We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best places to stay in queensland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Possum Valley Rainforest Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenshoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Possum Valley Rainforest Cottages
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of the best places to stay in queensland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

if you read the visitor book for the last 12 years you will read nothing but praise for possum valley.
we have been visiting for 12 years as a copule and with our expanding family and are still enthralled by peace and quiet,possums, platypi, tree roos and the rainforest.

yes the rainforest ,and so sometimes the rainforest is wet and damp so lets ignore the comments about dampness !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in Black Bean cottage for 3 nights mid August and enjoyed every minute of it. The variety of wildlife in the surrounding rainforest was amazing - we spotted a tree kangaroo, possums, platypus, scrub turkeys, all kind of birds and the list goes on.

We did not encounter any cockroaches, mildew and mold as the previous reviewers have mentioned. The possum who lived in the games room added to the experience (we nicknamed him Leaky) as did the duck (Ralph) and the possums (the 3 amigos) who visited us every evening looking for food.

We walked the trails around the property and visited the local waterfalls and the very helpful tourist info in Ravenshoe. Paul (the owner) also showed us around and pointed out a lot of the plants only found in rainforests and explained about the ecosystem.

If you are looking for 5 star sterile accommodation then this isn't the place for you. If you want a memorable stay somewhere very peaceful with amazing scenery and wildlife then go visit.

PS Be warned that it is cold at night in the winter as you are at over 3000ft but at least it isn't wet!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rovers_Girl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at Maple Cottage in August with family members. Initially we had planned to stay for 4 nights but we only stayed one night because we could not cope with the dirt, dust and mould. The bedding which was old and badly worn was green with mildew. We found the musty smell overpowering particularly in the bedrooms. There was cockroach poo on the plates in the kitchen and the plates were chipped. They were running around the kitchen at night and were even on the fridge. The games room was very dirty with a filthy lounge which was ripped and covered in grime. The BBQ area was also dirty and unkempt. The jetty on the pond has wood rot and is unsafe and would be very dangerous to children. My husband ended up suffering an asthma attack from the overpowering mildew spores and we had to leave the next day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lauraine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were traveling with Family & had booked for 4 nights.Unfortunately we were very disappointed. we managed to stay one night only. We stayed in Maple Cottage. Unfortunately it was quite unclean. We arrived late in the day planning on a lovelyevening meal & relaxing night. Upon opening the cupboards there was cockroach or Ghecko droppings on the crockery the frypan was coated with grease (so we boiled the kettle which took almost 20 minutes in the gas stove) .Needless to say all dishes were scolded before use. Also we did not feel able to shower as the towles had a very musty smell.
The room with the double bed was the worst as sheets & doona were covered in mould.
We had very little sleep that nigh as my brother we were travelling with had an Asthama attack dut to all the mold in the bed he was sleeping in. When we spoke to Paul the owner about the probllems he seemed quite surprised & all he could say was that he was sorry we felt that way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Wow! What an amazing place! There was so many amazing things to do while staying at Possum Valley: going on rainforest walks, sightseeing waterfalls, watching platypuses surface (awesome!) and watching beautiful rainforest birds flutter in and out. The list goes on and we were there too short a time! Would definitely recommend to families who love the outdoors/rainforest. The loft at the top of Blackbean cottage was also great for the kids! :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WightmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

If only we'd spent more than 1 night, what a beautiful, magical place, chock full of wildlife, nature sounds, and much more, the best place we stayed at during our month in Australia. If you are a natural history buff, whether it's botany, birds, and so on, then this is the place for you. A platypus played in the pond, Northern Rosellas flew into nearby trees, wallabies nibbledgrass, and there were a lot of possums at night. Plus a tame honeyeater that flitted about inside and outside of the house. Sheer paradise. It's a very comfortable place to spend time, far more generous in furnishings and niceties than 5-star hotels, but most suited for nature enthusiasts, not persnickety standard hotel room sorts of people.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank energyskeptic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

we were looking forward to our night at possum valley, but we were pretty disappointed. we stayed in the upper cottage ("maple cottage") and were welcomed by the owner. the cottage is spacious and nicely equipped, however there were some serious issues: apparently the cottage had not been used for some time and neither had the air been changed. the humidity inside all rooms was unacceptable - everything including the linen and the toilet paper was literally wet. there was a mouse in the kitchen and the hygienical standard of the beds was substandard. further be aware that the steep 4.5 km dirt road might be a problem for 2wd in wet conditions. we can only speak for the maple cottage, the other cottage made a better impression from outside.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lorenz_steinwender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenshoe
4.2 mi away
Chilverton Cottage & Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
14.0 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 8 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
13.6 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Possum Valley Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Possum Valley Rainforest Cottages

Property: Possum Valley Rainforest Cottages
Address: 356 Pickles Rd | Evelyn Central, Ravenshoe, Queensland 4888, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ravenshoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ravenshoe
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Possum Valley offers 2 self-contained cottages surrounded by rainforest. *Peace & quiet in rainforest, 5km to nearest dwelling *2 self-contained timber cottages, 3 or 4 bedrooms, 6-8 people *Fridge, gas stove, gas BBQ, linen& towels supplied *Wood-fired sauna, games room, TV room, kids tree house, guest laundry *Cool highlands at 1100 m (3600 ft), 156 acres, rainfores walks *Birds & wildlife, tree kangaroos & possums, platypus *Green power from stand-alone hydro/solar *Dams for swimming and row boat *Modest rates ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing