We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hideaway in the rainforrest”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
H.I. Ambacht
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hideaway in the rainforrest”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

What a beautiful resort, right in the rainforest and perfectly located between the Daintree National Park and Port Douglas. The ambiance is authentic (for the rainforest), luxurious as well as intimate, cosy and friendly. The sounds of the birds all around and the river right below your room as well as the restaurant make it an idyllic place. The service is excellent; the staff do their utmost to make you feel at home. Free wifi. Last but not least: an excellent restaurant. The menu offers much variety with fresh and local products. If you prefer a regular five star hotel, go to Port Douglas. If you wish something more exclusive and really special then Silky Oaks Lodge is the best resort in the region. Unfortunately we booked only for 2 nights, we would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilhelmina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    152
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
102
637
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Perfect pristine surroundings, beautiful unusual rooms, good quality and exciting food and best of all - wonderful service. We spent three gorgeous days at this resort and wished we had spent our whole time in Nth Queensland there. The resort is set on the Mossman river about 30 mins drive west of Port Douglass. When I say on the river I meant it literally! The restaurant sits on poles high up over the river so it feels like you are sitting in the trees! The water runs over rocks and forms billabongs where you can swim, snorkal or just look down at your feet through crystal clear water.
When we were escorted to our room, which are all little cabins, and opened the door there was rainforest music playing softly and an oil burner providing a lovely aroma. What a start to a restful trip away! The room was beautifully decorated and quite unlike a hotel room, with a hammock swinging on a verandah looking out into the rainforest - perfect.
We ate at the restaurant which we found to be above average for inhouse eating at hotels and enjoyed cocktails at a well stocked bar. Breakfast was full of tropical fruits, yogurt and juices and then you could order off the menu for hot food - great choice.
All of this was topped off with fantasic service - not intrusive but available when needed and where nothing was too much trouble! The resort organised two trips for us one to the reef and one to the Daintree which we both enjoyed and when we returned from our Daintree trip there was afternoon tea in the treehouse waiting for us.
I would suggest that if you were staying for a few days that you hire a car as the shuttles into Port Douglass are limited and it is a $60 taxi ride.
Great attention to detail from the turndown service with chocolates and candles to the availability of equipment to use on the river to providing transport into Port Douglass for our cruise all done with a smile - we could not fault it. From the owners to the staff you should all be
very proud! We had a fabulous time!

Room Tip: Please note that there are no TV's at this resort - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a lovely stay here - the best thing about this resort is definitely the staff - there is nothing too much for them to help out. Sharada especially was the pinnacle of customer service. The rainforest setting is magnificent and the dining is exquisite - the restaurant overlooks the private river and you feel as if you are dining in the canopy. The breakfast spread was out of this world and dinner - although service was magnificently slow - I imagine so you have time to soak in the atmosphere - was delicious. Do not miss out on the spa - Karen was lovely and a very good masseuse - the treatment was fantastic. Only negative was (small I know!) there was no full length mirror in our room - and although we understand the eco-retreat atmosphere would have been great to relax with a movie in the room in the evening. Other than that all was perfect - close to Mossman and Port Douglas - loads to do onsite during the day - rainforest walks, tennis, free canoes on the river, swimming. Would love to return! Thanks!

Room Tip: You can request a room either near the reception/pool etc or away in the rainforest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushbaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent two days here with our 20 year old daughter and another couple and their same age daughter. Spectacular setting, all open air, gorgeous design set above the roaring Mossman River. We stayed in the Riverhouses, which are down a lovely lush path in the forest. Each room is an individual cabin, perched above the river. Incredible view, lovely design and comfy beds. The food was fabulous - at night, all pretty candles, felt like you were dining right in the forest, with the river rushing by below you. Service incredibly friendly and accomodating. They arranged a last minute outing to the Reef which was a highlight for us. Highly recommend this for family or couples, gorgeous retreat.

Room Tip: Construction is underway to provide suites, which look like they will be fabulous. Riverhouses are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roselandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Wonderful setting, attentive staff good food ok massage

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valickova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Silky Oaks and really wished we could have stayed longer! My sons had an adjoining treehouse to my husband and I with wonderful views of the forest and river. Tim went out of his way to make our stay special and indeed all the staf were wonderful. The food was superb as was the accommodation. We spent a wonderful day swimming in the river and were very sad to leave

Room Tip: Try for a River house as they have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The rooms are clean and quiet, the scenery is gorgeous and the food was brilliant.
Staff are really helpful and accommodating, and the hotel organised tours and activities were great.
The dinner menu can be a little limited (for a picky eater) so it's handy to have a hire car so you can duck into Mossman or Port Douglas for dinner if you want to.
Will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
523 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
930 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Property: Silky Oaks Lodge
Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing