We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet , cosy and very pet friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet , cosy and very pet friendly.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Great little cottage fully self contained. Two bedrooms was spacious enough for four adults a baby and a dog.
The wood fire was so easy to light and keep going and very cosy to sit around. The gardens would be great with children as they had plenty of things for them to do including a bouncing pillow that was kept filled with air.
We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 20 June 2015
Hi Wendy,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. The fires are definitely lovely to enjoy sitting around and I'm glad the little people and the pooch were all happy as well. Thanks again and have a great day. :)
Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    46
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
27
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a motel room. Rooms were a bit tired and the bathroom small. They definitely need renovating. Room has heating and air conditioning. There is a toaster and microwave in the room as well as tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location not far from town. Expansive grounds. On the negative side the electric blanket on one of the beds did not work and the toilet ran continually for the 2 nights we were there. The rubbish bin was not emptied after the 1st night. This was our 3 rd time here, but we will probably try some where else next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time to enter your feedback here. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us was not totally enjoyable. We are constantly striving to improve the appearance of the rooms, although as most things, its a time and money thing. If you get a moment we would love you to give a call and let us know which room you actually stayed in as if no one lets us know that these things are happening we do not know and we would like to fix the toilet, for example, as soon as possible, as well as the electric blankets. As we do not actually sleep in the beds, this is something we cannot correct if we are not informed. Thanks again and have a great day.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This place is just a 2 min drive to the centre of stanthorpe, so it is very central.

We stayed in one of the cottages. It contained everything we needed and was clean and quiet. However... When you think of cottages you think of stone huts, fire places, armchairs, four-poster beds and cushions/blankets everywhere. This was not what the cottages here are. Instead they are actually 2 bed apartments. I think they should be a little more upfront about that. Furthermore the decor is tired.

So what it was was fine, but if you expect a cottage you will be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I understand that it may have not been what you were expecting and I'm sorry to hear that. They were called 'Country Cottages' initially and I dropped the 'Country' in fear of people expecting something different but I was stuck after that. To me, personally, when I think apartment, I think modern and several levels. We thought about cabin and villa but those two can conjure up different pictures as well. It sure does get does tricky and the last thing I would want to do is misrepresent. We have provided lots of photos everywhere to try to give a realistic picture of what they are. In addition, as we have found that there are copious amounts of accommodation in the area which suit couples looking for that romantic, 'cushiony' experience, we have more focused on a more practical budget option for families. Again, we are attempting to convey this in our websites and photos.

Thanks again and have a great day.
Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great place for families, couples or singles. Motel rooms whilst a bit dated, they are clean and certainly will keep you warm on those cold winter nights. Giant jumping pillow for kids, search and find activities, giant checker board, ping pong and gym all available - small hire fee maybe charged. Excellent bbq facilities and many a sight for marsh mellows around an open fire. Very handle to town centre, attractions and highway

Room Tip: Choose and western motel room in summer as morning sun would hit direct on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to add your feedback and I'm glad you found Murray Gardens enjoyable with plenty to do. We actually do not charge for any of the activities. We simply take a nominal bond for any equipment borrowed and it is fully refunded upon its return back to us. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As a family of 5 needing a short break, this was the perfect location! We stayed in a cottage - "Tammy" - and it was wonderful to open the doors to a warm fire. The cottage had everything we needed, including electric blankets which were a real novelty for the kids!

The children had a ball exploring the grounds, searching for Garry the snail's six friends, bouncing on the jumping pillow and playing basketball. This "kid friendliness" is an excellent feature of Murray Gardens with the children commenting that it was the best place we have ever stayed. Happy kids = happy holidays!

Murray Gardens is in a convenient location to town and tourist attractions. We would definately recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Erin,

Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful for us to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here with us. We often joke that we can't work out whether the kiddies enjoy the 'Snail Hunt', the 'Giant Bouncing Cushion' or 'Kobi' more as reception is often filled with little people giving our pooch lots of love. It's great though and we often see parents relax more and more as they get further into their stay. We look forward to seeing you all again next time.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
162 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Positives:
- Clean room
- Quick and easy access to highway
- Parking at front of room is covered

Negatives:
- Restrictive data limit for wireless internet. If you are like me and plan trips on the go then don't stay here because you will not be able to get any planning done. I only did some Google Map searches, looked at a few national park websites and checked the weather (not data intensive activities) and that used up the limit so I was not able to book my accommodation for the next day nor was I able to plan my full day.
- Bed was sagging in the middle. Unfortunately there were no other rooms available and I was too tired to find another motel to stay at.
- Shower had poor pressure and the water temperature is hard to get right.
- Expensive for what you get. Again I do not understand why Australia is so expensive when it comes to motels especially when it is in locations similar to Stanthorpe.

If you just want a place to stay for the night and don't need to use the internet then I guess this place would be okay to stay at. After travelling around the US for almost 1 year I find myself disappointed with the quality/price ratio of accommodation in Australia, this place especially is no exception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback here.

We are happy you found the room clean and conveniently located. I apologise that you ran out of internet. It can be a little tricky to give everyone all the information about us on check in but in our guest information in your room, it mentions about the internet. Had you let us know you had run out, then we would have only been to happy to reissue you with another allotment. Unfortunately we have to have measures in place to control our internet usage to ensure we have enough for everyone. It is a simple and immediate click of a mouse however, to reissue you with another 200mb.

I am regretful that you were not happy with the bed. I do happen to have new mattresses in storage, so if you could contact me and let me know which room you were staying in, we could look at changing it over. It would be beneficial also to know which room you stayed in also so we can also check into the water pressure issue and try to resolve that as well.

Thanks again and have a great day. :)
Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

One of the few places that could accommodate for more than three people in Stanthorpe! Friendly staff, cute and cozy cottages with everything that you need.
Great facilities for the kids, including a big pool, basketball court, activities, bouncing platform. The manager was fantastic and let us stay and use the pool + cottage after our check-in as well! 5/5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhenya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi Zhenya,
Thank you so much for taking the time to pop up this feedback. We appreciate that everyone's time is valuable. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and usually don't mind people using our facilities beyond checkout as it is really no problem for us at all for you to do so and using the cottage or motel room is okay, depending on checkin requirements that day but we are glad we could offer that to you. Thank you again and have a terrific day. :-)
Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
4.2 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grovely House
Grovely House
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
1.0 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
#1 of 10 in Stanthorpe
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages

Property: Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Address: 10 Pancor Rd, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing