We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfasts!”
Review of The Vines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Vines Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As a motel, The Vines is excellent - good location, clean, everything in the room works, the staff are friendly and helpful - but the highlight was the delicious breakfast! When most motels offer breakfast you expect a bit of dry toast with a packet of spread. The Vines has a lovely continental breakfast selection, but the cooked breakfasts are to die for. Large portions, eggs cooked perfectly, lovely extras such as locally made relish to enjoy with your bacon... I could go on. In my opinion this hotel would rate up there with the best bed-and-breakfasts in Stanthorpe, but for a fraction of the price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fabulous three day weekend at the Vines Motel in Stanthorpe with friendly hosts Jaqlyn and Clinton. We took the 2 day package plus extra night and enjoyed a fun day touring local wineries then retired to our room with included cheese plate washed down with more local wine. The long verandah has little tables and it was lovely to sit and enjoy the twilight and talk over the day. Rooms are a little dated in decor but comfortable and spotlessly clean. A delicious breakfast is included in the package and is the usual continental selection plus a hot cooked choice. The motel is easy walking to the town and Anna's well known restaurant. Altogether a fabulous weekend not far from Brisbane or the Gold Coast.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in were of similar high standard however, motel is two levels so if stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is my second time here and got to say "love it". There's a BBQ courtyard that is brilliant and if you want to know anything about the Granite Belt, what to see, do, eat or anything Jaclyn will help you. She has the most amazing local knowledge and you won't be disappointed.

Rooms are clean and well kept and the 'cottage' house we stayed in is great. It's an old Qld style house that takes you back in time. Just loved it.

Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dizzyg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Jaclyn was prompt in replying to my emails and helpfully suggested to take daylight saving into account since we were travelling from NSW. We arrived late and ravenous, having driven from Armidale and mistakenly thinking Tenterfield would have something open (we drove past Maccas in Glen Innes) on the main street. Jaclyn told me to ring at 8 to have a better idea of our ETA, and was really accommodating. Her directions were good - just before the town, on the left, opp Holden. We checked in quickly and had a choice of a Chinese or Thai restaurant, Macca's or Red Rooster - they closed at 9pm.
The Family room (no. 26) was clean - small kitchenette (microwave, toaster, kettle, bar fridge + UHT jiggers but fresh milk avail), cutlery, crockery, cups, mugs, wine & other glasses, sharp knife, some utensils (incl corkscrew), a few hardback kids' books and a little toy vehicle on the top shelf. There were also 4 packets of bikkies; Anzacs and Macadamia ones were pronounced the best - we all had to try the other varieties to be sure. There was a ?1m diameter table and 4 chairs inside, with another table & 2 chairs outside. The beds were firm and had electric blankets.
The air-conditioning unit was noisy, but we opened the screened windows and it was quiet on a Thurs night despite being on the road into town. .There were 3 Foxtel movie channels and Foxsports, in addition to the usual free channels.
Breakfast (7-8.30) was a leisurely eatfest in the dining room - we had a buffet of 4 cereals, fresh fruit salad, tinned peaches, prunes, vanilla yoghurt, dripfiltered coffee, tea, 3 juices, bread which could be toasted - sourdough white and multigrain - and accompanying spreads. followed by a hot component of our choice (eg eggs benedict, bacon & mushrooms, BLT,a huge bacon/chipolatas/poached eggs/mushrooms... and others). From the smoky sweet taste, the mushrooms were caramelised in the bacon pan; a bit sweet but better with Worcestershire sauce. Fantastic value for $20 each, considering the continental breakfast was $14. We skipped lunch and had a late dinner that night.
The dining room had a great collection of sports memorabilia, historical items, and some Christmas-themed items, while the ladies' loo had an eclectic collection of handbags - you really should see the Elvis one and the joke on another.
It would have been nice to be able to stay longer; the surrounding gardens were well-kept, and there was a good-humoured, relaxing air about the place. And Anna's has buffets on Fri/Sat nights.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with Jaclyn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A large group of 11 of us stayed in the 2 cottages whilst visiting the region for a weekend. We found the location to be ideal and the cottages neat, comfortable and welcoming. The management were knowledgable, friendly and extremely accommodating. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldans99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. The room was very clean and beds comfortable. It was nice to sit outside in the sun and read. Conveniently located so a walk into town through Quart Pot Creek was very pleasant. Everything we needed was provided including a toaster, ironing board etc. Anna's Italian restaurant in next block had a fabulous Italian buffet on Friday night. Fabulous meal with local wines.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish9amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting the Granite Belt wine country. I had an ordinary room, but very well appointed. Literally everything was there: coffee, tea, milk, iron + board, lots of towels etc. etc. we even had Anzac cookies! The motel is well located. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The place was clean, we had little tables to sit outside in the morning to warm in the sun. The motel lies along a slow flowing river, that is wonderful to jog along. Upriver it gets rocky and there is a fantastic (train?) bridge across the creek.
Beautiful place, very much OK stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomandKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
1 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
3.2 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Granite Court Motel
Granite Court Motel
#8 of 8 in Stanthorpe
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Boulevard Motel
The Boulevard Motel
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple & Grape Motel
Apple & Grape Motel
#6 of 8 in Stanthorpe
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vines Motel

Address: 2 Wallangarra Rd, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Price Range: £74 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Vines Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vines Hotel Stanthorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing