We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will NOT find T-Rex here”

Australian Age of Dinosaurs
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Winton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Australian Age of Dinosaurs is a museum focused on Australia’s evolutionary history, in particular the discovery, conservation, and research of Australia’s dinosaurs. It is a working museum – an education resource, research facility and tourist attraction. It features:• World’s largest collection of Australian dinosaur fossils• Most productive fossil preparation laboratory in the Southern Hemisphere• Work on real, 95 million-year-old dinosaur bone fossils found in the Winton area• Spectacular views from the top of a giant mesa with striking rocky outcrops and canyons; walking trails; animal and bird life; it’s a photographer’s paradise!
Reviewed 6 October 2018

If you are wanting T-Rex & stegosaurus - they are not here. They are not Australian. You will find Banjo & Matilda though - I wouldn't want to have met Banjo in his day. :)

We arrived at AAOD not sure what to expect. We were cynical to say the least. We thought there'd be some little shop with dodgy toys and bad looking animated dinosaurs. We were SO IMPRESSED.

The moment we drove up the road to the jump-up we were interested. WHAT A VIEW.

To see the staff actually working in the lab on unearthing the bones from the rock was amazing. Those guys have patience. Our Lab guide Sierra was knowledgeable and not afraid to answer questions.

We then went to the collection room and onto dinosaur canyon. The models in the canyon and cleverly thought out. We were two adults and two teens. Who would have thought the rubbings in the canyon would be so exciting??

The gift shop had a great range of products about Australian Dinosaurs and the cafe had a large range of food and drinks. The recommended 3 hours gave us time to enjoy the walking tracks and not feel like we would miss any of our tours.

This exhibit is in Western Qld that means you will need a hat and water. Dress for the weather and you'll have a great day.

We can't wait to see the planned developments come to fruition and possibly some comparison between our Aussie Dinosaurs and the dinos we all think we know (trex etc)

Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiM1679, Manager at Australian Age of Dinosaurs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you Debra S for your review :) I am so glad you had a good time. While the Museum is focused on preserving and promoting the integrity of Australian natural history, we try to apply this same integrity to all aspects of the Museum from the shop, cafe, marketing to the very buildings that house our unique fossils. I am very happy that we were able to change your expectations and I hope to see you in the future to see all of our planned changes :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"laboratory tour"
in 23 reviews
"volunteers working"
in 13 reviews
"collection room"
in 28 reviews
"dirt road"
in 20 reviews
"million years"
in 15 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 17 reviews
"gift shop"
in 17 reviews
"real dinosaur bones"
in 15 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 10 reviews
"all ages"
in 20 reviews
"dinosaur trail"
in 10 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 11 reviews
"lark quarry"
in 19 reviews
"bucket list"
in 7 reviews
"banjo"
in 38 reviews
"museum"
in 112 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

From Longreach it's a 1.75hr drive (or 184 kms) but well worth the effort of driving to visit this Centre. Co-incidentally, the landscape is flat and red for most of the drive until you start to see the mesa upon which the Centre is located, then you get a real appreciation for just how ancient this part of Western Queensland is (and how arid it is).
We signed up for the 3 hour tour (at time of writing it was $55 per adult but discounts available for senior citizens and children) and were impressed with the sheer organisation of the Centre's staff. The first tour started at 9am and, with three parts to the tour, one group of tourists were started in the fossil collection room, the second group started in the fossil prep lab and the third group hopped aboard the shuttle tram and taken over to the Dinosaur Canyon. On the hour, all three groups rotated to the next stage of their tour, so by the end of 3 hours we had seen all three sections of the Centre.
The Centre's staff are all super enthusiastic about Winton's dinosaurs (even pronouncing the Latin names correctly) and local flora, and are very versatile. The staff member who sold us our tickets also led the first tour into the Collection room, then sold us our lunch a few hours later.
What impressed us too was the patience of all the staff and tour guides with small children. Kids of ages 8 to 10 love dinosaurs and have read up on them (or seen the movies) and aren't afraid to ask questions of the guides, and the guides reply to all questions with respect and dignity.
I've attached a couple of photos to help other first time visitors (the website offers a lot of helpful information, though). The road off the highway is sealed all the way to the top of the mesa (good news for driving a rental car). The Centre has a large flat parking lot at the foot of the mesa for those who want to unhitch their caravan and just drive up without towing. However we observed a handful of towed caravans, camper trailers, pop top caravans and motorhomes easily making it up the winding road to the top parking lot without incident, and the road has a couple of wide bays at each turn to help those towing.
The Centre's small but excellent cafe was a boon for lunch! It sells packaged sandwiches, muffins and other goodies but makes coffee on the spot, and makes an excellent iced coffee and iced chocolate (mine had two scoops of vanilla icecream, plus whipped cream). We can highly recommend the fresh sandwiches and iced coffee and iced chocolate.
The Centre's ticket counter, shop and cafe accept tap-and-go payment (though not American Express, just Visa and Mastercard), so paying for things was a breeze.
If you want to actually help prep fossils, you can sign up (and pay for) to help in the Fossil Prep lab. It's got to be one of the few places in Australia where the general public (after suitable training on the spot) can help uncover fossils from the bedrock around them.

Thank BelC0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiM1679, Manager at Australian Age of Dinosaurs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Wow BelC0001, you are a legend! What a comprehensive summary of the services on offer at the Museum! I don't have anything to add except - thank you for visiting! Happy travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Winton was a treasure trove of things to explore and enjoy, and the Australian Age of Dinosaurs was a highlight for sure. The visit is broken into three main tours, all of which were interesting and enjoyable. We were particularly fond of the opportunity to see people at work on real life dino fossils ... certainly a unique perspective! Worth a visit for Dino enthusiasts - or even just history/nature buffs - and a highlight of our trip.

Thank Carah81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiM1679, Manager at Australian Age of Dinosaurs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Wow, thank you Carah81 for your thoughtful comments! The entire town of Winton is working hard to become a destination for visitors interested in local history and prehistory. Thanks again for visiting - I hope to see you back out this way again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This is a must see. So interesting and informative and well presented. Loved the set up of the dinosaur gorge, felt like really visiting the land of the dinosaurs. Will love to go back when the extensions are complete!

Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiM1679, Manager at Australian Age of Dinosaurs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you Aileen R! I am so glad you had a good time. I completely agree, visiting Dinosaur Canyon is like stepping back in time to the land of the dinosaurs and getting a glimpse at their forgotten world. Safe travels and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We did the fossil collection room first followed by the fossil preparation lab then took the trip to Dinosaur Canyon. This helped make sense of the whole 'plan' behind the AAOD exhibits. My daughter was in a moon boot and the guide very considerately offered us the use of a wheelchair to do the Dinosaur Canyon walk. The three parts to this attraction are all led by guides. Guides are very enthusiastic, friendly and approachable but one hurried us along a bit in the lab, starting to speak while the last of our group was still looking at the specimens. The kids' book had lots of different activities to do. Spectacular views of the countryside. Take lots of water to drink.

Thank krums2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiM1679, Manager at Australian Age of Dinosaurs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you krums2016 for your review. I am glad you and your family had a good time! Hope to see you back again for all the planned changes :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian Age of Dinosaurs also viewed

 
Winton, Queensland
Winton, Queensland
 

Been to Australian Age of Dinosaurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing