We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinosaur Stampede at Lark Quarry Conservation Park

Dinosaur Stampede at Lark Quarry Conservation Park
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Winton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The dinosaur trackways at the Dinosaur Stampede were formed 95 million years ago when outback Australia was a vastly different place. In stark contrast to the arid climate of today, the landscape was characterised by a great river plain, with towering conifers and lush vegetation interspersed with sandy channels, swamps and lakes brimming with freshwater mussels, lungfish and crocodiles. The climate was humid and cool with an average rainfall of over one metre. It was in this setting that a herd of at least 150 small, two-legged dinosaurs, including carnivorous coelurosaurs about the size of chickens and slightly larger plant-eating ornithopods, came to drink at the edge of a lake. What happened next is immortalised in stone! Over 3,300 footprints of these long-extinct dinosaurs are scattered over the rock face, stark evidence of the terror they must have experienced as they fled the scene upon the arrival of a large theropod. This snapshot of a few terrifying moments has been frozen in time, immortalising the event and making Lark Quarry Conservation Park home to the only known dinosaur stampede in the world. Truly an experience not to be missed!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Yass, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredible place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

First visited this site in 1995, since when it has been completely upgraded with a new fully-enclosing building with interpretation centre. We had a great guide in the form of Bill, who told us about the fossils he's found and the geography of the area before taking us in to see the trackways. You stand on a wooden walkway above one side of the site from where you can see almost the whole excavated area. It is well lit from a low angle so you can easily see all the footprints. Bill explained several theories about what the dinosaurs may have been doing to form the tracks that we see today.

This is a world-class site and well worth the hour-long drive out, particularly now that most of the access road is paved. Absolutely fascinating, and humbling to think about how much history this land holds.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fruitylexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    43
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
234 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This would be my number one attraction in Winton area. It is 110km drive from Winton but despite the fact that it is a gravel road it is an easy drive. The guide has plenty of stories to tell, and you will be amazed with the quality of the footprint fossils. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longreach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A moment in time preserved for us..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Early start 6.30 am from Longreach so that we could make it for the first tour at 10am. The view was diverse from the open downs to the mountain (jump-up) views, Enjoying the great outdoors. The guided tour inside the temperature controlled building was thought provoking and emotional. Footprints from the past..Wonderful .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank myBucketlist2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unmissable attraction..uf u do nothing else when in Winton, ensure you do this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We visited Lark Quarry Dinosaur Trackways in early March which was just outside of peak travel times. Thanks to this, we were treated to a one-on-one viewing experience with the local parks ranger who was excellent in his knowledge and humour for our two young children. Why is this place not more important to people. The climate controlled enclosure, the exhibit and experience is world class. Who would have thought we had something so special and significant here in the outback. The entry fee is affordable a mere $35 for a family.There are various ranger guided viewing times but I would recommend first morning viewing... 10am as there are some hillside walks with magnificent views over the valley to take if you wish and it's pretty hot if you don't get in early. The drive out to the Quarry is 110kms from Winton and it states 4wd access only, however we were taken out in a 2wd vehicle...road was a little bumping, with some bitumen in places but definitely accessible at our time of visiting. This attraction is a definite to visit and it made our outback adventure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Warner-wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Many thanks for your work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a brilliant attraction for people interesting in palaeontology, dinosaurs etc. Kids will love it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga_Raevskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaur Stampede at Lark Quarry Conservation Park also viewed

 
Winton, Queensland
Winton, Queensland
 

Been to Dinosaur Stampede at Lark Quarry Conservation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing