We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schramm family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Gregory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winton
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Travelled across from perth via darwin and best hotel that we've stayed so far. Excellent new owners. Great service, food and very affordable. We will definately stay again on our next visit. Thanks jackie

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthGregoryHotel, General Manager at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Schramm Family,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you and having your family stay with us. We are delighted you had a great experience at our hotel, and look forward to welcoming you to the Famous North Gregory Hotel on your next trip to Winton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our trip included a nice at the North Gregory Hotel in Winton. We had had good reports on this historic hotel and checked its web site. Our expectations were somewhat shattered at standard of room and lack of attention. Coming in a group they hadn't allocated rooms and dumped a bunch of keys on bench and said take one. Poor management and lack of attention to the needs of clients . The room certainly had a new em suite that was very good, the room itself was tired, the refrigerator not turned on and clock wouldn't work. Positive is the foyer and breakfast not withstanding the disorganisation in setting up the cereals, juice etc the cooked breakfast was good value. Been there seen that but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had dinner at the restaurant, did not stay in the accomodation.
Staff were unfriendly and stack up. They make it look like they are doing you a favour by letting you have dinner there!
It took ages for someone to come to take the order and half the stuff on the menu was not available.
It took even longer to get the food and when it came was horrible. Thinking that you cannot go wrong with a steak in a pub in the outback that is what I ordered. Think again. It was dry, tough and it looked like it had been cooked in a frypan rather that on the grill. We also ordered a chicken parmigiana that was revolting.
Avoid this restaurant. Not too sure how the other ones are, but I imagine that it cannot get worst.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank archima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent a weekend at the North Gregory when I flew up to Winton for the Queensland premiere of outback thriller MYSTERY ROAD. The pub has been refurbished and has a great art deco / retro feel...but modern air con and flat screen TVs in the rooms! The steaks are retro too...big and juicy like the old days!
Friendly staff, a great town. Highly recommended if you're travelling up that way.
Cheers,
Roy Billing

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The sign out front said renovated rooms, it wasn't. The room was quite small and the bathroom old. The fridge wasn't on when we walked in and the "wall rattler" A/c did just that. I had to turn it off during the hot night to try to sleep. When I compare what I paid for the night with other country accommodation at the same price, this place falls short. Was also not impressed with the loud drunk at the bar who told someone inquiring about a meal with the bar staff that he was [--] and would not get a feed anywhere now as everything would be shut. The meal I had was OK, but it seemed they were "out" of more things than they had available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauldee863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The public rooms have been renovated and are ok. The beer garden was pleasant enough and the meal we had was good but the rest of the hotel is a shambles. Rooms upstairs are partially renovated. We were unlucky enough to have one which still had its 1950's bathroom. The new decor is dispiriting and quite disfunctional. Plugs in peculiar places no real thought to guests comfort so no bedside lamp or tables. Blood red furnishings in an already very dark room with cream and electric blue paintwork was a nightmare. The outside balcony was filthy with strings of dirty washing drying. We had booked through Booking .com site and both that and the hotel site imply that bathrooms are gleaming white porcelain. I wish!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PossumAdelaideSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is a surprising oasis in a some what featureless outback. The staff are friendly and helpful the food in the restaurant is good and the bar & hotel has a art decko look about it. The rooms are comfortable although dated somewhat. It has all the room necessities and more including free Wi-Fi, A/C,TV etc. A pleasant surprise if your not looking for 5 star in the back of nowhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitchAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winton hotels
0.7 mi away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
0.2 mi away
Outback Motel
Outback Motel
#1 of 4 in Winton
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#4 of 4 in Winton
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Gregory Hotel

Address: 67 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winton
Price Range: £61 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Gregory Hotel prides itself on providing warm and welcoming accommodation to the discerning traveler and has been the focal point for locals and for travelers since the original hotel was first opened in 1879. The North Gregory Hotel is more than just a hotel, it is a part of many significant moments in our history and an attraction itself, and a must see in your ultimate outback Queensland experience. Set in the heart of Winton, the North Gregory Hotel, sets the tone for your outback experience. Located in the town centre, only a short stroll from the Quantilda Museum, Arno's Wall, The Opal Walk and the Royal Open Air Theatre, the North Gregory Hotel is perfectly situated for you to make the most of all there is to offer in Winton and beyond. The personality of the North Gregory Hotel reflects the history and ambience of yesteryear whilst providing all the comforts of today. Designed for your comfort, North Gregory Hotel offers a range of 29 rooms from standard hotel rooms to deluxe rooms, with many offering access to a communal balcony. Also on site are 15 unpowered van sites situated at the back of the hotel available for $10pn. The hotel offers many services on site. Our Daphne Mayo Dining Room is open daily for dinner delivering all the country comforts with a twist, utilizing local produce and seafood from the gulf, matched with the finest of ales and wines. The Musical Fence Cafe is open daily for breakfast and lunch, and our Horseshoe Bar and Banjos Beer Garden is open seven days a week for refreshments, counter lunches and counter dinners. Onsite we also offer, TAB and Keno services, a bottle shop, pokies, Laundromat, private cinema, and a hairdresser. Why not explore the Winton shire in style and visit Lark Quarry, Merton Gorge, Australian Age of Dinosaurs, Bladensbug, Rangelands and Opalton with our very own tour company Vision Splendid. There are plenty of activities and parks to explore, ensuring visitors can find things to do while enjoying the relaxed atmosphere and picturesque surroundings. And with so much to see, do and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Gregory Hotel Winton, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing