We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of overcharge and rude manager”

Roma Mid Town Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roma Mid Town Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Beware of overcharge and rude manager”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I booked a room by phone and agreed on a price. On arrival only 3 hours later the check-in man attempted to charge me a higher price and was quite rude complaining that we weren't paying enough and that the motel had 92% occupancy. I wish I had chosen a different motel but despite this we stayed and it looked more like a 92% vacancy rate as only a few rooms were occupied.
The motel was clean, basic and adequate. The shower and bathroom were good. The TV had a fuzzy picture on most channels though.
With better management this motel would be far more appealing. The building is good but don't expect a warm welcome or a smile here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get confirmation in writing of the price/room you agree on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

A comfortable, spotlessly clean motel in a quiet location. Be aware that the Website room rate AU$105 differed to AU$125 we were charged when checking-in. I did question this discrepancy and was informed the rate had increased on the 1st August 2009 (two weeks prior) but that the website had not been updated. Should the website price have been honoured? In my opinion yes it should even though the dispcrepancy was minimal it would have been the right thing to do. However this motel was better than many other motels we used on this trip that claimed to be 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelurchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Room was spotlessly clean, especially bathroom which looked brand new. Bed was comfortable. However a couple of points to note. Not a lot of natural light gets into room and room has 'view' of parking area. Blanket was sort of fleece material not 'real' wool - had to have two blankets on bed to stay warm on second night. Bathroom light is linked to fan which means cannot have bathroom light on without extraction fan running - was a bit noisy for me. Also mini fridge in room was a little noisy when trying to get to sleep. Also bins were not emptied during stay.

Service was pleasant however nothing out of the ordinary. Also must call to make reservation - will not accept reservations via email.

Very convenient to main centre of Roma, supermarket and various takeaway/fastfood eateries.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The good:
- room was very clean and quite spacious
- fixtures and furniture was relatively new looking and well maintained
- very quiet location
- comfortable bed
- close to CBD and also highway
- has an agreement with a couple of nearby restaurants that allow you to charge the meal back to your room bill

The bad:
- no undercover parking

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Very clean, well located motel in the heart of Roma. Usual 4* amenities. No undercover parking, but spaces were a good size. Mini bar facilities available at reception.
Walking distance to shopping, dining etc but we were there on a Sunday mostly everything closed.
Fast food outlets very close. Despite being near the highway it was very quiet (Sunday thing again, maybe?)
Comfortable, clean beds with crisp white linen.
Managers keep to themselves, not much interaction. Car park prone to flooding in heavy rain, not enough to damage anything, just a huge puddle.
Bit pricy for what it is but location dictates the price I suppose.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lacked friendliness
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roma hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bungil Creek Motel
1.2 mi away
Overlander Homestead Motel
0.4 mi away
Starlight Motor Inn
Starlight Motor Inn
#1 of 11 in Roma
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandalay Motel
Mandalay Motel
#3 of 11 in Roma
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roma Central Motel
Roma Central Motel
#2 of 11 in Roma
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Mid Town Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Mid Town Motor Inn

Property: Roma Mid Town Motor Inn
Address: 41 Hawthorne St, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roma Mid Town Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roma Mid Town Motor Inn has 19 well-appointed 3.5 star ground floor units. Bathrooms in all units have been recently renovated. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and your comfort is our priority. All rooms are non-smoking. Our room configurations cater for singles, couples, families and disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Roma Mid Town Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing