We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold Cold Cold”
Review of The Granite Belt

The Granite Belt
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Stanthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cold Cold Cold”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stanthorpe grows some great apples and provides some very cold weather, even snow fall during the colder months. although it is far away from the coast, it is definitely worth the time to stop and appreciate the town when travelling throughout Australia. You must try their local fruits and items made from their local produce, you will be impressed and want to take some with you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alby2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this area”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lots to see and do especially if you like wine tasting! Fruit in season in abundance. Lots of walking trails in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 237Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relaxing escape for 2 couples”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently returned from a 2-night stay in the Granite Belt with anoteher adult couple (brother and sister-in-law). It was a welcome, child-free escape for a few days, and as usual the Granite Belt doesn't fail to please!

Accommodation was blissful - a little place called Fergie's Cottage at the Granite Ridge winery. Dining options have really picked up in the past few years, with a few very nice restaurants now operating for a special meal, as well as the usual family-friendly and casual dining options.

It's wonderful to see so many of the small, independently owned boutique wineries and cellar doors still doing well, and a few new ones opening up as well.

Food producers are also doing well - if you're not interesting in wine tasting at any of the 40+ celar doors, there are apples, berries, olives, chocolates, and plenty more local providers to visit.

Giraween National Park is still a lovely place for a morning or afternoon walk, enjoying the natural suroundings, massive granite boulders and local wildlife.

Although it's been over a year since our last visit, this region is still the perfect little getaway destination for something other than a beach holiday. And if you're at all interested in wine, well, it's just the perfect destination!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-May-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tried cuttin them slack - no use.”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We arrived and all was going well. We booked into the Spa Cabin. The water was brown but we thought we would have that fixed the next morning. The next morning I was in the shower, brown water and all and the electricity to all cabins was cut off due to highway maintenance. I had to pack my bags and do my hair in the main lodge bathroom. The food was average "Pub Grub: at best and the prices were way to high for pub food. To compensate us they gave us a $40 credit and a six pack of beer. (You have got to be kidding when we paid over $100 for one dinner that the average pub in Ipswich, QLD could have done better! The owner comes from an IT background and has not idea what customer service is all about. I rather pitch a tent next time. Save your money - try somewhere else. So sad it was.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Relax”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very friendly place, people very helpful, we liked it all. Restaurant and cafés were we eat we're very good, and in particular Poppy's restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Granite Belt also viewed

Stanthorpe, Queensland
 
Stanthorpe, Queensland
The Summit, Stanthorpe
 

Been to The Granite Belt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing