We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Rainforest Stay for Birdwatchers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

These self catering cottages are surrounded by rainforest, close to Lake Eacham and not far from Yungaburra. They are very clean, well maintained, comfortable and charming. There is bedroom and seperate living area with a good workable kitchen with full stove/oven and refrigerator. There is also a bbq on the covered verandah. There is also an immaculately clean small laundry for guest use on the premises. We chose the location as a base for three days of birdwatching trips. A number of the species we were hoping to see were in fact resident in the gardens surrounding the cottages which was wonderful. Close up views of the male riflebird as it tried to steal my partners breakfast were a highlight. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. For example, there is no mobile phone coverage at the cottages so John and Jenny cheerfully allowed us to use their landline to confirm a booking with a guide. We would happily have stayed longer in this magical spot and highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We chanced upon Crater Lakes by accident. We had two spare nights in Cairns and wanted to experience life in a rainforest.

Previous reviews have highlighted the bird and animal life, nearby attractions and friendly hosts, I agree wholeheartedly. Every little detail has been carefully planned and executed. From the welcome breakfast hamper, decanter of port on the table, chocolates, wood-burning stove and spa-bath, it was pure heaven. Although I am sure it must be difficult to maintain a property in rainforest conditions, this was not the case here. The cottage was pristine and well maintained, with very clever use of vintage items, to add to the atmosphere.

Although there are a few cottages, each cottage is situated to maximise privacy, to allow each resident to experience the wonderful life contained in the rainforest.

Only wish we could have stayed longer. It will stand out as one of the highlights of our trip to Australia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishaOBrien345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Pioneer cottage..and what a wonderful spot! the four cottages are nestled in the rainforest in teh Crater Lakes Park. Evening barbeques for dinner worked out fine (great steaks from the local butcher in Yungaburra). Amzing bird life...some spectacular spiders (well...by English standards). The first night 'hamper' was a great start for the next morning.

Local interest was teh various strangler fig trees / Hypipimee crater / and platypus watching in the stream in Yungaburra... we were spoiled by a very coopertative little platypus!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at Crater Lakes for 3 nights in late June/ early July. We were absolutely blown away by everything about the place. Spectacular location right in the middle of beautiful rainforest, abundant wildlife, excellent facilities. The service we received from our hosts was top notch and they are very friendly people. The cottages have everything you need and the little extras like fresh flowers, breakfast hamper and port were much appreciated. We can't wait to return to our now favorite holiday destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the 'Bali' Cabin....huge bed and sumptuous bathroom and a verandah where the Victoria Rifle Birds could be tempted down by banana and give us the most amazing display....it was gloriously quiet....just the Spotted Catbirds calling at night in the forest....while sitting quietly by the pool in the garden we saw many many birds come to drink....a particular interest since my husband is a birdwatcher...Hastie's Swamp is particularly recommended for any birdwatchers....a big beautifully kept hide overlooking a large lake where there were Magpie Geese, Plumed Whistling Ducks, many Forest Kingfishers and Cranes feeding on the field opposite..... the 'breakfast hamper' provided was a great boon... particularly since we arrived in the dark and used some of it to make an evening meal so we didn't have to go out again that evening.... the little supermarket in Yungaburra (4 miles away) has a really good stock of food to make good meals in your cabin....whose kitchen is well supplied with everything you will need....VERY comfortable bed and huge spa bath were welcome after a day's exploring.

If you want a private, romantic hideaway somewhere spectacular.... this is the one...

particularly recommend the cream tea at Lake Barrine... warm scones just out of the oven and the best tea I have drunk anywhere....and walking the circular walk at Peterson's Creek in Yungaburra where if you are still and quiet you have a good chance of seeing a Platypus... as we did....have an orange and lemon fresh juice at the Whistle Stop Cafe....yummy and a delightfully whacky and hippy place to rest awhile...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was to be a retreat for my wife as she is an avid birdwatcher and the time of year is critical for when you come here.
The setting is idyllic set in the middle of a rainforest as if is you were light years from civilisation.
What you would hope for but rarely see is the rifle bird in your own cottage's vicinity doing its "thing"
I had never seen one but had read about them and had very little idea of how special it is/was.
You must be incredibly patient as there is no gurantee that you will actually see the rifle bird or see it display.
I have less patience so I was sitting inside reading a book in a wonderful room while Lynn sat outside eyes focussed.
Amazingly a rifle bird came within my line of vision, sat on the outside verandah but to the left of Lynn so that she could not see it.
It started doing the most amazing display; everything Lynn had described was right in front of me but my dilemma was how to tell Lynn without disturbing the rifle bird.
Fortunately I did sneak over and get her attention and we both sat back in awe.
I could not believe how wonderful it was but it kept doing it for hours.
It was an inspiration sight and worth travelling from anywhere to see such a ritual.

Room Tip: Check with John and Jenny as to the best times of the year
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Four of us stayed in the Pioneer cottage and really enjoyed being in beautifully decorated wooden cottage in the middle of the rainforest. Two nights here is recommended at least as there's lots to explore in the area - recommend waterfall circuit, hitting Mungalli Creek Dairy for lunch and cheese platter. The owners were very kind and helpful. Heading back toward Cairns, also highly recommend a tour from owner, Bruno Maloberti, at North Queensland Gold Coffee plantation - so personable, just wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
3.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
243 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
3.6 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Wallaby Lodge
On the Wallaby Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yungaburra
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Address: 17 Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: £112 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages in world heritage rainforest next to Lake Eacham far north Queensland 1 hours drive from Cairns international airport, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing