We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tropical hideaway”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peregian Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful tropical hideaway”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Licuala Lodge upon recommendation and would now highly recommend it ourselves. Unfortunately, we weren't very lucky with the weather - strong winds and rain for most of the day we stayed, but it was the perfect place to be "stranded": a beautiful home with great amenities amidst a lush tropical garden with a pool and wonderful hosts. We really enjoyed our stay and especially the amazing breakfast with the other guests overlooking the garden and a visit from Mr Cassowary and his chick. Many thanks, Sue and Nick!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piosenka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Hi Piosenka - many thanks for the review. Sadly we can't do much about the weather, sometimes you have to simply grin and bear it. And if you can look on the bright side of things (as you obviously do) then life is still enjoyable.

Glad you liked our breakfast, and the fact that you share your breakfast time with other guests -such a pleasant way to start another sunny (or windy) day.

Love and kisses to all at Peregian Beach

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
150
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I decided to have a couple of days out of Cairns before Christmas, taking a short break away from the shopping mayhem. The experience was fantastic, quiet in the rainforest with wildlife and we saw cassowaries. Our hosts, Mike and Sue were friendly, helpful and courteous. The breakfast was special too with juices, cereals, toast and spreads, fresh fruit, yogurt and a hot cooked selection made to order with tea and coffee... We actually didn’t need lunch! We recommend that anyone looking for a tranquil secret get-away in Mission Beach, with a fabulous rock pool, THIS IS IT. Thanks again to Mike & Sue and hopefully we will be back soon.

Room Tip: You don't need to worry about finding a good room, as they are all good. (We had a look around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Hi Jeff - good to have guests all the way from sunny Cairns :-) Glad you liked the tranquility - Mission Beach is just the place to unwind and relax, and to remember that we can live side by side with Mother Nature.

Hope to see you again

Love and Kisses from Mission Beach

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Thanks Sue and Mick for a great stay. The accommodation was excellent and the breakfasts fantastic with a wonderful vista from the balcony. This little haven is a breath of fresh air, the peace and tranquility amazing and the water in the tropical pool amazing as you swim whilst
communing with nature. We also saw the daily visitors the father and chic cassowary, so delightful to watch as Sue fed them as they roam the immaculately designed gardens.Would highly recommend this lodge to visitors to Mission Beach.

Lorna and Graham, Largs,Scotland

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Hi Lorna and Graham - thanks for your very kind words, much appreciated. WE do so much aim to make our guests feel at home so that they can relax and enjoy all our facilities. The cassowary is of course a big bonus.

Best of luck for you both whilst you look after the whole of Australia :-)

Have a great New Year

Love and Kisses from Mission Beach

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Long story short, this place was excellent. The owner are very nice and helpful, supported us with maps and ideas. The breakfast was the best we had so far in Australia and the rooms were clean, beautiful and easy to reach for cars with lot of luggage. We would stay here again for sure.

Chris from Hamburg

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlckr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
G'day Chris - many thanks for your review. We're here to help with ideas, maps and things to do. Even when guests leave and head off South or North we give everyone a little itinerary for their journey.

Glad you liked our breakfast

Love to all in sunny Hamburg :-)

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

lovely rooms, lovely house, lovely garden, lovely hosts....what else can you ask for? Would always come back and always recommend this place, although its a 5 min drive from Mission Beach itself. cosy and quiet place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
G'day Michel - many thanks for the review. And we only have lovely guests such as yourself. Have a safe journey back home

Love from Mission beach

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our overnight stay was very pleasant, met guests from Germany and hosts were most hospitable. The breakfast and home cooked food was delicious. Enjoyed a quiet evening sleep and saw a cassawary and chick in the morning about 9.30am which was a bonus as they are declining in numbers. Well kept gardens and pool. However at this time of year" March Flies or Horse Flies" were about to annoy. A fly swap was provided to keep them at bay. Ceiling fans are in the rooms but no air conditioning. Rooms have insect screens which kept the flies and mozzies out. Would consider a return visit in the winter months again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CairnsAussie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi CairnsAussie - many thanks for the review. Sadly for the Wet Tropics region we have to contend with the Marsh Flies for about 3 weeks of the year (late Sept early Oct), and not a lot that we can do about them. But on the plus side you get to see an adult cassowary and a chick :-)

Look forward to seeing you again sometime in winter

Love to all in sunny Cairns

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a gem. Beautifully situated on the edge of the rainforest, with the added bonus of seeing a male cassawary and his chick. Beautiful gardens and surroundings with a lovely pool. Not for everyone I may note but if you are into wildlife, bird life and no children then this maybe for you. We had a Sunbird building a nest on the light cord right ourside our room. Butterflies and birds everywhere. Just watch as you walk around the beautiful gardens as I nearly walked into a golden orb web....it was huge. The lodge is situated between South and North Mission but if driving anyway then into the throng of Mission beach isnt too far. Also near distance to a great Thai restaurant Spicy Thai, which is a must.
No aircon in the rooms but fans were adequate for that time of year, not sure how it would be in the height of summer. Rooms average but then you really only sleep there, if you are out and about people, like we were. Maybe could have done with a bigger fridge, that got cold but hey! Private undercover parking for your car which makes it easy to unload your luggage and keeps your car cool.
Hosts great, they are always busy, gardening cleaning, cooking ensuring your stay personal. Breakfast lovely and sets you up for the day, beautifully served by Mick!
Wouldnt hesitate to stay again, great for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Lisa and Dave - many thanks for the review.

We always recommend the Spicy Thai to all our guests. Great restaurant and BYO to boot.

The fridges in the rooms are small, but there is a great big one in the guest lounge which houses all the ice-cold beer and soft drinks that you could possibly need :-)

Mission Beach is all about the wildlife and the rainforest and all about relaxing - and that is all here at the Lodge.

Breakfast seems to be our speciality

Love to all in sunny Townsville

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
248 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Property: Licuala Lodge
Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing