We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
5
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had 2 nights at this lovely accommodation. The hosts were absolutely lovely. the place was divine and the surrounding landscape was breathtaking. perfectly suited for kids too! kitchen set up was fabulous, and the outdoor barbeque was a winner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tilly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRIPAPenelope, Owner at TreeHouse Retreat BnB, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you Tilly & El,
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Its always lovely to have Kids here too enjoying the space and greenery.
Cheers,
Penelope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay in this cute self contained house on stilts. Nestled in amongst thick trees created a sense of privacy and there is a lovely grassy area and garden to wander around despite being on the same property as the owners. The rooms are clean and airy, and we enjoyed having our meals on the large verandah with BBQ.

It is far enough away from any major road not to have any disturbance, but still only 5 mins to Mossman town and about 10 to Port Douglas. (Why would you stay cooped up in a resort there with this on offer??)

Penelope the host gave us useful tips about the area prior to and on our arrival. Fresh plunger coffee and milk, candles, mosquito coils and other thoughtful touches gave the place a homely feel. We appreciated the eco friendly cleaning products and compost bin, and it is very reasonably priced too.

The only suggestion for improvement would be to add a deck chair to the garden or hammock on the verandah - its such a perfect spot for an afternoon read.

Thanks for great stay!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRIPAPenelope, Owner at TreeHouse Retreat BnB, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thanks Freddie,
What an awesome review! So happy you enjoyed the TreeHouse and all the little extra's that made your stay comfortable.
Warm regards
Penelope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (2 adults, 2 kids), and found it fantastic. It was spacious, well equipped, very clean and in a gorgeous setting. We found it great just to sit on the deck and watch the birdlife and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. So glad we stayed here instead of Pt Douglas mainstream hotels! It is not far to supermarkets, eateries etc. The kids enjoyed having room to run around and explore. Owners Penny and Nick and family are very warm, welcoming and generous, and helpful in advice. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRIPAPenelope, Owner at TreeHouse Retreat BnB, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

It was a pleasure having your family to stay, thank you Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Over the New Year period my family and I (my husband, 18 month old son, mother and father in law from India) stayed at the TreeHouse B & B. We found the accommodation very comfortable, relatively clean and very tranquil. We enjoyed waking up every morning to the birds and the tree top out look. We found the facilities relatively good for our son (Penelope had a portacot set up in the master bedroom for us). The trip to Port Douglas is an easy drive from the B & B and also close to Mossman (supermarket, petrol station etc...) We ate out every night in Port Douglas where most of our meals were amazing (Salsa, Sea Bean and Harringtons(?) were very good restaurants as with the Thai restaurant next door to Sea Bean). Our son loved the miniature steam engine and also Mossman Gorge. The gallery and cafe situated there is beautiful too. We loved swimming at Four Mile beach (it had the surrounding nets to keep out the nasties). We travelled to the Daintree but recommend this trip to be well planned as we travelled there only to turn around and travel back again. Daintree Icecream factory is well worth a stop in. All in all the trip was great, accommodation felt like home, weather was perfect and local food and produce beyond our expectations :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRIPAPenelope, Owner at TreeHouse Retreat BnB, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

So happy you all enjoyed the TreeHouse last Christmas, and sounds like you discovered all the delicious restaurants in Port Douglas too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

this is a self-contained cottage in a quiet location adjacent to rainforest and sugar cane fields; we had a great 7 night stay; loved listening to the birdlife in the early mornings. We didn't partake in breakfast from Penny & Nick (owners) but did our own thing. Great value for money and recommend highly to anyone who wants to stay off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRIPAPenelope, Owner at TreeHouse Retreat BnB, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for being our first TripAdvisor review for the TreeHouse and wonderfully tidy guests! so happy you both enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews