We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treehouse Heaven”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our 3 day stay at Silky Oaks lodge was just fabulous. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home by the friendly staff. The treehouse was beautifully appointed with beautiful, relaxing music playing as we walked in and the feeling of being up amongst the tree tops was very special. Meals are taken in the stunning open restaurant overlooking the Mossman river and the food was delicious. There are many areas to just sit and read or just sit. Everything has been well thought out from the candles & chocolates turn-down service to sunscreen & insect repellent available at reception. After 3days I really didn't want to go back to the "real" world. Bliss!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We dined at Silky Oaks on Mothers Day. it is in a superb location, with the lovely open dining area and lounge overlooking beautiful rainforest trees and river. The food and service were also first class. Only tip is ask for tap water instead of still water as we drank 2 bottles of still water which we later discovered was from Norway and cost us $24. Silky Oaks is well worth a visit if you are in the Port Douglas, Daintree area. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In this day & age you often stay at any type of accommodation and the owners are nameless, faceless and probably not at all in touch with how their guests are enjoying their stay at their accommodation. I am happy to report that at Silky Oaks this is definitely not the case. During our stay for 5 nights/6 days, on the Ultimately Silky Indulgence package, the owner, including family, were well in touch with all we did and even when we, accidentally, managed to drop our camera in the pool the owner’s daughter went above & beyond and lent us her own personal camera for the remainder of our stay. Then when we had a disappointing experience on our helicopter ride, down to the unpredictably of the weather, the owner took it upon himself to ensure that we never left the Lodge with a bad experience in mind and arranged for another helicopter ride which was a very memorable experience indeed. Overall, especially taking into account the recent cyclone in the general area, we found the standard of the Lodge to be very high and the food in the restaurant, for all meals during the day, to be of the highest quality. We left the Lodge having had a fantastic time and would highly recommend experiencing the Daintree Rainforest as well as the Great Barrier Reef while staying at Silky Oaks.

Room Tip: The Riverhouse rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went out of our way just to see this lodge on several recommendations when we were staying in Port Douglas.
No wonder, it is a spectacular series of connected buildings in an equally impressive setting.
Sitting in the open restaurant high above a clear river you feel as if wilderness living could really be fun.
Staff are very helpful, service is good as is the food.
It's somewhere you get what you pay for.
It is impressive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I have travelled all over the world and we have to say that never have we received such fantastic service from the Staff and Management of this establishment. We will be back as soon as we can. The setting is amazing and the Chefs (all 5 of them) deserve 'Gold awards' for their choice of Menu each day and for the preparation of same. It is expensive but worth every cent.

Thank you for giving us 6 days of pleasure.
Vivienne & Michael Lewy

Room Tip: River Cabin No. 14 - it was in a great position - a little walk o the Main Lodge but beautifully sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Anyone rating this place less than 5 stars needs to have their head examined.

We stayed 4 nights two weeks ago and hated to leave. Great owners and staff that could not do enough. Wonderful food. Only very slightly negative: the ala carte breakfast menu is spectacular but the buffet breakfast (when they are full) is only average. Press them for something from the ala carte menu - sorry Paul!

Room Tip: Try to book near the lodge and go for a suite over looking the river directly if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedenron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staying here is like leaving the real world behind, we were treated like royalty and no tasks was too much trouble, mind you, you do pay for it!! The rooms are beautiful set in an immaculate rain forest, the pool is to die for and the restaurant food and setting is not to be missed ( but again you will pay for it ) if you have the time and money well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
574 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
485 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
17.3 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range: £240 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing