We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, restful start to an Australian vacation”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2006

We wanted to start our three-weeks' Australian visit in Tropical North Queensland, fearing that the weather in September would still be variable in the Sydney and Melbourne regions. It proved to be a great decision, for many different reasons. By September the season is slowing in the far north, so we were not crowded, anywhere. We could get used again to left-side driving without having to cope with heavy city traffic. And it was sugar cane harvest time in Mossman, and it was fascinating to see that.

We had been strongly recommended to Silky Oaks by a friend, and it proved to be an ideal and idyllic place to unwind after ~36 hours of travel to reach there. The resort's strengths are its location in the rain forest, its large and varied grounds with comfortable, nicely-furnished cabins, the interesting wildlife, and the mostly young and enthusiastic staff. With a rental car, access to Mossman and Port Douglas is quite convenient.

Booking was a bit of a chore. The web-site spoke of "last minute" rates that were significantly cheaper than the other packages, but did not define "last minute." Emails to both the hotel and the Voyages reservation center asking for clarification went unanswered, so a phone call to the property was necessary. Yes, we could book using "last minute" rates six weeks in advance, because it was not a particularly busy time of year. But then the promised email verification failed to show up, until further prompting.

Also, the spa had limited capacity. We wanted to book massages on our arrival afternoon to aid recovery from the long travel, but phoning two to three weeks in advance we learned that the only availability was for two days later, when we planned to be taking a barrier reef excursion.

The restaurant has an ideal location, high in the trees overlooking the Mossman River. Getting dinner reservations each day was no hassle. The food was pretty good, but less creative and memorable than the hotel's promotion (and prices) would lead one to expect.

But these are quibbles. Overall, we were very glad that we chose to start our trip at Silky Oaks -- it was quite an experience.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thorgils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Baz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DrSWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

We stayed at Silky Oaks in April 06 for 3 nights on voyages reef and rainforest trip. We where picked up by limo and taken to the resort, once we had gotten over the panic of thinking i had lost the visa card, which the staff where a great help finding numbers of who to contact, but then i found it.

We stayed in a treehouse, i so enjoyed lying in the hamic on the balcony.

My husband hates snakes but over came this on our trip.

we had a day trip to cape tribulation, what views and a walk in the rainforest seeing loads of plants and life. we saw the crocs on the river how strange.

The food was out of this world on the first day we had afternoon tea, i had 2 cookies full of icecream how fab!!!!

We saw in the river and in the pool.
##

You must go on the nighttime rainforest walk as you see so much, is around the grounds, we where lucky enough to see a 3meter snake.

It rained, was sunny and very hot but the expenience was fab, would defently go again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beamishcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank mrsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2006

Stayed: October 2005
5  Thank cotswoldstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
13
Reviewed 9 February 2006

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
576 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
485 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
17.3 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range: £242 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing