is now being seen around the Lodge. Bird sounds can be cute and also slightly annoying at times but they have to be preferable to inner city noises (car alarms, sirens, hoons etc..)

Spookily enough when we had the accommodation rating people around they told us that shelving in the shower was a bit old-fashioned so we took out the shelving and one or two people have since commented that they would like to have a shelf or a basket. So rest assured we will have something in place very soon. Is it that the the general public is out of touch with the real world or is it the rating agencies ??

Love to all and sundry in sunny Adelaide

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Overall, this B&B gets the job done. It's centrally located between the different towns comprising the Mission Beach area, though not really walking distance from any of them, or the beach itself - it's kind of set back at the end of a subdivision. The hotel has its pros and cons:

Pros:
- Very friendly owners (would have ranked the hotel itself even lower if not for such welcoming and nice people!)
- Beautiful garden
- You will probably get to see a cassowary wander by

Cons:
- The rooms in the building across from the main house are noisy. The walls are very, very thin and we had a snorer next door which kept us up
- We had no hot water in the morning. It looked like they had a solar water heater and it had been cloudy / rainy for a while, so maybe this was the reason. Perhaps if it's sunny you won't have this issue?
- Beds are a bit worn out
- Location is a bit removed from most of the action, which could be a pro or a con depending what you're looking for

Room Tip: You may do better in the main house rather than the secondary building if you want a quiet room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi CBEB1 - many thanks for the review, not our best review but pretty much our longest I think. The pro points are all good, but the cons need a reply.
Our Queen rooms are all in the same building and I agree that the walls are thin and we are in discussions with our builder to see if we can add some sort of soundproofing. Not sure when it will all happen, but in the meantime we do put earplugs in the rooms for all our guests and they do a great job.
Yes we do have solar energy for our hot water which has been installed for many years now. When it was first installed we would ask our guests if there was plenty of hot water and up to now there has never been a problem. You are right that if we have several cloudy or rainy days then we could run out of hot water in which case we would switch on our booster. If there was no hot water in the morning and if you had let us know when you came for breakfast, then we could have switched on the booster and by the time you finished your breakfast there would have been plenty of hot water. We are aware that if we haven't had much sun then we need to switch on the booster, and obviously we didn't get it right, so please accept our sincerest apologies.
All accommodation places need to re-furbish from time to time and the same goes for us. We make a decision at the start of each year as to what furniture we need to replace and budget accordingly. I have to admit that the beds seem fine to us, but maybe we need to be more critical. Certainly food for thought for us.
And location is indeed in the eye of the beholder. If you want to be in the CBD with easy access to restaurants, cinemas etc then you can also expect lots of traffic and people noise. We are nestled in the rainforest and here we don't have those noises - we have peace and tranquility coupled with the occasional sweet rainforest noise. The nearest restaurant from here is about 1km, and the big supermarket is 1.5kms. So not too far in all honesty.

Once again thanks for your candour and we hope that your stay here did not spoil your vacation too much.

Love to all in sunny Boston (especially in Georgetown)

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights in early July and loved the place. There is a real feeling of being in the rainforest, the cassowary wandered past one evening (much more exciting than seeing one in a zoo) and eyed us up, and there are some spectacular golden orb spiders in the garden. Mick and Sue are very warm and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable, and are raised out of the way of the wildlife. Sue's breakfasts, eaten with other very friendly guests on the verandah of the main house, are excellent. Mission Beach itself is very pleasant, with plenty of good places to eat and drink, and we took in tropical fruit tasting session at the local tourist information office. If we come this way again (all the way from the UK) then we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor_n_Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi Trevor_n_Karin - thanks for the review, much appreciated. The male cassowary is now coming more often with his chick - good for all our guests. One of the things about a B and B we feel is the interaction you will have with other guests especially at breakfast time.

Love to all in sunny Bromsgrove

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had 3 nights at this lovely B & B in August. Your hosts, Mike and Sue are very friendly and exceedingly helpful supplying us with an Esky and cold bricks for a day trip, making sure that we had everything we needed when we barbecued one evening and giving advice on what to see and do.
The rooms are good with a large verandah overlooking a superb garden which is full of birds and butterflies. The pool is a good size and a natural sun trap.
And they really do have cassowary walking through their garden.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhantomScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Phantom :-) - many thanks for the review. Always glad to help our guests, even when they need an Esky (coolbox to non-Aussies). The garden is very much returning to its former glory, and lots of birds are once again back in the area.

Luckily we still have the cassowaries wandering through the property - an adult female, and an adult male and his solitary chick (which is now approx 3 months old).

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
2.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#4 of 23 in Mission Beach
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Property: Licuala Lodge
Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing