We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and lodgings...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yungaburra Pub

Yungaburra Pub
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Yungaburra
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Whether you're in need of some comfortable and affordable accommodation, a hearty meal at a traditional Australian Pub, a unique function venue, or information about the great events and attractions we have here, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food and lodgings...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The accom is basic, very good value for money for one night or just to sleep. The hot water took ages to get to the room.....staff not terribly interested....food good but nothing to rave about...however, it is a lovely old pub with huge charm. Certainly worth a meal and a visit if you are going past......

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    36
    22
    2
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gilgandra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

husband ordered food.
everything appeared to be deep fried, overdone a bit,
my soup and roll-tasted like a bit burnt and roll dry, hard and cold
Waited for sweets then waitress said i didn't order them. no apologyl just asked did we want to order them, we said no
Appears the other review must have been dead right.
I think they need not just a revamp they appear to be doing for the pub, but there appears to be something wrong in with the kitchen and the ordering process. take this from a cook with experience and travelled extensively and ate out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank renojen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bad management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful town with a grand hotel.... Well, scrap the grand hotel comment. This tired old hotel is screaming for a little TLC. However, after having the misfortunate of eating there Sunday night, was quite obvious new manager couldn't give a stuff about anything other than propping up the bar & flapping her mouth!!!! The food was un-forgivable! Old tired veggies and a burnt offering of cardboard (apparently chicken!) was returned to kitchen for another immediately!
Dirty, mis-matched tablecloths, 70's pop music in background must have been stuck on replay!, although a fire was there, wasnt bug enough for the freezing cold, huge area dedicated for dining which felt like an old nursing home or bingo hall. Dust gathered on un-used tables and pianos.
The poor waitress ( who i might add was very busy) as she seemed to have to do the work of all. We were asked if we could tell her when we were ready for dessert because the kitchen wouldn't remember! lol.
Place was empty, no locals in sight.
How sad. Bring in new management and a qualified cook/chef, CLEAN and just maybe you will save this old girl.......

Helpful?
2 Thank Della B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gone seriously down hill since new manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I live in Yungaburra, and WAS very proud of this old, historic pub! Would always take visitors there for a $15 steak, great taste and service, now, $25 for a thin piece of tasteless rubber. I was SO embarrassed. My friend asked for his steak "blue", it came as medium, so he ate some of it, as he didn't want to complain, so when the waitress came over and seen it only half eaten, she asked why, so he told her, all he got was "oh well", picked up his plate and left. They are cutting back on stuff they shouldn't, buying cheap meat, and a "get them in, get them out" policy will not work in a local pub! Won't be going there again! Such a shame!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Markybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pub with all the bells and whistles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

What an amazing historical place. Great service, great food and really cold beer wasn't even half way through my beer and dinner was served with big smiles from the friendly staff. With a serve of food that would kill any apatite at a good wholesome price. Highly recommend for a cold beer some history and a top meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Madfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yungaburra Pub also viewed

 
Yungaburra, Queensland
Yungaburra, Queensland
 

Been to Yungaburra Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing