We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh food”
Review of Whistle Stop Cafe

Whistle Stop Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Whistle Stop Cafe Yungaburra provide fantastic food prepared in-house using quality ingredients. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service, wonderful coffee, consistency of our products and strive to make everyone feel like part of the Whistle Stop family.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Food is made in the premises and is fresh and tasty. Staff are helpful and the atmosphere terrific for the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian5849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    85
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the greatest cafe in town”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I dropped in for a quick lunch when going back to Cairns for the weekend. The place looked quite busy and so I thought it must be rather popular! Popular for badly cooked food or possibly because it was the only place to have lunch that day, as I was told by one of the locals.

First off, I got very surprised by the little girl working at the counter, trying to take orders while the other two women were running around the kitchen cooking and making drinks. She didn't seem to be familiar with the menu nor with its prices when dealing with me but not that much of a big deal as I only wanted a sandwich and a small coffee.

I was hoping to read my book somewhere on the corner but none of the tables looked clean nor were set up for the next guest and so I picked a table outside but, again, it was rather messy. 30 minutes later, my meal arrived. It was quite a big serving, but I found the sandwich to be disappointingly bland, with hardly any seasoning, no fresh herbs (other than on the bread itself), no flavor in the eggplant and hardly any pesto. Maybe instead of serving two massive pieces of bread, one properly grilled sandwich with small mixed green salad or arugula on the side could be a better idea?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Super home cooking, friendly staff and lovely setting. Would recommend this place.will definitely come here again if I'm in Yungaburra.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Not_Mr_Medici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stop in here regularly when in the area or passing through. A real rustic feel about the place with a great garden outdoor area. They are very friendly, sometimes ridiculously friendly - no one should be that happy, LOL. Every time is a fantastic experience. The food is excellent, whether breakfast or lunch, or just cake & coffee in the afternoon. Love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pantherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply a great breakfast”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we stayed at Yungaburra for a couple of days and had breakfast here twice , the staff were charming ,the setting outside ,quirky but nice and the food was fantastic. We just loved the place. A great start to the day.
Garry and Karen Taylor, Nuneaton , UK

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistle Stop Cafe also viewed

Yungaburra, Queensland
Yungaburra, Queensland
 
Yungaburra, Queensland
Yungaburra, Queensland
 

Been to Whistle Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing