We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this was my first b&b and will find it hard to beat, great hosts, great place i will be back and recomend to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Tropical Escape B&B
Ranked #8 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
townsville
1 review
“this was my first b&b and will find it hard to beat, great hosts, great place i will be back and recomend to anyone”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

great service, great hosts,top room, the location was close to everything we needed. our hosts noel and dot were absolutly great people, the house was very nice, clean great layout plenty of room to move. i would have no hesitation in recomending A TROPICAL ESCAPE to anyone

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackblackTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Well where to start,when we arrived we were blown away at how exotic and stunning the house was and a immediate sense of relaxation took us over,then upon meeting Dot and Noel they made us feel right at home with a genuine warmth and friendlyness!
Dots breakfasts were amazing and delcious and super filling!!!!! YUM YUM YUM YUMMY!
We had the house to ourselves for the first three nights,what a luxurios treat! My partner and I throughly enjoyed our breaky chats with dot every morning&she accepted me just the way I am,Super outgoing+cheeky with a extroverted sense of humour!! 'thanks Dot'.
Was sad to leave such a lovely location,house and host's!!!!(especially Dot)
The house and rooms are amazingly clean,food,delicious and dot and noel legends!!!!!

Cheryl McCosh Ryan Fuller

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareece619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our night at A Tropical Escape. All you could wish for in a very warm and homely environment. Felt like we were visiting with long time friends rather than the owners of the B and B. Would highly recommend a stay with Noel and Dot if you are in the area. Plenty of things to do or you can laze around and do nothing - your choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InaWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had the most lovely, peaceful sleeps in our month long trip through Australia. Noel was great and picked us up and drove up to the bus station, and also drove us to dinner in town. He even let us borrow his laptop so that we could email our friends and family. It is only a short walk to the beach which, when we were there, was totally deserted. It was like our own island paradise. There was always lots of food for breakfast. We really enjoyed it and will come back if we are in Mission Beach again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast NSW
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Noel & Dot made us very welcome from arrival to leaving with their friendly conversation and their generous hospitality. We were able to make ourselves feel very comfortable with unlimited use of the beautiful facilities.
The house is purpose-built as a B&B; very comfortable with quality furnishings, beds, linen and very roomy. Beaches and restaurants are located in reasonable proximity.
The place is well-suited to those who prefer a quiet, restful location whilst touring or for a few days stopover.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOONEY MOONEY
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Congratulations & thank you to the hosts, Dot & Noel for the outstanding superb accommodation & hospitality that they offer. Excellent location, short walk to the beach, stroll to nearby restaurants, spacious room, privacy plus. Beautiful, peaceful & relaxing surrounding environment. Carparking facility offered was an unexpected added bonus during our nearby island holiday. Great value $$$. Highly recommend. Definitely stay longer next time.
JOHN & MARIE-CLAIRE HAMILTON MOONEY MOONEY NSW

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELVIS5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Tropical Escape lives up to its name, it truly is the perfect place to escape in a beautiful tropical paradise. We have stayed at Tropical Escape Bed & Breakfast in Mission Beach a number of times and hopefully will make it back for another stay very soon. The rooms are spacious bright and clean and most important the beds are really comfortable. The quiet area, tropical gardens and the very friendly property hosts Dot & Noel make you feel instantly relaxed and in holiday mode. The property is not right on the beach but don’t be concerned as the beach is a really pleasant stroll along a pathway through tropical rainforest. We recommend this walk every day after one of Dot’s really delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.8 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.1 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge
Hibiscus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
99 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Tropical Escape B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Tropical Escape B&B

Property: A Tropical Escape B&B
Address: 13 Spurwood CL, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Hotel Class:4 star — A Tropical Escape B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tropical Escape Bed and Breakfast has enjoyed great traveller reviews over the last eleven years. Eight minute walk to pristine beach through shaded beach access track. All of our three guest rooms have full ensuite, air-conditioning, TV, DVD player with complimentary DVD library, bar fridge, ceiling fan and private exit/entry via patio door. FREE Wi Fi and off street parking. Guests can walk to local restaurants, the Woolworths shopping village, pub/resort, chemist, gift shops, hairdresser, clothing boutiques and takeaway food outlets. Complimentary pick up from the Wongaling Beach Bus Station where Greyhound buses travel north from Townsville and south from Cairns, guests need to notify us of what time they will be arriving to utilise this service. Tour bookings can be made for you upon arrival. This property is not suitable for young children and please note we do not have any twin rooms. A full cooked breakfast is included in rate plus BBQ and self catering dishes available for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Tropical Escape B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing