We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great combination of service, meals & comfy room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eden House Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A great combination of service, meals & comfy room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We loved our stay here. The historical country town Yungaburra is lovely with great access to many natural wonders.
The rooms were spacious, very comfortable & had a modern fit out with spa.
The restaurant is the highlight, it is a grand environment combining heritage design & tropical gardens. The new team inject such a positive energy, innovative menu, locally inspired cocktails & we were lucky enough to catch live music on a Sunday. A real highlight on our trip in North Queensland!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnMands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    22
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

interested in the positive reviews. We were upgraded to a spa suite. Good things: very positive reception. Walk to the pub for dinner. quiet, good shower, clean, spacious rooms. Not so good things: tiny old fashioned TV, couldn't see from bed. Dated decor (vertical blinds, old fashioned furniture) atrium constructed from concrete blocks, no view. Trip hazard - the bed is little step up (why?) Breakfast basket had no fresh fruit. Dark gravel pathways to cottage makes it difficult to roll your trolley, more lighting would make it less creepy! Spa was up for sale, restaurant closed, wonder how much longer before the whole establishment goes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3355Susan, Owner at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate guests taking the time to view their experience. The Spa Cottage you stayed in is designed to have a little more of the 'old world feel/charm about it whereas our Luxury Spa Villas have a more contemporary decore.

Our restaurant has been closed for the past 12 months due to a family tragedy but we are delighted to announce that it will be reopening in January 2013 under the loving care of our daughter Tiffany and her amazing team. We are very excited about this !!

The Day Spa is still fully operational and offering our full comprehensive list of world class treatments, both therapeutic and relaxation.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here in august for the 2nd time and loved it twice as much as the first time we stayed. The rooms are lovely and very well maintained the spa baths are enormous and it feels so private. The Breakfast baskets in the rooms are lovely. We timed our visit to go to the Yungaburra markets the next day and it was just fanstatic they were happy to let us leave our car there for the day. I'm looking forward to the restaurant re-opening We will be there a lot more regularly when it does.

Room Tip: go the villas or cottages they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3355Susan, Owner at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for your comments. Eden House is now celebrating its 15th year of operation and is still under the ownership/management of the same family. You will be delighted to hear that the restaurant will be re-opening in January 2013 with the return of our daughter Tiffany who has an amazing team of young and vibrant staff to recreate the wonderful dining experience Eden House was so well known for. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Eden House. The first time was a couple of years ago with my boyfriend & this time is on my own for a work trip. The quality/standard of accommodation has not declined. The Spa Villas are large, delightful, cosy, clean & quite romantic. We like to stay here in the cooler months of year as the Villas are designed to keep u warm & comfortable. Eden House has a lovely restaurant, however it is closed on Monday nights. Not to worry as ther are other special upmarket restaurants in town such as Flynns Restaurant. Eden House also has a spa retreat available if you want to relax. The service is great & there is parking Onsite. Be aware that where you park is on loose stones. Makes it a little difficult if u have heavy luggage. Other than that, Eden House is a very special, unique place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalteseBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

we stayed here last minute (myself, mum, husband and 3 week old baby) and were treated very well by the staff- they moved us around to have 2 rooms next door and so had an upgraded room at the cheaper room price. they had a travel cot with linen ready and clean which was also at no charge. the villas were spacious, clean and well stocked with comfy living areas so was great to stay when it rained. brilliant location to the beautiful heritage village of yungaburra- try and be there for their monthly market and visit the awesome cafe down the road (whistle-stop cafe). we didnt try the spa but the building looks nice. the restaurant was closed when we were there but on previous visits the menu looked good and the area itself appealing

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angienilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Eden House is set in a quiet sleepy town on the Atherton Tablelands. We stayed in February 2012 and had hoped being on the Tablelands the weather would be cooler. Unfortunately still in the grip of summer, no problem - as the room had a very efficient air conditioner and fan. The large room was ideal with the bed and bathroom set up a step with plenty of cupboard space. The bathroom was huge with an enormous shower area! The rest of the room had a comfortable couch, table and chairs for the two of us to enjoy breakfast and a kitchenette, which had all you would need. The breakfast in the room was more than adequate. The staff were delightful and if you had the time to indulge you could have any number of beauty treatments in their day spa. I would definitely recommend this place for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are set in the quiet tropical gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed and attended Our Son's wedding on the 3rd September 2011, the accomodation
was fine, and the Wedding was well planned and went well, however We have heard
nothing but complaints from Guest who paid for a full breakfast only to received very
little for their money, all said they felt ripped off, which is such a shame as these People
will not speak highly of Eden House, also we felt very embarrassed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.0 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
3.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
0.1 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House Retreat

Property: Eden House Retreat
Address: 20 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly Eden House Retreat and Mountain Spa)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden House Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House Retreat offers secluded, luxury accommodation in the heart of historic Yungaburra Village. It is the ideal retreat to relax and indulge. Escape to Eden House Retreat- it's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eden House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Retreat And Mountain
Eden Resort Retreat And Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing