We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do for at least one night if your coming to the tropics” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must do for at least one night if your coming to the tropics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

In the lead up Sharon at the front desk was very focused on top notch customer service outlining activities, transfers and hotel offerings. The free shuttle bus was driven by the lovely Des who as a local provided honest and informative recommendations and local knowledge. We were upgraded to the tree house lodge after a lovely welcoming drink. The room was beautiful and the surroundings just like being in a rainforest. We made use of the lush saltwater pool, the in room spa, ventured the private walking trails, used the kayaks, the dinner was amazing and the Buffett breakfast unbelievable. We also had arranged a dreamtime tour at Mossman gorge which was well worth the $50 each. For a 5 star experience the value for money was brilliant. As we spent the next 3 nights in Port Douglas with restaurant main meals being even more expensive it was really a wonderful experience. Next time we would stay for longer and indulge in the day spa treatments. Pack insect repellent and suitable clothing and footwear even like us if you thought you wouldn't go on the high trails- you need it! Lovely staff and would recommend it to anyone going to the tropics!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    149
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
101
609
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Silky Oaks

Cairns looks a lot like Melbourne Florida and Port Douglas looks a lot like Vero beach Florida. It's Florida with mountains, cold clear streams running over granite boulders and river rock to the ocean, big trees and wonderful high canopy rain forest, huge butterflies, mangos, sugar cane, tea farms and crocodiles.

Cairns airport has a terrific qantas lounge, huge! With latte machines, a food spread wines, beers, full bar, free wifi, a few charging stations and a couple apple computers. Quite unexpected but since we arrived 1:30 hrs before flt time we had plenty of time to check it out. No reason to arrive here more than 30 min. before departure, even 20 would see you on the plan with a boarding pass and carry on. The only waits wev’e had have been for checking luggage (sydney 30 min,). Tsa allows liquids, separate computers and aerosols, no ID needed, so visitors are allowed into the terminal and to the gates.

We were thrilled with qantas. Old time flying at its best. Spacious big planes. Helpful, trained experienced stewards. Meals in economy, even on a one hour flight! A free seat between us! In economy, on two flights. iPads in seats for entertainment, hello!

Ok now to our trip. We arrived by plane about mid day and gave ourselves about 50 hrs to see north of Queensland. Cairns is obviously a sweet little airport, that couldn't be easier to navigate through. We picked up our rental car and were easily off to port Douglas for lunch. Note double check billing on rental cars, since they appear to up charge at will. Took us a good 10 min. to get that resolved on return and they came up with every excuse not to use the set rate.

The drive north is easy, a bit narrow, lots of round abouts, stunning views of the rocky coast with wide sand beaches stretching for miles. We stopped at the marina, in port douglas, the inlet for lunch, which was pretty good, scallops and shrimp. They have a large shrimping fleet off this harbor.

Then onto our lodge, silky oaks just north of Mossman gorge. The lodge is a series of one room bungalows on stilts flanking the Mossman river. The NP gorge is just opposite the narrow river. The reception, dining lodge is open air with a gorgeous hardwood floor and views down to the river. Ulysses butterflies scamper about as do bush turkeys. The gym is pretty spare, nice tennis court, two self guided walks into the bush have great signage noting flora and fauna, the canoes are limited by the water level but we had a great time traversing the two sets about 6 times in an hour.

Included in our stay were great breakfasts, ok dinners, and a guided walk in the Mossman. I will say that having an aboriginal guide give you a walk clues you into the tree types and plant life as well as spotting a few insects and reptiles you wouldn't recognize otherwise. Worth doing,

Also worth doing was the boat trip up the Daintree river. Beside the fact that we saw two beautiful crocs cooling on the sandy river banks, the trees, plants, birds and insects are really interesting. There is also Brama limousine mixed cattle grazing, looks a lot like Hawaii - except for the crocks which do catch a few cattle now and then. The views are up to the hilltop mountains which I imagine look a lot like Papua New Guinea not too far from here.


The lodge! Well, we were on a package, which helped with costs I think...Eric was really thrilled with the lodge. I was less so. Australia has average service, period. Both in dining and hotels. At even the top hotels.

Essentially you're paying twice as much as you would in the USA due to the fact that everyone is earning a much higher wage. Good news is that you don't need to leave a Tip.

The lodge has wifi, but not in rooms. So everyone is on their iPad or phone at meals. The main lodge is open air and essentially on stilts in the canopy of the rainforest overlooking the Mossman river and National Park on the other side. It's a lovely, comfortable setting.

The bungalows are a walk from the lodge and have good privacy with views into the canopy. they are spacious with good closet storage and countertops, Eric loved the ceiling shower there was a jacuzzi and single sink in the bath. Evening turndown brought slight clean up and candles. I did enjoy the pool tho it was a bit chilly and not a lap pool but one meant to replicate a natural pool in a series of bean shapes.

Upon arrival we walked up to the rapids, on a rough trail, about an hour plus and enjoyed the signage along the way, then a swim and dinner. The next morning after a great breakfast we went off to the Mossman, and had a nice little intro by the aboriginal guide afterwards a self guided walk on the 2 mile or so walk past the suspension bridge with some gorgeous trees.

Next day we took the drive up to Daintree village for a croc boat ride. A lovely boat ride along the river side with beautiful bird and croc life. The boat we went on was motorized and chosen because it was ready to go when we arrived in Daintree. The first croc was open mouthed on the beach and not shy. Then we saw a spoonbill with other unique birds and tree types. The next croc was on a beach completely without fear. It was a fast one hour tour. Then back to Silky Oaks for tea, a workout and dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The accommodations were a bit more rustic than we wanted - and the location a bit more remote than we were aware from our travel agent - but we have never been better taken care of. Paul, the owner, was as generous, caring and effective a host as you can have. The food service was terrific. The staff accommodated our every request. We stayed during the rainy season which truly tested their hospitality - to the point that Paul provided a helicopter to take us safely over the flooded bridge on the last day to make it to our flight. A remarkable group of people. Anyone wanting excellent service while visiting Dain Tree Rain Forest should stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Silky Oaks Lodge for two nights. I can not express how amazing this place is located in the heart of the Daintree Rainforest. We were fortunate enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to the Deluxe Tree House which we were more than thankful for.

The service provided from staff was impeccable. Having previously worked at a hotel I understand how important customer service can affect your stay, and the staff at Silky Oaks ticked all the boxes.

The buffet breakfast was delicious, and the selection for dinner was also just as good. On our first night we returned from dinner with candles in our room, blinds taken down, and bed turned over. It was a pleasant suprise and just made us feel that little but special.

I would recommend Silky Oaks Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing and tranquil environment. Looking back this was the best place that we stayed during our one week trip to Cairns.
We will definitley be returning soon!

Thank you!

Rob and Nikita Drysdale.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Silky Oaks lodge last week and wished we could have stayed 3 more. Very relaxing environment and incredibly gracious, friendly staff. Also, the food was amazing. Very nice surprise for a small retreat in the middle of the rainforest. After two weeks in 4 and 5 star hotels in Sydney and Melbourne, this lodge was our highlight! A word of advice..don't fill your itinerary with extra excursions, you will want to have some down time here.

The Boens

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at the beautiful Silky Oaks Lodge for 3 nights on 15 December and wished we could have stayed longer! This is such an amazing place and offers a wonderful rainforest experience in a relaxing and tranquil environment. We decided to treat ourselves and booked the Silky Indulgence Package which included 3 nights in a Deluxe Treehouse, champagne & canapés on arrival, breakfast and dinner, 2 spa treatments, a picnic hamper and the Kuku Yalanji dreamtime walk at Mossman Gorge. We really felt that we were splashing out as it was one of the most expensive places we stayed during our holiday in Australia but I can honestly say that looking back, it was excellent value for money. We had so much included, especially the 3 course dinner menu which was fantastic (you could choose anything you wanted from the menu) and the spa treatments which were wonderful. We actually spent very little money whilst we were there as we had so many inclusions! On arrival, we received a warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff who showed us around and took us to our room and organized for our luggage to be brought up (it is a steep walk!!). The staff at reception were always helpful and friendly. The only negative comment I have is that when we arrived, they didn't seem familiar with what was included in the package that we had booked and I had to double check with them that we would receive our champagne and canapés etc. I think this was possibly because the member of staff was new. Anyway, we were taken up to our Treehouse which was just amazing! The room was beautifully appointed with chill out music playing on the iPod when we walked in. It was just the most relaxing and peaceful space. I loved sitting out on the balcony in the huge hammock, listening to the birds and because the house is on stilts, you feel like you are up in the trees. The bathroom was huge with a big spa bath and each evening the staff came to turn down the bed and they left candles in the bathroom and around the bedroom - such a simple touch that really made a difference! It was so romantic :) I also loved the fact that we didn't have a TV so we felt truly away from it all. The food in the restaurant was to die for. Everything we had was delicious! We particularly enjoyed the homemade soups and the fresh barracuda. The breakfast was also excellent, there was lots of choice and you could also have something cooked from the menu if you wanted. I loved the fresh daintree yoghurt. The only thing I would mention is that the menu is quite limited if you are eating there every day and also, the service was occasionally a little bit slow. However, these issues did by no means spoil the experience as the staff were so nice and friendly and when the food did come, it was delicious. The pool area was beautiful and we enjoyed swimming in the billabong. I agree with one of the other user comments about the kayaks being dirty. I did feel that the area around the billabong and river could do with a bit of a tidy up! I appreciate that it is a natural area but the kayaks looked as if they hadn't been used in months as they were very grubby and there were a couple of wooden chairs but they were also quite dirty and pushed under the trees out of the way. It would be nice if they maintained this area a little bit and added a few more chairs for you to put your towel and beach bag on as the ground was quite dusty. We also took our picnic and went on one of the recommended walks to the swimming holes. The walk is actually very overgrown in some places and quite challenging. However, both swimming holes were beautiful and we loved having our picnic on the rocks and swimming there. On our last day, we went on the dreamtime walk which was fun and really interesting, I would definitely recommend this to anyone. We ended the day with our treatments in the beautiful spa which were wonderful and the staff were again, absolutely lovely. I cannot recommend this lodge enough. It really is the most beautiful, tranquil place. There are a few small issues that I have mentioned that could perhaps be tweaked a little bit (!) but they did not by any means spoil a truly wonderful experience. One last tip - I would also suggest that if the weather is favorable, hiring a car from Cairns and driving up instead of taking the shuttle. We found the care hire very reasonable and the lodge was easy to find. It also meant that we had the freedom to drive out and explore the surrounding area on one of the days we were there. The drive up to Cape Tribulation is beautiful and there is so much to see on the way! Thank you Silky Oaks for a truly amazing few days, we wish we could come back now!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss-Max-Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed during Christmas period for three nights. We booked their Avatar Dreaming package which includes breakfast and dinner each night. We love the place. The staff members were very helpful from check-in to our check-out time. The room was beautifully furnished. The only drawback was our coffee plunger was not washed from the previous usage from the previous guest. The cabin was surrounded by trees. It was lovely to be waken up by the sound of the rain. The breakfast was plentiful. It consisted of hot and cold breakfast. Dinner was a bit disappointing. The entree was nice. We enjoyed our oysters and prawn and chicken starter. Our steak and fish for the two nights we had, was over cooked. However, their dessert, Salted Caramel Parfait, was to die for.

We enjoyed our walk at Mosman gorge and around this lodge's property. I love yoga besides the river. We love the history and the beauty of the area. We really enjoyed our trip to catch mud crab at the beach.

Will we come back again even when the food were not perfect? Off course we will. We love it and recommend others to spend time at this property.

Room Tip: Choose the room close to the river. The view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.5 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
14.0 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Property: Silky Oaks Lodge
Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing