We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As you drive through the gates of Silky Oaks Lodge - a rainforest retreat right on the Mossman River, you feel a sense of peace, calm and serenity. This feeling is only further enhanced through check in with your first look around the main lodge and then into your room. I had the most amazing Villa it was beautifully appointed, a large lounge, king bed, balcony full length (with a hammock to relax in) and a huge bathroom with walk in show and a spa bath. Paul and his team have given a lot of thought in every aspect, the attention to detail is very obvious wherever you are, in your room or around the Lodge. Dining in the restaurant is a culinary delight, using many products locally sourced and can be accompanied by a great wine selection. Breakfast again has local yoghurts, fruits also a cook to order - the dining experiences are very memorable you will not forget. Especially if you are celebrating a special occasion there is the Jungle Perch where you can dine with your special someone high above the Mossman River such a romantic setting.
Healing Waters is a wonderful game for the Spa, I certainly felt very healed following my dap treatment. From the moment I walked in till when I floated back to my room was pure pleasure, the spa staff have great gifts they are the healing hands of the Healing Waters Spa.
I thank Paul and the Silky Oaks Lodge team for this amazing jewel in the rainforest, each one of you added to my rainforest experience, from a smile and greeting to joyful service, and again the amazing attention to detail elevates the luxury of this Lodge. I could not imagine a more relaxing, inviting and peaceful slice of paradise - blissful... I will be back...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanWGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a special place in the beautiful rainforest. Staying here is a fabulous way to experience the rainforest. Before we arrived, the receptionist helped us arrange transportation to the lodge. They actually picked us up and dropped us off in Port Douglas without charge. Both drivers were very considerate and shared their local knowledge.
The lodge has found a way to make guest arrival and check-in memorable. Guests are brought to the lounge in the open air tree house and served a welcome drink. They go over the details of your stay and present all the amenities of the lodge. I appreciated how they clearly designated what is included and what has an extra charge—very refreshing approach. After an enjoyable chat, Nammi walked us to our treehouse, number 19 or the Emerald Dove. She showed us around and how to work the lights, window shades, and the music player.
The treehouse is very luxurious. The layout is brilliant. The bedroom is separated from the closet with a cleverly placed wall. The closet area is very large with plenty of storage for all your stuff. There is a counter above the mini-frig for the tea pot, plunge coffee maker, and beautiful tea cups. The frig is stocked with milk for coffee/tea and yummy cookies. There is a nice selection of teas, even local brands.
The bathroom is off from the closet. Oh what a bath! It is what you wish you have at home. The modern fixtures are perfect for a tree house; a rain-shower head, a glass enclosed shower with a rain-shower head, a beautiful vanity made from local wood, and the biggest whirlpool tub (big as a small pool). The towels are big, fluffy. The bathrobes are perfect for lounging. The bath amenities are very high-end local products…think Aveda.
The bed room is wonderful. The bed is super comfy with very nice linens and pillows. There’s a lounge sofa and chair. The lighting is fabulous, all have dimmer switches. The music player is loaded with spa sounds music so appropriate for the setting.
The sliding doors (fitted with screen doors) in the bedroom open on the best part of the treehouse, the back porch. Guests can while away the hours in the hammock or sitting at the table. The sounds of the rainforest are mesmerizing. Then the local turkeys show up and start pecking around. There were annoying biting bugs for a couple hours around sunset. But of course, the management thought about that. Bug spray and a mosquito repellent coil are provided. Once it is good and dark, the stars come out and the bugs go to sleep.
The lodge is on a beautiful part of the river. Gentle rapids over big rocks are about 100 yards up and downstream from the lodge. There is a sandy bottom swimming hole. We spent two enjoyable afternoons paddling around in the canoe and kayaks. There are even bigger rocks and rapids a short walk away from the lodge. You can’t take the canoe or kayaks, but, it is very nice for swimming and relaxing.
There are three marked trails from the lodge. The mountain trail is an experience. It is very rough, covered with rainforest canopy, complete with dangerous (well marked) plants along the way. The nicest part was walking back down to the swimming hole and jumping in the cool water. Sadly, we didn’t return to the lodge until about 4pm just as the guided walk was starting. We had to miss it. The printed guide available at reception is a pretty good substitute.
Even though the river is tough competition, the pool is also a nice place to relax and swim. The design blends perfectly with the surroundings.
The morning yoga class was a highlight. The class is on an open air platform. The sounds and smells of the rainforest provide the perfect atmosphere to pose and relax.
Breakfast is also served in the open air of the tree house overlooking the river. The continental offerings are delicious, especially the local produced yogurt. Guests have a choice of four gourmet cooked breakfasts…a very difficult choice. We enjoyed chatting with other guests and the restaurant crew.
A very nice touch is the washer and dryer for guests to do their laundry, no charge. How nice to move on to your next destination with clean clothes and dry swim suits!
We opted for a stay here instead of the rainforest train and cable-car. The cost was about the same. We got so much more value for our money. We really appreciated the small things this lodge does for their guests. Most places would charge for all the little extras. Not the Silvery Oaks Lodge! The way they care for their guests set them apart and make me want to return. We highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Perfect TIME OUT!!! My partner and I desperately needed some very precious time out and for years I have always yearned to get to the Daintree. On arrival at Silky Oaks Lodge we were so warmly greeted by the staff, I knew then we chose the right place. It is a gem of hidden mystery right on the river and unquestionably an experience to remember. Our room was spacious and impeccably clean, thanks to the wonderful team owner Paul has working there, matter of fact the entire team were so accommodating and welcoming in every way. The food and spa treatments were exceptional and Paul has a great eye for detail and great taste in wine. ALL in all the most wonderful time out anyone could ask for Congrats to Paul and the Team at Silky, I'll be back very soon. GC

Room Tip: The Billabong suite was a real treat!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surrender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Silky Oaks for 3 days at the end of May. I
can't say enough good things about this place. Our room overlooking
the Mossman river was amazing- everything was to perfection and it
seemed no detail was too small for them to consider. The music, the scents,
the hammock, the beautiful wood floors and tasteful décor, not to mention the
view/sound of the river below.

The dining room offers delicious and beautifully presented food
and the wait staff is wonderful, like all the staff at Silky Oaks. My
only complaint is that the prices in the restaurant seem a bit high.

We look forward to returning to Silky Oaks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterscotchbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a beautiful experience this was!!! A surprise from the hubby so it was extra special. What started off as a warmish day, it was amazing as we pulled up into the rainforest hideaway it started to rain and lasted until the moment we left, which was amazing and added the whole rainforest, romantic feel!
We both got the couples massage along with a mud bath and facial! OMG to die for!! We both fell asleep having the facial haha.
Dinner was just gorgeous and eating on the balcony overlooking the waterfall was bliss.....our room was superb!!!! Balcony with hammock, massive spa in bathroom and the only disappointing thing was that we only stayed one night!!! This place is amazing!!!!

Room Tip: We had a spa and balcony room, quiet and overlooking the gorgeous rainfall! I don't think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Coming off a 30 hour travel day, we were greeted by a private driver from Silky Oaks, who was SO accomodating, he pulled over to let us see hang gliders, took us to a pharmacy, and made sure we had everything we needed at arrival. Our room was amazing, with a can't-beat-it view, and the property is phenomenal. We got rid of the travel fatigue at the spa, which is spectacular, and enjoyed dinner at the tree house spa. Everything about this place was wonderful, including the pool and swimming in the river, which is INVIGORATING! Wish we could have stayed longer.

The only thing I'd note overall, is this place is made for couples. We were two friends travelling, and not concerned about sharing a king bed, but if you aren't a couple, just know, everything seems designed for couples, including the spa bath!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

WOW, the whole week seems like a dream now, however I must say our stay at Silky Oaks lodge was just perfect and a very romantic location for a honeymoon. We were greeted upon arrival by a very friendly staff member who got us welcome drinks and explained the lodge and all activities available after which we were escorted to our treehouse, a very cute room set up on stilts surrounded by rainforest. In our room management had left us a wonderful gift of champagne and chocolate, we felt soooo special! Meals here are to die for and in the most unique setting in an open air room overlooking the Mossman River. There are great little treks to do (well maybe not so little) and lots of activities as well as being only a short drive to Port Douglas.

We loved every minute and would like to thank all the staff at Silky Oaks for making our Honeymoon something I will never forget and talk about for years to come.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a double spa bath in it, makes for some very relaxing afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
572 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
485 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
17.3 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range: £245 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing