We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bush escape”
Review of 31 The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
31 The Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A bush escape”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Attended a wedding on the weekend in Stanthorpe and chose to stay at 31 The Rocks as is is modern and close to the centre of town.
There are a small number of cabin type accomodation on the property which is ideal as you have privacy like you were in your own little house. We had the one bedroom which we found to be comfortable and spacious, with small living area, kitchen area and shower and toilet area.
A wonderful setting in which to experience peace and quiet and watch the sun set while enjoying a glass of wine on the decking.
You do need a car as it is a 5 minute drive into town.
My only desire - would have been great if there had been a pool on the property however it is a short drive to the local YMCA.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondbaby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We recently stayed at this place. My husband is a T12 paraplegic, and they advertised a wheelchair accessible cabin. We usually go to these places with a lot of trepidation, as people have very strange ideas about wheelchair accessibility. We were more than pleasantly surprised. Phil (our host and the designer of the place) showed us around the place, including a few extras that he had come up with on his own. The lowered sink in the kitchen had doors that opened so that a wheelchair could roll in. The whole cabin including the bathroom and accessibility from outside was outstanding. We had a wonderful weekend and have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Spent the weekend here for our one year anniversary and it was perfect. The cottages are all private and set amongst natural bushland surrounds, very quiet and relaxing. The cottages are clean and well maintained with everything you require for your stay. The Managers are friendly and on hand for any assistance you may require.

While you are here, make sure you book onto the Maxi Tour wine tour, we did and had a fantastic day out.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own private bush back drop - they all seemed perfect to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I have visited 31 the rocks yearly with my partner since 2009. Every stay is lovely with Phil & Beryl being wonderful hosts. Great base for checking out the local wineries over a long weekend. The rooms are spacious and kitchenette well equipped for basic meal prep. Basic essentials are supplied including bread, milk, orange juice, apples, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. For a fee, a delicious breakfast basket can be supplied, which you can cook up on your BBQ.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights using the midweek spring special. We had a wonderful time. The hosts were wonderful and very helpful. They couldn't help us enough with things to do and see and make bookings. Very cosy and comfortable fire place and laundry facilities. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petar and Jeann... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cooloola cove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a nicer place. The studio accommodation was excellent, very clean and comfortable & Beryl was a lovely host. We were greeted with a nice cheese platter & bottle of local red wine. Fire wood was supplied each day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabel8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed last weekend, I decided on 31 the rocks after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and was so pleased we decided on this place. Its about 1 km out of town set in a beautiful rural setting there are bush tracks to walk if you indulge on the wine tasting. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was very clean, modern interior,comfortable and relaxing. The wood fire added to the atmosphere which was needed on those cold nights. There was also the air conditioner to take the chill off the air in the mornings. We just had the basic breakfast that comes with the villa, cereal, OJ, fresh baked bread with lots of spreads to choose and the usual, milk, tea and plunger coffee. There was a BBQ on the balcony overlooking the trees, I think our villa was facing North East which provided sun all day with the many glass doors and windows. Our hosts Phil & Beryl were a lovely very helpful couple, who gave us some great advice. Do your self a favour and Book Hatties Restaurant in McGregor street, it was one of the best meals I have had for a long time and its BYO. We did the Filipos wine tour and had a fantastic day with our driver Tony. All in all 31 the rocks will not disappoint even the most discerning travellor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
2.5 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
#1 of 10 in Stanthorpe
422 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
3.3 mi away
Honeysuckle Cottages
Honeysuckle Cottages
#5 of 8 in Stanthorpe
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grovely House
Grovely House
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 31 The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 31 The Rocks

Property: 31 The Rocks
Address: 31 Brunckhorst Ave, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 31 The Rocks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly appointed studio villa, set apart for privacy and in its own unique setting. Ideal for couples on a romantic getaway or just a relaxing break from your hectic routine. Perfectly positioned to enjoy the views from the spacious veranda or from the large windows. Sit back and relax in a warm, cosy and stylish apartment. Enjoy the warmth from the wood fire or turn on the reverse cycle air conditioning unit for instant comfort. Set in ten acres of bushland, nestled into the side of a steep hill only minutes from Stanthorpe and all the Granite Belt attractions. Dine in with a glass of local wine, order take-away or eat out at one of the local restaurants or clubs. Order the cheese or antipasto platter as a perfect compliment to your day. Celebrating a special occasion? Look for our package that includes champagne and chocolates. Five villas suitable for couples and families in private settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your 31 The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing