We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
130
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspioneer cottagerifle birdsbali cottagebreakfast hamperlake eachammeal wormshuge breakfastbird lifebeach hutweber bbqfirst morninglocal wildlifebeautiful lakehosts johnamazing birdsthemed cottagefly home
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For a really realaxing break these cottages are ideal eached themed differently, I stayed in the Bali themed cottage, which has a self contained kitchen and lounge room with a small combustion wood heater which would be great on cool evenings. The bed is very comfortable and the shower over the spa is a bit easier to use then an overbath shower. There is a nice walk to the lake and Youngunburra is short drive away. I was able to do yoga in the little cabana near the pond and was delighted with the birds and potoaroos grazing on the lawn. It was easy to relax on the vernda with a coffee or wine and watch native marsupials come down to eat off the handrails at night to be replaced by birds during the day. A BBQ on the verandah provides an opportunity for outdoor cooking. This retreat is great for those wanting peace and quiete with native animals and rainforrest outlook. Very helpful and frienly service.

Room Tip: Choose the theme that you like, colonial, Bali and one other, all are private
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygirlcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages at the end of Febuary and had a really great time. There were signs on all the roads leading into Lake Eacham, so finding the place was easy. You really do feel like you are the only ones in the rainforest, and the fully equipped kitchen means you don't really need to leave. We had the option of using the airconditioning but found the ceiling fan was all we needed. I imagine it would be different in the middle of winter, but that's when the fireplace will come in handy. Our cottage was clean and tidy. I don't often given five stars to the places I stay, but I honestly can't give less in this case. Thanks John and Jenny for providing a relaxing and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsgo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a relaxing getaway in Lake Eacham thanks to the wonderful setup and beautifully furnished Pioneer Cottage at Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages. A huge breakfast hamper, spa bath, and king bed made the stay even nicer. We loved waking up to the sounds of the birds in the rainforest. The cottage was decorated with interesting artefacts which fit with the Pioneer theme. The hosts were very welcoming and were able to give us advice on the surrounding areas. We will be back, most likely in winter to make use of the fireplace!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

From the moment we arrived Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages exceeded our expectations, the breakfast hamper was very generous, the cottage had to be the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed at, the peace and quiet was absolute bliss to be in the rainforest surrounded by birds and other wildlife made the atmosphere something we will never forget. The amenities are of a very high standard nothing has been over looked it was the little things that made such a huge difference the kitchen is well stocked with condiments, bubble bath for the spa, candles and a generous decanter of port are all included. It is well situated if you want to go out and about or just sit back and enjoy the surroundings, pure relaxation and serenity. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Bali cottage is set slightly apart from the other 3 cottages for extra privacy
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We recently spent two days of our honeymoon here and highly recommend it. There are five cottages, each with a different theme. We cannot comment on the other cottages but the one we stayed in which was called the Pioneer cottage was excellent. It was immaculately clean with separate bedroom, bathroom and kitchen/lounge room. There were fresh roses in every room and the 'pioneer' theme included bits of rusted corregated iron on walls and genuine ancient artefacts throughout the cottage. The cottage was set within the rainforest and leaving some fruit out (which the owners had given us) attracted such wildlife as pademelons, rat kangaroos, bush turkeys and various brightly coloured birds. There is an open communal BBQ area with comfortable seating and a small stream and pond which also attracted various colourful birds. Indeed we breakfasted with the birds daily. Inside the cottage are books on the local area, and it's wildlife. There are also DVDs (free) available of either movies or wildlife documentaries. We had a truly magical experience there and thought it was well worth the price.

Room Tip: The Pioneer cottage is unique.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myrnapowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews