We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Kookaburra Lodge Motel(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House Retreat(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Summit Hideaway(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malanda Lodge Motel(Malanda)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atherton Motel(Atherton)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curtain Fig Motel(Yungaburra)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
127
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspioneer cottagerifle birdsbali cottagebreakfast hamperlake eachamthe cottagesmeal wormsbeach hutweber bbqhuge breakfastbird lifefirst morninglocal wildlifeyour doorstephosts johnamazing birdsthemed cottage
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

In quite a beautiful setting, the cottage we had (Bali) was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Cheaper than comparable holiday cottages on the Tablelands, with a better location than some, we were very impressed. The managers made us feel very welcome, as did the wildlife of which there is an abundance! Don't hesitate to go here, you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

There are lots of birds and other wildlife around to keep you amused all day.
Victoria's Riflebird, Eastern Spinebill, Macleay's Honeyeater, Bridled Honeyeater, Lewin's Honeyeater, Wompoo Fruit Dove, Emerald Dove, Brush Turkeys, Spotted Catbird, Musky Rat Kangaroo, and Pademelon to name a few.
Great friendly hosts that supply everything for the time there. Even a glass of port to round off the evening very nicely.
Cottages have a private setting in the Rainforest, yet, only a 15 minute drive to Yungaburra to see platypus, restaurants and shops. Substantial breakfast provisions were provided and a Weber for a good BBQ experience.
Now to find the time to come up from Sydney to visit again.

Top Tip :bring a banana and slice it in 2cm slices, so the birds have to eat it in front of you, otherwise they can fly away with it. We saw the Musky Rat Kangaroo wondering around with a piece of banana about 10 minutes after picking it up from a bird that dropped it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wunala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

After many years of caravanning, we have started staying in hotels, motels and B&B's on our holidays. Until now we had not found anywhere that compared to being in our own caravan, however the Bali cottage changed that. It is a truly magic place, so beautifully set up and maintained and in such a wonderful relaxing location. The cottages must be pretty well insulated, because, despite the cold nights, we did not need to light the combustion stove or put the air conditioning on at all during our 3 night stay - the 27 degree days allowed the cottage to warm nicely and stay comfortable through the 10 degree nights, despite the large glass areas.
The cottage was impeccably clean, as were all the cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. Loads of extras were supplied from spa gel to a decanter of port. All amenities including flat screen tv, DVD player and stereo hifi system all in good working order.
Although there is no mobile phone service in the area, there is wifi around reception, and you can get Telstra mobile around Lake Eacham day area.
Couple the great place to stay with the excellent dining available in Yungaburra and the fantastic scenery in the area, you get all the ingredients of a perfect holiday. Thanks Jenny & John for a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I spent a truly relaxing 5 days in the Bali Cottage and had the most fantastic week. The units are very private and secluded and the glass doors and large balcony all face into the rainforest and you get the feeling that you are a long way from nowhere. The units are very comfortable and have everything you need. The birds and wildlife were very friendly and the wild birds will take food out of you hands. We were there in winter and the fireplace was all that was needed to make the cottage very warm and comfortable. The cottages are located close to all of the key attractions with Lake Eacham, Lake Barrine, Tinaroo Dam, Malanda, Yungaburra, Atherton, ect all within a 20 minute drive. The owners (John and Jenny) were very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone wanting to escape the rat race and spend relaxing time in the heart of a spectacular region.

Room Tip: The Bali Cottage is the last unit and there is no person or vehicle traffic near or past this cottage.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron and Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Unfortunately we could only book a Friday night as the weekend was fully booked and I can see why. What a beautiful rainforest cottage we had. The attention to detail in the cottage was spot on, the breakfast basket was full of good food and a decanter of port on the table. If you want to see rainforest wildlife then this is the place to stay, Victorian riflebird displaying on the verandah. We will definitely return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews