We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in the rainforest!”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in the rainforest!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Silky Oaks for 3 days at the end of May. I
can't say enough good things about this place. Our room overlooking
the Mossman river was amazing- everything was to perfection and it
seemed no detail was too small for them to consider. The music, the scents,
the hammock, the beautiful wood floors and tasteful décor, not to mention the
view/sound of the river below.

The dining room offers delicious and beautifully presented food
and the wait staff is wonderful, like all the staff at Silky Oaks. My
only complaint is that the prices in the restaurant seem a bit high.

We look forward to returning to Silky Oaks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterscotchbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    149
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
102
625
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a beautiful experience this was!!! A surprise from the hubby so it was extra special. What started off as a warmish day, it was amazing as we pulled up into the rainforest hideaway it started to rain and lasted until the moment we left, which was amazing and added the whole rainforest, romantic feel!
We both got the couples massage along with a mud bath and facial! OMG to die for!! We both fell asleep having the facial haha.
Dinner was just gorgeous and eating on the balcony overlooking the waterfall was bliss.....our room was superb!!!! Balcony with hammock, massive spa in bathroom and the only disappointing thing was that we only stayed one night!!! This place is amazing!!!!

Room Tip: We had a spa and balcony room, quiet and overlooking the gorgeous rainfall! I don't think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Coming off a 30 hour travel day, we were greeted by a private driver from Silky Oaks, who was SO accomodating, he pulled over to let us see hang gliders, took us to a pharmacy, and made sure we had everything we needed at arrival. Our room was amazing, with a can't-beat-it view, and the property is phenomenal. We got rid of the travel fatigue at the spa, which is spectacular, and enjoyed dinner at the tree house spa. Everything about this place was wonderful, including the pool and swimming in the river, which is INVIGORATING! Wish we could have stayed longer.

The only thing I'd note overall, is this place is made for couples. We were two friends travelling, and not concerned about sharing a king bed, but if you aren't a couple, just know, everything seems designed for couples, including the spa bath!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

WOW, the whole week seems like a dream now, however I must say our stay at Silky Oaks lodge was just perfect and a very romantic location for a honeymoon. We were greeted upon arrival by a very friendly staff member who got us welcome drinks and explained the lodge and all activities available after which we were escorted to our treehouse, a very cute room set up on stilts surrounded by rainforest. In our room management had left us a wonderful gift of champagne and chocolate, we felt soooo special! Meals here are to die for and in the most unique setting in an open air room overlooking the Mossman River. There are great little treks to do (well maybe not so little) and lots of activities as well as being only a short drive to Port Douglas.

We loved every minute and would like to thank all the staff at Silky Oaks for making our Honeymoon something I will never forget and talk about for years to come.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a double spa bath in it, makes for some very relaxing afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BP1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
320 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Two wonderful nights at the Silky Oaks Lodge was not long enough. Located in a tranquil setting, you cannot help but relax and leave all your worries behind! The Staff were so helpful and friendly. The lodge area with restaurant is perfect. Quiet areas to read, use your computer, just enjoy a drink, tea or coffee. It rained the entire time we were there, but it's a rain forest! The rooms are beautiful, perfectly decorated, soft music and lighting. Outside, screed porch has sitting area and large four poster bed. We needed more time to enjoy all this resort has to offer. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Check how far you will be walking before booking, some cottages are a bit of a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We gave our stay a 10/10 . Food tops , accommodation stunning and the friendly service first class . The location even better .
We had the health spa treatment . I thought the hot rocks massage just the best.
No need to say anymore

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KentonFarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked Silky Oaks for 5 nights for our 'baby moon' and honestly couldn't have been more impressed. The location of the lodge is in beautiful surroundings, right on the river and within the trees. Can’t have been more beautiful. Even though there was quite a bit of rain, it was such a beautiful place to stay, the rain made it even better (if that’s at all possible). The staff are wonderful, really friendly and go out of their way to make your stay special and enjoyable – nothing is too hard. A real breath of fresh air for Aussie hotels, this is the kind of treatment you normally only get in Asia!
The food was spectacular. We’re ‘foodie’ kind of people and were absolutely impressed. The breakfast (buffet or continental we tried both) was superb, really good different choices, using local produce and delicious. And the alacarte dinner is some of the best food I’ve ever eaten. Not cheap mind you, but well well well worth the money. The 3rd night there, we walked around Port Douglas looking for a restaurant and everything there is so expensive and quite frankly terrible, that we just couldn’t help ourselves but go back to the lodge for dinner again. I am not normally a person to stay in the hotel (I prefer to get out and about) but this place is so good it really is in a different league to the rest of the choices in town (at same price or they’re more expensive) and it’s not worth going out. I can’t recommend Silky Oaks enough for a couple stay or some relaxation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baliwedding2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Property: Silky Oaks Lodge
Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing