We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for the outback”
Review of Ammonite Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ammonite Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service for the outback”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This place was a bit expensive but very clean and tidy. The owners were very friendly and nice to chat with after being in car with kids all day . The food from their restaurant was excellent and served to our room on time . First thing I do at any place we stay at with air con is check the filter it was clean not like other places we stay at. I would recommend staying here to any one traveling through Richmond . It was located next to the main road through town but once inside you could not hear any traffic at all great night sleep had by my whole family

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80series
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
19
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

As Richmond is not a large outback town, we expected the accommodation would be rather average. How wrong could we be!!! This place is definitely a gem. The motel is modern and, although on the main road, there was no noise at all from the road trains. The room was so comfortable and very clean. The food and the service in the Rivers Restaurant at the motel was comparable to any capital city hotel. The owners and the staff were friendly and made you feel very welcome. This place is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There seemed few attractive options for a one night stopover on the trip from the coast to Mount Isa. The Ammonite Inn in Richmond filled the bill brilliantly. A modern, clean, comfortable and well run motel with a good dining room. Excellent value for money. The Kronosaurus Museum, located across the road from the motel, proved well worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very nice place to stay. Rooms are clean, comfy bed and the owners and staff could not be more obliging. Has a restaurant which had a great menu and again the staff were excellent. Easy walking distance or short drive to some of the local tourist attractions

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Great little stay at a great place, as soon as you walk through the doors you are greeted with the warmest welcome. The room was very clean, and we thought with the road trains passing by they would be noisy but not at all. Great stroll to everything and a short drive to the lake for a picnic. The restaurant meals were fantastic and very filling

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Wow!
Our family if 5 stayed here in a large room 1queen, 2 singles, 1 set of bunks.

Incredibly clean with comfortable beds.

Large hotel pool was very relaxing after a long day

Management are extremely helpful and great for a chat

Restaurant meal was served and the quality was one of a 5 star restaurant - followed by the most amazing sticky date pudding ever.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfgclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FNQ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We travelled through over Easter in 2013. 2 families, 4 adults & 6 children and Gail couldn't have been more helpful. We had to change our dates a few times and she was able to assist with each phone call. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the pool just lovely. Exactly what we needed after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TB74Fnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ammonite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammonite Inn

Property: Ammonite Inn
Address: Goldring Street, Richmond, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing