We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy country cottages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeysuckle Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Honeysuckle Cottages
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy country cottages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here after purchasing an online deal. Had to cancel our first booking as our son got sick and Terry was fantastic and understood our situation and changed our dates without any penalty. Upon arrival the owners Rick & Maxine were fantastic with local information and sights to visit. The breakfast hamper is huge and we didn't get through it all as we wanted to taste the local fare. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage. Nice open living space with 2 lounges, 6 seater dining, fireplace, kitchen and hutch. You'll never run out of firewood! A massive bathroom with spa, with the washing machine & dryer in a separate cupboard. We had a big bedroom with a queen bed, 2 bedside tables, wardrobe, blanket box, reading chair and room for their portacot for our bub. Well stocked washing powder for dishes and clothes. The only negative is no carport to protect the car and it was windy so the trees brought down a quite a few leaves and branches. But the cottage had an outdoor hose so was able to wash the car down in the mornings. We had dinner at the restaurant on site - The Rocks. Highly recommended! Fantastic meals - we had the atlantic salmon and beef steak, though they're not open Monday or Tuesdays. Reception has a lot of DVDs you can borrow for free, which we did, but never got a chance to watch them! McDonalds & Starmart located 200m walking distance for convenience but couldn't hear any noise from them. All in all a wonderful stay with every need well catered for and great location from all the sights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad we were able to change your dates to a more suitable time for you. The Rocks Restaurant does do great meals and they will deliver to your room. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was visiting my parents from Perth and thought a trip up to Stanthorpe would be a nice way to spend some time together. We booked at the last minute and were very lucky to be able to get the two bedroom cottage. The cottage was a good size with two full sized rooms, each with a queen bed. The beds were very comfortable and in a lovely country design. The open living/kitchen area was great for making dinner and sitting around talking. We lit the fire it kept the place toasty warm.
The staff were super friendly and very welcoming on our arrival. The included breakfasts were huge! We got a basket of eggs, bacon, sausages, jams, bread, juice and milk. There was actually too much for us to eat. Just the sort of country hospitality that you hope for on your trip.
I read some of the reviews that were concerned about the closeness of McDonalds and the highway. Honestly we didn't notice it and the natural surrounding bush made it feel like we were miles away from civilisation.
Unfortunately I had to leave early due to a work emergency but we had a lovely few days exploring the area and the Honeysuckle Cottages was the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottage (cottage 4) would be great for families or a group of friends. My mum is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatePix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you and your parents enjoyed your stay in our 2 bedroom cottage. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Recently I visited Stanthorpe due to a deal I had baught to stay at the Honeysuckle Cottages in Stanthorpe. After visiting the town markets I expereienced a very bad car accident which left me with no car for my holiday. While I was booked into Honeysuckle Cottages I had never met Maxine and Rick the wonderful owners and their generousity could only be described as kind and generous. I was taken to hospital from the accident, Maxine and Rick came and picked me up from hospital and beforehand gone to my cottage and put a log fire on so it was warm on my return. Having no car for my holiday in a town where I knew no-one they drove me down town and also a hour away to pick up a hire car so I could return home to Brisbane.

As mentioned I had never met Maxine and Rick and when you need help in a crisis situation isn't it nice to know there is some absolutely wonderful kind people are more then happy to help.

The Cottages at Honeysuckle are so homely and I feel anyone who wants to escape and have a nice break would thoroughly enjoy themselves as there is plenty to do at Stanthorpe. I was only there for 3 nights and will definately going back and staying again.

Room Tip: Breakfast basket is great for those who want to save a few dollars before experiencing the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank april l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you April 1 for your kind review. We were so shocked to get your phone call that you had had a bad car accident and were on your way to our local hospital. I rang twice during the afternoon checking on you, so of course I was always going to pick you up, it is just how I was brought up. It was no trouble to drive you around, as you had no-one else to help you out, it was my pleasure. I was worried about you going on the wine tour, but, you were fine and had a great day. Hope to see you again soon, with your new car!! Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
275 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in a one bedroom cottage at Honeysuckle Cottages. At arrival our hosts were friendly, helpful and efficient. The large complex is very beautiful and the cottages are very private and in as natural a setting as possible for an accommodation complex. The actual location is off the highway whilst abutting the rear fence of the Caltex Fuel/service station and large McDonalds Restaurant. This is not a negative as it enables easy access to basic provisions from the Caltex store and meals, drinks from McDonalds. We heard no highway or customer noise at night, in our cottage. The hosts Breakfast basket was so well stocked that it actually provided us with 3 dinners as well as breakfasts so we were too tired and lazy to walk down the path to the Restaurant. We will never be so close to an onsite Restaurant and it looked wonderful but we couldn't stir ourselves up to leave the comfort of the cottage and fire to toddle down the path. Only a 2 minute walk. We chose Honeysuckle Cottages to enjoy the fireplace when in the cottage. And we did. There was plenty of firewood supplied inside and on patio and nearby in a woodpile for our cottage. The cottage was extremely well fitted out and spotless. Large heated bathroom with long Jacuzzi bath and luxurious fluffy forest green towels and mat a nice décor touch. Bedding luxurious, bed large and comfortable and a suitcase bench provided. Great attention to detail in all rooms. Crockery, pots, pans and glassware elegant and sturdy and everything people could possibly need provided, we thought. The washing machine and clothes dryer tucked away in a cupboard very useful. Honeysuckle's location just outside the actual township of Stanthorpe was a bonus we think. Only ten minutes at most to drive into Stanthorpe, an interesting and pretty country town. Lots of beautiful drives, many local award-winning wineries scattered about, and the local museum was very interesting and quite different especially the old homes they have moved in and set up as examples of a specific era. Our stay at Honeysuckle Cottages was just perfect, very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Pollyanna57, thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottages, we do try to ensure that all our guests are happy. Our complimentary breakfast baskets are well received and you can cook them up at your leisure. The Rocks Restaurant is open Wednesday to Sunday nights and for lunch on Saturday and Sundays, maybe next time you will be able to try some of Chef Timo's specialties. See you on your next visit, Maxine and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for one night.
Staff were beautiful, accommodating and we visited with our daughter who was only a couple months old.
We're greeted with a breakfast basket which was cute & had dinner delivered to our room which was divine.
Spoke with chef who was only happy to deliver it to us as our child was cranky & teething.
Heaps of firewood and was lovely in front of the fire with some glasses of wine.
Will visit again for sure !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kainen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Rocks Restaurant is always happy to deliver meals to your room, saves you leaving your cottage. Your breakfast basket is complimentary and you can cook it up to suit yourself. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent a weekend recently in Honeysuckle Cottages and we had a fantastic time. The hosts are really nice and welcoming, the place is conveniently located just minutes away (by car) from Stanthorpe. As mentioned in other reviews, you get a breakfast basket full of goodies (bacon, eggs, sausages, etc) and the cottages are equipped with everything you need to cook it (no need to worry about bringing things like salt, pepper, olive oil or sugar). The onsite restaurant, the Rocks, serves high quality tasty meals at reasonable prices. It’s probably best to book it in advance so that they expect you, particularly if you’re planning on coming later, as the place may close if there are no guests around.

The cottage itself was very comfy and inviting. We stayed in the studio spa, and used the spa bath a lot. We also used the fireplace all the time, it wasn’t particularly cold but it was just great fun to have it on. All wood was waiting ready.

Overall, highly recommended – we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julita_i_Wojtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to make to cottages homely with all the little extras. We keep the fires set all year round for the guests to enjoy, because in Stanthorpe (coolest place in Queensland) it can turn cold any time of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Due to the floods we had to change our arrival date. Maxine was very kind to accommodate the change. We arrived here and the cottage was as expected: welcoming and pet friendly. We had our little foxy with us and he slept the night away in front of the fire. Spa was great. The bed comfortable. Couch cosy and the fire warm.
Bfast generous and the price correct for what you get. We chose to cook in the cottage however next time we will try the restaurant. All up a great accommodation with all what you need. More importantly pet friendly IF you have a small dog.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Swissmiss6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsc15, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottages, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We were happy to accommodate you with your change of dates, we understand these things happen. Peanut was a pleasure to have stay. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and maybe see you on the way back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
5.3 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diamondvale B&B Cottages
Diamondvale B&B Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery
Granite Belt Brewery
#1 of 12 in Stanthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
2.5 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grovely House
Grovely House
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeysuckle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Cottages

Property: Honeysuckle Cottages
Address: 15 Mayfair Lane, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Honeysuckle Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in thick rocky bushland just 3 km north of Stanthorpe, accommodation in our 1 and 2-bedroom cottages provides the perfect escape to crisp, clean mountain air, country hospitality, and the unique scenery of Queensland's Granite Belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Honeysuckle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing