We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent murrays gardens is the place to b would recommend to every1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
1 review
“Excellent murrays gardens is the place to b would recommend to every1”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Its the place to b will b defantly booking for my family next time we r down that way and recommend it to every1 it was warm and commfi just like our own house.price was well worth it and the service was awesome.DONE WELL MURRAY GARDENS 10 STARS.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rackethead79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Wow guys! Thank you. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and it felt like home for you. I'm not sure if it was mentioned to you, but very shortly we should be getting our jumping pillow installed. I know our children go nuts over them and I am looking forward to seeing many more happy family faces as this should keep the little ones happy and bouncing for hours and some quiet time for the Mums and Dads. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    46
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
27
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome. Our cottage was very well equipped A log fire was all set ready for us to light and enjoy with plenty of extra wood to feed it. Our two dogs enjoyed being allowed to be with us in this cosy cottage.It is not easy finding the perfect retreat with pets but this ticked all the boxes. Lots of room for pets to exercise and a beautiful walk by the river into town. The town of Stanthorpe is such a friendly well set out town with lots of interesting places to visit. We originally booked for two nights but found Murray Gardens such a lovely experience and we booked an extra night!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi Guys,

Thank you for your lovely review of not only Murray Gardens but also of Stanthorpe. We had never lived here before taking on the business, but I have to agree and it is a lovely town to live in. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and thank you again for taking the time to write the review. I look forward to meeting you personally next time as I was away on this visit but it's terrific to be reassured that those here took great care of you. (As I was sure they would ;-))

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

well where do i start false advertising pictures on internet are false advertising, probably put in when they first opened , had the worst stay i have ever experienced, the rooms need full renovations, very old, had a shower did not realise the fan in the so called bathroom did not work steped out and nearly fell over from the slippery tiles, my friend used a wine glass that broke when she drank out of it, thankfully she was not injured, couches where made in my opinion 20 years ago, very very disappointed for the money we paid, the rooms were not worth half of that, said there was a restaurant no restaurant, the bar area in reception had a smelly dog sitting there plus a ironing board, really can not say anything good about it, asked for a gas fire place got a old very gas heater, really had a bad weekend would not tell anyone to stay there :[
no rating given as i feel they do not deserve one

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank maree e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi Maree,
Thank you for your feedback however it would have been much more useful to let me know these concerns at your time of stay. I regret that you were not happy but had we known we could have addressed some of these issues immediately. We had an electrician look at the fan and was unaware it was still playing up. We won't know these things if you don't bring it to out attention. My apologies for the overly relaxed environment in reception. Kobi (our family dog) does tend to think at times he owns the joint. And we were trying to juggle a little too much that day as my daughter was doing checkins and ironing of tablecloths but I can understand how you might view this as unacceptable and I will make sure that it won't happen in the future.
The one thing that we certainly don't want to do is ever misrepresent. I would rather guests be pleasantly surprised than disappointed. I can assure you that all of the photos on our website are very current. We have managed to renovate a majority of the rooms and since owning the business for the last 2 3/4 years have purchased many beds, TVs, lounges, tables, chairs, painted many of the motel rooms and cottages as well as putting in a pool, volleyball and basketball court, updating the wifi available for guests and the list goes on. Unfortunately your cottage had just not yet been painted and although I have the fabric to cover the lounge, have not had it actually sorted. Time and money stops us from doing it all at once.
With regard to the cost, as the cottages sleep up to six people very comfortably your choice to have only two people in them will make it expensive. I'm sorry you misunderstand "gas heating" to be a fireplace. We give people that option if they are after something instant. Again, had you had mentioned something at your time of stay we could have moved you or provided alternate heating.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were a group of 7 and booked 2 cottages on the brass monkey deal. It was excellent value for money, cottages had everything we needed and perfect for our needs. It is very conveniently located on the bypass. The fire was excellent. The cottages had plenty of wine glasses. Thanks, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi Fiona,

Thank you for your lovely review. This is the first winter of doing the Brass Monkey Deals and they are proving quite popular. I'm really glad you found them good value and you enjoyed your stay here with us. And of course, you can't come to this wine area and be without wine glasses. ;-) And I agree, the fireplace is also another terrific compliment to the wine. Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Once again the Murray Gardens was excellent, every year we stay there for our winter weekend away, the room are very nice and cosy, love the fire place is the best, everyday we had more wood on the stand outside. We stayed for 3 night, had room service every morning and one night for dinner, My rissoto was to die for. See u again next year ladies and keep the excellent friendly service.

Room Tip: Cabin number 2 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi Ana,

Wow, that was fast. You were only here a few days ago. Thank you so much for taking the time and so efficient :-) We are so glad that you enjoy your experience here with us and thanks for the menu tip. I haven't even had a chance to try that one so will give that one a go next. Have a great day and look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We chose Murray Gardens because they were pet friendly and we wanted a relaxing break. Price was very reasonable. Friendly service. Kids (7 & 8) had a fantastic time with activities and especially trying to find all of Garry's friends in the gardens. Lots if families looking like they were having just as good a time as us. We will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD_Family_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi guys,

Thank you for your review. Kobi (our pooch) also loves the fact that we are pet friendly but we are glad that you appreciated it too. The snails are a massive hit with our younger (and often young at heart) guests and finds that inner treasure hunter in everyone. We really welcome families here and in the near future will have a jumping pillow so we are expecting that to also be a super hit with the littlies. Once again, thank you for taking the time to enter up your feedback and we look forward to seeing you all once again soon.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I spent 2 nights at Murray Gardens and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were friendly & helpful also the free DVD's are a plus. The cabins are clean and comfortable and plenty of room ffor 2 couples. Fire place was a big treat. Overall the coast was reasonable and I would with no hesitation recomend it and stay there again

Room Tip: I would recomend the cabin if you are staying a couple of nights. Especially in winter with the fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi Kate,

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to enter your feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and the woodfire. They are a real treat, especially if you don't normally have one at home. There is just something so hypnotic about those flames. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Stanthorpe. Have a great day.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
4.2 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grovely House
Grovely House
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
1.0 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
#1 of 10 in Stanthorpe
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages

Property: Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Address: 10 Pancor Rd, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing