We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B in the Rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mossman Gorge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Mossman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B in the Rainforest”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

What a magical place to stay, the rooms are beautiful, the view is amazing and the hosts are wonderful. Sitting out on the balcony eating a freshly prepared breakfast listing and watching all the birds is the perfect start to the morning. Mandy is so knowledgeable on the area which makes it so easy to plan your day out. Even after a long day out coming back to the B&B just makes you sit back and relax or read a book out on the balcony with the beautiful soft lighting she sets up each evening. A fridge is available to keep your drinks and any snacks you have and a pool to have a cool dip after a day out in the sun. It's the perfect place to use as a base to the heart of the Daintree.

Room Tip: The room off the balcony is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta-Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

A wonderful spot to stay. A wonderful verandah that overlooks the Mossman Gorge. Trees full of birds and butterflies. Our host Mandy is mine of information and is always willing to help out with information on the area. We don't usually pick hosted B&B's as we generally like to be left alone but that wasn't an issue here and Mandy is very happy to leave you alone or have a chat if you like. Great breakfasts of local produce and thankfully NO bacon and eggs and lots of strong coffee. Very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmongstMyselves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was quite apprehensive about travelling alone with my 2 daughters but in actual fact, staying at Mossman Gorge B&B was probably one of the most relaxing places i've ever been too. Mandy is fabulous. Her home is beautiful, well kept,and full of lots of interesting objects from her and her husband's travels all over the world.The views are out of this world and my only regret is to have not stayed long enough to spend a whole afternoon looking out over the valley. The girls (7 and 11) loved the pool which was very welcome even in the rain (warm). Fabulous setting. Her trip planning help was precious. Every morning we looked at what the "tropical trough" was doing on her ipad and then decided what to do with our day. It really isn't worth booking anything before arrival! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Worth adding the extra to book the room looking out on the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delvolgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here and used it as a base to visit Cape Tribulation, Daintree, Tablelands, Mossman Gorge, Low Isles and Port Douglas. Perfect location, and amazing views from the verandas - yes there are more than one! The swimming pool was very welcome after long days sightseeing.

Mandy made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in, showing us around and explaining how best to enjoy living in the tropics. Her knowledge of the area is endless, and she was more than happy to book us on any tours we chose. The bed comfortable, and the bathroom clean with everything you needed. Breakfast was more than we could eat - toast, muffins, croissants, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, tea, coffee etc. It was nice to eat on the veranda with the view, and share experiences and travel tips with other guests.

What I liked most is that you get to use the whole of the upstairs living area, lounge, kitchen, veranda, etc. You aren't stuck in your bedroom like you would be in a hotel, or some B&B's. There is a full sized fridge in the kitchen to store essentials, and you can use the microwave or BBQ to self cater if you wish. Mandy and her family live downstairs so you don't feel you are intruding.

I recommend staying here for the views, and home comforts.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe Queen room for the views and cool breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Feeling at home the minute you got in ! Hosts extremely friendly as is the nature : the birds welcome you in the morning and for happy hour. You can make yourself a BBQ, dip in the pool and rejoice to the rain forest noises. Really romantic for a good night sleep. It's a dream come true : a house atop of the trees like in my childhood ! Huge breakfast, friendly advices and only 4 minutes away from beaches, 10 from Port Douglas (if you need bars) and the coral reef excursions. We wanted two days in nature, we got it !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sodbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

What a fantastic place to stay, lovely welcome from Mandy, we stayed three nights, enjoyed alfresco breakfasts on the verandah with the birds. We were not rushed at all, enjoyed the morning spent with other guests watching and photographing all the wonderful Wild Life.
Lots to do in the local area, we chose this as our last place to stay before returning to the UK, after a hectic Three weeks travelling around. We wanted plenty to do within a short distance of our base. This B & B hit the spot perfectly. We went out on the Barrier Reef Snorkellling for the day. Went walking in Mossman Gorge, plenty to see and do there too try the cafe very good quality food. We also tried the Chinese Take away just in the villiage to save cooking or eating out again. We were very luck to stay when the Eclipse took place, we sharded this with Mandy and a couple of her friends. We were made very welcome by all through the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Very quiet location rooms all to good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was our second stay at the Mossman Gorge B&B and we will definitely be coming back to this top-notch location. Mandy and Chris' home and the guest rooms are always spotlessly clean, very comfortable as well as having an inviting and homely feel. The rain-forest location is spectacular and the B&B has beautiful views across the tree-tops to the mountains beyond. The breakfasts on the verandah were amazing and Mandy handing feeding the Kookaburras each morning was a real treat. Best of all, was Mandy's vast knowledge and experience with the great many attractions and activities to could be undertaken in the local area. Mandy arranged for us to take a faultless dive trip to the reef, on a day with perfect weather and the best water visibility. She also organized a tour where we drift-snorkeled with the current down the crystal clear Mossman River - a wonderful experience! We also went for walks and a swim at the Gorge as well as visiting attractions in and around Port Douglas, Daintree and even took an overnight trip to Cooktown (which I can also thoroughly recommend). If you planning on taking a holiday in Far North Queensland make sure that you give Mandy and Chris a call and arrange a stay at the Mossman Gorge B&B, you'll love it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewShort62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.5 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mossman Motel Holiday Villas
13.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
0.7 mi away
Demi View Motel
Demi View Motel
#2 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossman Gorge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossman Gorge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mossman Gorge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 Gorge View Cres | Mossman, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mossman Gorge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical timber home set on rainforest acerage with views across the valley to Daintree national park and the great dividing range. Non smoking, Air conditioned, ensuite rooms. Saltwater pool, birding on site, extensive local tour knowledge. Minutes to Mossman gorge, 20 minutes Port Douglas, 1 hour 15 minutes to Cape Tribulation, 1 hour Cairns airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Mossman Gorge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossman Gorge Bed And Breakfast Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing