We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Luxurious Rainforest Retreat”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Luxurious Rainforest Retreat”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at the beautiful Silky Oaks Lodge for 3 nights on 15 December and wished we could have stayed longer! This is such an amazing place and offers a wonderful rainforest experience in a relaxing and tranquil environment. We decided to treat ourselves and booked the Silky Indulgence Package which included 3 nights in a Deluxe Treehouse, champagne & canapés on arrival, breakfast and dinner, 2 spa treatments, a picnic hamper and the Kuku Yalanji dreamtime walk at Mossman Gorge. We really felt that we were splashing out as it was one of the most expensive places we stayed during our holiday in Australia but I can honestly say that looking back, it was excellent value for money. We had so much included, especially the 3 course dinner menu which was fantastic (you could choose anything you wanted from the menu) and the spa treatments which were wonderful. We actually spent very little money whilst we were there as we had so many inclusions! On arrival, we received a warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff who showed us around and took us to our room and organized for our luggage to be brought up (it is a steep walk!!). The staff at reception were always helpful and friendly. The only negative comment I have is that when we arrived, they didn't seem familiar with what was included in the package that we had booked and I had to double check with them that we would receive our champagne and canapés etc. I think this was possibly because the member of staff was new. Anyway, we were taken up to our Treehouse which was just amazing! The room was beautifully appointed with chill out music playing on the iPod when we walked in. It was just the most relaxing and peaceful space. I loved sitting out on the balcony in the huge hammock, listening to the birds and because the house is on stilts, you feel like you are up in the trees. The bathroom was huge with a big spa bath and each evening the staff came to turn down the bed and they left candles in the bathroom and around the bedroom - such a simple touch that really made a difference! It was so romantic :) I also loved the fact that we didn't have a TV so we felt truly away from it all. The food in the restaurant was to die for. Everything we had was delicious! We particularly enjoyed the homemade soups and the fresh barracuda. The breakfast was also excellent, there was lots of choice and you could also have something cooked from the menu if you wanted. I loved the fresh daintree yoghurt. The only thing I would mention is that the menu is quite limited if you are eating there every day and also, the service was occasionally a little bit slow. However, these issues did by no means spoil the experience as the staff were so nice and friendly and when the food did come, it was delicious. The pool area was beautiful and we enjoyed swimming in the billabong. I agree with one of the other user comments about the kayaks being dirty. I did feel that the area around the billabong and river could do with a bit of a tidy up! I appreciate that it is a natural area but the kayaks looked as if they hadn't been used in months as they were very grubby and there were a couple of wooden chairs but they were also quite dirty and pushed under the trees out of the way. It would be nice if they maintained this area a little bit and added a few more chairs for you to put your towel and beach bag on as the ground was quite dusty. We also took our picnic and went on one of the recommended walks to the swimming holes. The walk is actually very overgrown in some places and quite challenging. However, both swimming holes were beautiful and we loved having our picnic on the rocks and swimming there. On our last day, we went on the dreamtime walk which was fun and really interesting, I would definitely recommend this to anyone. We ended the day with our treatments in the beautiful spa which were wonderful and the staff were again, absolutely lovely. I cannot recommend this lodge enough. It really is the most beautiful, tranquil place. There are a few small issues that I have mentioned that could perhaps be tweaked a little bit (!) but they did not by any means spoil a truly wonderful experience. One last tip - I would also suggest that if the weather is favorable, hiring a car from Cairns and driving up instead of taking the shuttle. We found the care hire very reasonable and the lodge was easy to find. It also meant that we had the freedom to drive out and explore the surrounding area on one of the days we were there. The drive up to Cape Tribulation is beautiful and there is so much to see on the way! Thank you Silky Oaks for a truly amazing few days, we wish we could come back now!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss-Max-Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    152
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
102
637
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed during Christmas period for three nights. We booked their Avatar Dreaming package which includes breakfast and dinner each night. We love the place. The staff members were very helpful from check-in to our check-out time. The room was beautifully furnished. The only drawback was our coffee plunger was not washed from the previous usage from the previous guest. The cabin was surrounded by trees. It was lovely to be waken up by the sound of the rain. The breakfast was plentiful. It consisted of hot and cold breakfast. Dinner was a bit disappointing. The entree was nice. We enjoyed our oysters and prawn and chicken starter. Our steak and fish for the two nights we had, was over cooked. However, their dessert, Salted Caramel Parfait, was to die for.

We enjoyed our walk at Mosman gorge and around this lodge's property. I love yoga besides the river. We love the history and the beauty of the area. We really enjoyed our trip to catch mud crab at the beach.

Will we come back again even when the food were not perfect? Off course we will. We love it and recommend others to spend time at this property.

Room Tip: Choose the room close to the river. The view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 4 nights and 5 days at this remarkable and restful place in the Daintree Rain Forest. The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left with breakfast boxes packed for us at 5:30 a.m. The individual bungalows were spacious and super comfortable. The interior spaces at the Lodge are beautiful with great views of the rainforest. The chef is very inventive and our dinners were consistently fabulous. Breakfasts were a feast, and we had the scones and tea on our first afternoon for a special treat. The naturalist, Erin, took us on a guided hike of the rainforest, which is definately worth doing, as the place is teaming with all kinds of life. We swam in the Mossman river, a refreshing and clean dunk, cooler than the onsite pool. They provided a shuttle into Port Douglas, which was good, except they weren't flexible about pick up and drop off times, and the following day we couldn't go back to the Wildlife Habitat because we didn't have 4 hours to kill. That was the only hiccup in what was otherwise impeccable customer service. We had facial massages at the spa, which were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueZemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have enjoyed the restaurant here on many occasions and this time decided to spend a few nights in paradise. The overall standard of this retreat is just fantastic. Smiling, happy and friendly staff who are there when you need them and quietly out of sight when you don't. Everything about this place is about relaxing. The food in the restaurant is up there with anything you would find in a major metropolis but here we get it in the middle of a rain forrest. A special thank you to Sharada who organised our stay and to all the staff and management who made it unbeatable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe treehouse which was splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed a short break at Silky Oaks, the whole experience was just fantastic.
I cannot recommend it highly enough, peaceful, great food and great service; nothing is too much trouble.
Like others I would recommend the River Houses if you can stretch the extra dollars.
A car is also helpful as the Lodge location lends itself to day trips (as it is located in a very handy position), although there is plenty to do at the Lodge if want to just relax.
It was really great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Whilst staying in Port Douglas over Christmas my husband and I drove to Silky Oaks for afternoon tea and were very impressed and wished we were staying here too. The rainforest setting is stunning and the serenity beautiful. We had a $30 afternoon tea which consisted of 4 home made cookies, 2 massive scones with fresh cream and home made jam and 2 coffees. All were delicious and extremely good value given the quality, ambience and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Silky Oaks for one night in mid-October and couldn't say enough good things about it. We arrived after dark, in the evening, but the staff was perfectly accommodating, getting us in for dinner without a reservation, bringing our bags to our room from the car, and upgrading us to a river side tree house simply because they saw we were only staying one night and they wanted us to have the best experience possible. The tree houses aren't actually build in trees, but they are on stilts and surrounded by trees, so your porch view feels like you are right up there in the jungle trees. Everything about the room was exquisite and felt so luxurious. We slept well and woke up to a gorgeous view. We took advantage of the free self-service laundry and the complimentary hot breakfast was delicious. Upon requesting a later check-out time, we were granted to stay into the afternoon, which was plenty of time experience everything Silky Oaks had to offer. The swimming pool was a bit cold, but felt great if you laid in the sun first. The river kayaks were pretty dirty and covered in earwigs, but my husband and I aren't afraid of such things and just dipped it in the water to wash it off. The earwigs actually attracted the fish in the water, and made it fun. It would have been nice though if they were already cleaned off, as I imagine more people would want to use them. We didn't take advantage of any of the local hikes, as we had already been hiking quite a bit in other areas. Overall, out of the 8 hotels that we stayed at, Silky Oaks was my favorite!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystallaloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
523 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
930 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Property: Silky Oaks Lodge
Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing