We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gumtree on Gillies Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Yungaburra B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Lovely room”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

It was fantastic experience in Yangaburra.
The room was so nice and we really enjoyed the fire place nice and warm.
Breakfast was very yumy❤
Specially people are so kind and wellcoming I definitely wil come back (●´∪`)b

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kei7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have stayed at Gumtree's previously and loved it. This time we had heaps of friends and stayed at Penny and Jorgs Blue House in Yungaburra. Absolutely wonderful experience.
the house was all set up and very welcoming when we arrived and was so easy to live in for the 3 days we were all there. Walking distance to cafes and restuarants and the local pub. You've won us again guys. What a top spot and very affordable. I had better not praise it too much as we wont be able to get back in there. A Must stay. Charlie

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Ideal base for touring the Atherton table mountains and surrounding areas. We stayed in the African room which was luxurious and ideal for our needs- spacious, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated with lots of extras. Penny and Jorg were wonderful hosts providing a very pleasant breakfast on the patio and suggesting places to visit and eat in the locality. Penny also let us pick fresh oranges from the garden, quite a novelty for us English visitors. We only stayed one night but would love to have stayed longer had our schedule allowed. We don't normally write reviews but we had such a lovely stay that we felt compelled to put pen to paper. Henry and Helen

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I love it here and have stayed in all the rooms - my favourite is the Australia room (probably because I'm Scottish and love Australia!!) Beautiful, peaceful surroundings. I love the little quirks that go with the theme of each room. The complimentary port and chocolate is an extra treat that we enjoy whilst soaking in the big spa bath. Complimentary soft drinks in the fridge is also a bonus. Oh and the lovely breakfast too that they give you a choice of bacon and egg muffin, muesli, crossiant and fruit platter...and the seasonal freshly squeezed juice. The first time I went here was 2 years ago with my new partner and I realised I was falling in love (awwwww) we went back a few times after that and he took me and our baby daughter there last month and proposed! Very romantic. Love it and surely we will be back for an anniversary. Thank you Jorge and Penny. I have very fond memories of Gumtree on Gillies.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlymcc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had two night in the Egyptian room which was spectacular!! It was a surprise which room we had which made it really fun! We were so impressed with the extra touches- complimentary port, chocolates, soft drink, breakfast and ALL was restocked the next day!! The bed and spa bath was amazing!! And we loved cuddling up to watch the eygyptian themed movies and documentaries. Fresh white roses in the room made it so romantic. The service was delightful and the breakfast was THE BEST!! We cant wait to try out the other rooms!! 5 stars!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gumtreeongillies, Owner at Gumtree on Gillies Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Hannah and James,
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it, and are so pleased that you had a lovely couple of romantic days! Perhaps we will see you again for your 1 year anniversary... or maybe even before.
Warm regards
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the african suite and starting with a 5, could not find a reason to take a point off. Hostess very helpful, could have stayed longer. Big bubbly spa bath too. Paid $175.00, good price for an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcIntyre010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our room was good fun. Loved the Moroccan experience, quite magical and a great place to get away and relax. Don't forget to walk down to the creek, very tranquil and a "pleasant surprise" in this lovely rural setting. Ask Joerg or Penny for directions it isn't that far.
Breakfast was a real treat and the port topped of a lovely night. Highly recommend Gumtree on Gillies we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yungaburra hotels
0.5 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
On the Wallaby Lodge
On the Wallaby Lodge
#1 of 7 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree on Gillies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree on Gillies Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gumtree on Gillies Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4460 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree on Gillies B&B offers you large, luxurious motel-style rooms set on 10 acres of tranquil gardens. All rooms have open fireplaces, en-suites with double spa baths, comfortable king or queen-sized beds, private entrances and outdoor sitting areas. Choose from one of our beautifully decorated rooms – African Elegance, Moroccan Romance, Egyptian Seduction and Australian Charm. We bring a delicious home cooked breakfast to your room each morning, and service your room each day. We speak German and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gumtree on Gillies Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing