We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottage indeed...but Not luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honeysuckle Cottages
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cottage indeed...but Not luxury!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We did get a good package deal price for this place, for 2 nights accommodation, bottle of wine on arrival, breakfast hamper, 20% off at (onsite) The Rocks Restaurant and $50 return stay credit... at about half price. They are marketed as 'Luxury Cottages', although from the reviews/photos I read/saw on here, I could see they were not MY standard of 'Luxury' but they seemed nice. The cottages were, in fact, nice in the 'homely' sense of the word...the owners were not so nice...

We arrived a little early, which was unintentional, and we were prepared to return after lunch if our Cottage wasn't ready. What we weren't prepared for was the shabby reception and abrupt greeting. We certainly didn't feel welcome. The male owner did not introduce himself or make any attempt to be personable with us, said we were 'more than abit' [early] when I apologised for the early arrival and told us our cottage wasn't ready. He described us as 'eager beavers' and then the cleaner walked in and said our cottage was now ready as she had just finished 'cleaning it'. He then handed my other-half the room key, who said 'Thanks, I'll go have a look' and he turned around to me and said 'Oh, look at him...keen like a school boy'. Excuse me? Honestly, I wasn't impressed at that point and felt like leaving. In hindsight, maybe we should have.

Upon walking into the cottage we were greeted by the over-powering smell of lemon-scented bleach. It had JUST been cleaned, so I let that slide. It later turned out that the cottage we stayed in has a constant, musty/damp smell... and I would have welcomed the lemon bleach scent back afterall. The cottage wasn't 'dirty', but it wasn't exactly Clean, either. Not the type of clean you would expect from this sort of accommodation...more like the spare room at my Brother's house. The glasses smelled of dirty dish water...so we re-washed all of the cutlery and crockery- which was a satisfactory supply for a self-contained stay. The bed was comfortable, the linen dated but clean and the towels...well...thin and crunchy. We commented to each other that it wouldn't cost much to buy a set of new white (hospitality grade) towels.

The cleaner dropped in our included bottle of Honeysuckle white wine...we opened it that night...and promptly tipped it down the sink. GHASTLY is the first word that comes to mind when remembering the bitter, acidic yet watery taste of that 'wine'. Disgraceful, considering they are in the heart of the Granite Belt winery region! We bought a $15 local vineyard bottle during our trip which was 10x nicer! (by the way, the sell the Honeysuckle wine for $18! The rest of their 'mini bar' is reasonably priced). The male owner later brought us our breakfast hamper, which looked ample and appetizing, despite the country-chic-meets-daggy basket (lining in need of a wash) it was served in. It was 2 days worth...but the sausages were off-colour by day 2, so we didn't eat them. The bacon was nice. The bread was average...not what I expected. The jams/peanut butter/vegemite were the same little single-serve packets you get at McDonalds (which is just behind this place!), and they were OUT OF DATE. We returned them to the male owner, who argued, said that was the date of manufacture, not expiry, and gave us a photocopy of the box expiry (which was a different date) and we left reception with the jams, which we returned to our kitchen table. When we came back to the cottage a few hours later, the photocopy and old basket of jams had been swiftly replaced with a new bowl full of in-date jams! Mr later apologised... when he also had to apologise about our in-cottage couple's massage being cancelled due to a no-show 'sick' massuese.

We did enjoy a lovely cheese platter... but all of the 'little things' that disappointed and went wrong (our light bulb had to be changed, and in the middle of the night we were spraying insect repellant due to creepy crawlies & flying bugs) really detracted from the overall stay.

I would consider staying here again...if it was free...or if it undergoes some major changes (ie- new management and refurbishment).

Room Tip: We had a studio cottage... none have fans or AC (fireplace redundant after winter!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyni_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, for such "an easy going couple" your comments certainly were a surprise. Your complimentary wine was actually award winning but we acknowledge wine appreciation is a personal thing, if everyone preferred the same flavours we wouldn't need the great range of wines available on the Granite Belt. Our Masseuse was "sick" and in fact was in hospital. Some cottages have air conditioning and fans are available on request. We keep the fireplaces set for the ease of our guests as they are never redundant because in Stanthorpe we have had snow in November and fires can be lit all year round, as they were over this Xmas; everyone is different. As for your review, I do think you have exaggerated and definitely stretched the truth but that doesn't surprise me as I see you even rate hotels you don't stay in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    27
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is a great place to stay. The owners, who are the managers, go out of their way to fill your every need. This is the second time we have stayed here and won't be the last. Fully recommend the two night weekend wine tour package. It included accommodation, full day wine tour, dinner at the Rocks Restaurant and breakfast. Will stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It was great to see you back again and bring a group with you. The wine tour is always popular as is dinner at The Rocks Restaurant. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We paid $220 for 1 night. Cottage was not vaccumed or mopped, filthy spa with brown ring, hair everywhere in bathroom, Linen and towels very old and badly stained. Old furniture and bad smell. Shelve in kitchen with coffee & muesli container was greasy with old flies on top. We were shocked!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
We were very concerned to hear you were not happy with your stay. We have had a very stressful couple of months trying to sort out personal and family health issues and obviously made a bad choice when choosing a caretaker / cleaner who was is charge when you stayed. We are a family business as you would understand, being in the industry, no-one looks after your business like yourself. Your complaints are definitely not the way we normally do business and action will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Hubby & I had a fantastic weekend away. Rooms are fantastic, the bed is super comfy & everything you could hope for is provided in the kitchen. We will be returning & recommending this place to our friends & family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfhfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here in November, so didn't really have a need to make use of the fireplace, but it would come in very handy in the winter. Despite being close to the highway, it is pretty well protected noise-wise. Had dinner on the first night at the restaurant, which was lovely, the steak was huge and the dessert very tasty. The problem was it was closed on the Sunday. After enjoying a full day at the wineries, we were unable to drive anywhere, so we were stuck with McDonalds as the only option for dinner (we did buy a frozen pizza the day before, but there are no ovens to cook them). The spa was definitely the highlight. We would consider staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homer_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review. As we are a family run business we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you meal at "The Rocks Restaurant". Sorry, is was not open on your second night. We do have a portable pizza oven which is available from the office, maybe next time. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Four of us stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage and had a very enjoyable time. The cottage was not modern and the lounge furniture not as comfortable as it could have been - one lounge chair had the rear legs 'replaced' by wheels and it was placed against a wall, the reason we soon found out as when you lean back you are at risk of it toppling backwards. The surroundings are homely nonetheless. The breakfast basket was loaded - more than adequate amounts of bread, sausages, bacon, fresh eggs (16!), milk, juice, cereal.

The cottages are separate and quiet in a bushland setting- it was fully booked but you didn't hear anyone else. We were there in late spring and the weather was warm, but in cooler months there is a woodburner in the lounge which should make it very cosy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourth_estate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Thank you very muck Rick & Maxine. The cottage was very homely and comfortable for us. The breakfast hamper was a real bonus. Both of the kids loved it and so did my husband and I. We didn't hear much noise at all from our cottage and it was great and cosy. We all had a fantastic 2 night stay there. The Rocks Restuarant has lovely food as well.

We will be back :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
5.1 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
#1 of 10 in Stanthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
2.8 mi away
Loggers Rest
Loggers Rest
#4 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeysuckle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Cottages

Property: Honeysuckle Cottages
Address: 15 Mayfair Lane, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Honeysuckle Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in thick rocky bushland just 3 km north of Stanthorpe, accommodation in our 1 and 2-bedroom cottages provides the perfect escape to crisp, clean mountain air, country hospitality, and the unique scenery of Queensland's Granite Belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honeysuckle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing