We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed setting”
Review of Riversands Winery

Riversands Winery
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in St George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Riversands you will find a bush story in every glass, with each of our wines telling the entertaining story of local characters - from explorers to a woman in a wash tub!Enjoy your own wine journey through the flavours of our area with one of our free wine tastings - from crisp and dry to bold and rich. Enjoy our cosy cellar, our quaint country garden and plenty of handmade goodies to inspire you.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Riversands was recommended to us for a visit by the delightful Rosie at St George Tourist Information Centre .... we were given free coffee vouchers. Kate was our hostess and we arrived quite early in the morning - after tasting a couple of wines, we sat outside in the cool garden area browsing through the photos of the 2012 floods and enjoyed our plunger coffee and huge scones. Purchased some wine too! Worth a visit

1  Thank Valsie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 12 reviews
"scones"
in 8 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 7 reviews
"sauvignon blanc"
in 3 reviews
"very pleasant experience"
in 3 reviews
"very friendly service"
in 2 reviews
"david"
in 11 reviews
"ploughmans"
in 8 reviews
"vines"
in 7 reviews
"port"
in 6 reviews
"muscat"
in 6 reviews
"lunch"
in 13 reviews
"glass"
in 5 reviews
"winery"
in 14 reviews
"weekend"
in 3 reviews
"jams"
in 3 reviews
"operation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

44 - 48 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our second visit to Riversands this year. We were introduced to Riversands wine a couple years ago when dining at a Chinese Restaurant in Dalby. Today's visit did not disappoint it was as good as if not better experience than last time. David the owner is a great host, the wines are superb, sitting in the gardens dining on a ploughman's lunch, cheese platter, drinking coffee and tea is our ideal way to spend relaxed time in St George. We can truly recommend the winery with its simple but classic food. We will be back next year for sure!

Thank JulieDrieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riversands_Wines, Owner at Riversands Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hello again Julie and John. Thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. We love hosting interesting guests like yourselves and look forward to catching you up next week. Cheers David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a lovely place to visit. We were made to feel very welcome. David loves to have a chat and can give you a lot of information. We had a wine tasting, did a lot of talking and had a look at photos of the floods of 2012. We bought a few bottles of wine and had a bite to eat. We sat outside under the shade of the large trees and really enjoyed our food and coffee. We would highly recommend a visit to this lovely winery.

Thank Grump9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riversands_Wines, Owner at Riversands Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks Grumpy for your positive review. We enjoyed your company and hope you return one day. Otherwise I will look out for you at Birdsville Races. Enjoy that wine! Cheers David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived after a 3 hour drive from Lightning Ridge We tasted some dessert wines (and made some purchases...) Staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. We ordered plunger coffee and scones. We were a little disappointed with the food - perhaps we should have said something but we were happy just to relax for a while in the peaceful garden setting after so long in the car! The plunger coffee ($3) was a very mild blend, and not strong enough. The scones ($5) were a very generous size but a little on the heavy side. However, I must add that since arriving home we have enjoyed our wine purchases very much!

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riversands_Wines, Owner at Riversands Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Karen
I am not sure if you received my earlier response to your review, but if not I wanted to thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the wine and our garden setting. With respect to the food could you let us know what you were expecting? There are some things we can act on and others not! Thanks to your feedback, we will check with customers first on how they like their coffee. We can make it stronger if required. Others find it too strong and want it weaker, so we can include some hot water! And I will see if our scone lady can lighten up the scones a bit! Thanks again and do hope you return one day. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived at 9:30am too early? No, Joe the very amiable bar attendant assured it was not too early to start tasting!! Three whites, three reds Muscats and Ports means there is a wine for every palate. After our wine tasting we retired to the lawn and had a delicious coffee and scones, jam and cream.

2  Thank Tinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riversands Winery also viewed

St George, Queensland
 

Been to Riversands Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing