We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages at the end of Febuary and had a really great time. There were signs on all the roads leading into Lake Eacham, so finding the place was easy. You really do feel like you are the only ones in the rainforest, and the fully equipped kitchen means you don't really need to leave. We had the option of using the airconditioning but found the ceiling fan was all we needed. I imagine it would be different in the middle of winter, but that's when the fireplace will come in handy. Our cottage was clean and tidy. I don't often given five stars to the places I stay, but I honestly can't give less in this case. Thanks John and Jenny for providing a relaxing and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsgo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a relaxing getaway in Lake Eacham thanks to the wonderful setup and beautifully furnished Pioneer Cottage at Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages. A huge breakfast hamper, spa bath, and king bed made the stay even nicer. We loved waking up to the sounds of the birds in the rainforest. The cottage was decorated with interesting artefacts which fit with the Pioneer theme. The hosts were very welcoming and were able to give us advice on the surrounding areas. We will be back, most likely in winter to make use of the fireplace!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

From the moment we arrived Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages exceeded our expectations, the breakfast hamper was very generous, the cottage had to be the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed at, the peace and quiet was absolute bliss to be in the rainforest surrounded by birds and other wildlife made the atmosphere something we will never forget. The amenities are of a very high standard nothing has been over looked it was the little things that made such a huge difference the kitchen is well stocked with condiments, bubble bath for the spa, candles and a generous decanter of port are all included. It is well situated if you want to go out and about or just sit back and enjoy the surroundings, pure relaxation and serenity. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Bali cottage is set slightly apart from the other 3 cottages for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We recently spent two days of our honeymoon here and highly recommend it. There are five cottages, each with a different theme. We cannot comment on the other cottages but the one we stayed in which was called the Pioneer cottage was excellent. It was immaculately clean with separate bedroom, bathroom and kitchen/lounge room. There were fresh roses in every room and the 'pioneer' theme included bits of rusted corregated iron on walls and genuine ancient artefacts throughout the cottage. The cottage was set within the rainforest and leaving some fruit out (which the owners had given us) attracted such wildlife as pademelons, rat kangaroos, bush turkeys and various brightly coloured birds. There is an open communal BBQ area with comfortable seating and a small stream and pond which also attracted various colourful birds. Indeed we breakfasted with the birds daily. Inside the cottage are books on the local area, and it's wildlife. There are also DVDs (free) available of either movies or wildlife documentaries. We had a truly magical experience there and thought it was well worth the price.

Room Tip: The Pioneer cottage is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myrnapowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed in the cabin that has the canopy (picture). It was very romantic with a real fire place. There is a heating pad on the bed. We enjoyed the complimentary sherry. The breakfast basket was the best that we had in Australia, we had cookies, bread, butter, bacon, sausages, egg, fresh fruit (apple, orange, grape)!!! So obviously we enjoyed our breakfast at our cottage. We cut up our fruit into a mixed salad and put it out for the birds who are a bit territorial. They loved it! They came to bathe and eat! We also gave some of our bread to a pademelon and a little marsupial rat. It was great fun -- we are city rats :-) We did not get to use the big whirlpool tub which would have been romantic. Kitchen is well stocked and there is a lovely little pond full of frogs and birdlife a stone's throw from the cottage with a covered veranda and there are several gas grills. We really wanted to cook or grill at our cottage however food works down the road only has frozen meat, so you should consider that. Apparently wine can be had at the town pub. We ended up having dinner at Nick's which was recommended to us by a local and very good. Owner - perhaps you might consider stocking the room with wine and a price list and an envelope?! Just a thought, I saw this at another ecolodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay...45 minutes from Cairns and close to several attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We spent three days here and wished we'd booked more. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing and very well appointed place to stay where you can view the local animals, birds and plants at close hand this is ideal. We stayed in the beach hut cottage. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay and has its own quirky personality as well. Some fascinating local sites and magnificent scenery are within easy reach. As an added bonus the night skies are really dark. A night trip to the lake gives a magnificent view of the stars. John and Jenny are exactly the sort of friendly and helpful folk you would want as hosts. I don't think you will find better accommodation in the area.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Crater Lakes Rainforest Lodge and it was a highlight of our trip. The setting is amazing, surrounded by rainforest and only minutes away from beautiful Lake Eacham and Lake Barrine. The owners went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. The theme cottages are gorgeous (we stayed in the Bali cottage), each tucked away in a patch of rainforest for complete privacy. The wildlife was amazing! Each morning we has breakfast on the balcony and all sorts of birds came really close, one even taking grapes from my hand. Wallabies and musky rat kangaroos were seen daily right outside. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: The Bali cottage is located at the end of the shared drive, so does not get other guests driving pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
3.5 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
242 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
156 reviews
3.6 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
9.4 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Address: 17 Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: £111 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages in world heritage rainforest next to Lake Eacham far north Queensland 1 hours drive from Cairns international airport, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing