We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic time and the cottage was imacualtly clean with the softest towels I ve ever come across, John & Kym”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
Ranked #3 of 9 Stanthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The only thing I would change was when we filled up the spa it was brown water, not very enticing

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moobeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

Even thou every thing was wet, around and on the ground we managed to find a couple of sunny days to enjoy this beautiful accommodation / property. Sitting on the veranda watching the birds flying around, wondering through the rose gardens doing their best with the weather - we loved it. The cottage we stayed in called Golden Touch ( after the rose) was homely comfortable and secluded nestled amongst large gardens streams of water and large trees. The golf coarse was out of action ( too much water) but hopefully next time we will play a game.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriam061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We just had the most amazing weekend at Granite Gardens for our anniversary. We also had friends join us in one of the other cottages and the four of us found the location amazing. The cottages were immaculate and the homemade bread was to die for. Sid and Marion are the friendliest and most accommodating hosts you could hope to find. Will definitley be returning in the future, hopefully filling all 3 cabins

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1973_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We had a wonderful relaxing weekend away from the hussle and bussle. The cottage atmosphere and breakfast hamper were superb. It was lovely to come back after a day sightseeing to a warm cosy cabin and a bottle of wine to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie_guilfoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at Granite Gardens, Chris and Terry made us feel very welcome and were always helpful. They had honestly thought of everything you could have possibly wanted or needed in your cottage. The cottage was gorgeous and with the fire burning away when you arrive gave the place that more homely feel. We especially loved the freshly baked muffins and bread which was a lovely homely touch. I would thoroughly recommend staying at the Granite Gardens Cottage to anyone as the experience was everything we could have wanted and more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristabelle4032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had a wonderful long weekend staying at Granite Gardens for our first wedding anniversary. We arrived to find the fireplace lit and already warming our room and this was the start of a magical weekend away for us. The service at granite gardens was fantastic and the cabins are located a short drive from town in a peaceful and secluded spot. It was only a short drive to amazing wineries, restaurants, orchards and national parks. The beautifully lit gardens were a romantic place to take a stroll on a cold winter night. The cabins were well equipt and the double spa was a great way to relax after a day of wineries and shopping. We were very sad to go at the end of our romantic weekend but unfortunatly real life and work was waiting for us back in Brisbane. This is definately a place we would recomend to others, it is a wonderful place to spend some time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voni79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a delightful short stay at Granite Gardens. We were warmly welcomed by Chris & Terry. Yes, it was the middle of winter, but Terry already had the wood fire burning and the cottage was deliciously warm, and looked out over an extensive garden that still held some vibrant autumn colour. The breakfast hamper was generous; the 2-person spa a luxurious treat; the bed was very comfortable and the 9-hole golf course provided us with a lot of laughs. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMHS-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
5.9 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
6 mi away
Loggers Rest
Loggers Rest
#4 of 9 in Stanthorpe
83 reviews
6.6 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 9 in Stanthorpe
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Honeysuckle Cottages
Honeysuckle Cottages
#5 of 9 in Stanthorpe
96 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grovely House
Grovely House
#2 of 9 in Stanthorpe
79 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Boulevard Motel
The Boulevard Motel
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat

Address: 90 Nicholson Road, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stanthorpe
Price Range: £97 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded cottages surrounded by magnificent rose gardens in the summer along with large trees, gums flowers - a must to just visit and wander. The bird life and animals many to photograph. Relax and unwind in your choice of cottages each with their own private large verandas. The Retreat / Studio is a large comfortable accommodation with wonderful views across the lake and gardens in a more contemporary design. Be completely undisturbed in an idyllic hideaway of your own for romantic, or just get away and enjoy the countryside together. Soak up the starry nights with a glass of wine on a lazy verandah, and view the gardens lit up with a range of lights at night like no other property in the surrounds that are just beautiful, or play a round of just for fun golf on the on-site 9 hole par 3 fun golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing