We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight stay”
Review of Eden House Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eden House Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a relaxing overnight stay in a luxury spa villa ... we arrived quite late (about 7pm) and reception had closed but all the information was laid out for us and it was easy to find the room and get settled in. This was our first stay at Eden House, and while I do still love the treehouse/cabin experience you can get at other properties this didn't disappoint. Spacious + modern room, lovely deep & warm spa, comfortable bed. Everything was clean & well appointed and it was nice to be right in the heart of Yungaburra which is by far my favourite village on The Tablelands.

We had dinner at the restaurant and were not disappointed. Prices were reasonable, especially for the quantity and quality of food. We thought it was great value with two entrees, two mains, shared dessert, five or six cocktails & a beer or two coming in at just under $200. The food was all really fresh and tasty. The staff were really friendly and attentive. Bit disappointed we weren't there for longer - next time will try to time it to go to the markets & stay long enough to enjoy the Sunday afternoon live music & tapas at the restaurant!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1. Private & comfortable. If you're not into spas you may find this partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chels82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at Eden House for two nights in late January 2013. We did not consider that the weather would be poor when we booked but it worked out perfectly as we spent our first day enjoying treatments in the Eden House treatment room (hydro bath, 1 hour massage, and facial), It was absolutely devine and the therapists were very accommodating and knowledgeable.

On our second day, we left the lights on in our car and the battery went flat. My partner spoke with the receptionist whom quickly drove her car next to ours and jump started us and in the rain mind you. Overall, the experience was amazing, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We loved our stay here. The historical country town Yungaburra is lovely with great access to many natural wonders.
The rooms were spacious, very comfortable & had a modern fit out with spa.
The restaurant is the highlight, it is a grand environment combining heritage design & tropical gardens. The new team inject such a positive energy, innovative menu, locally inspired cocktails & we were lucky enough to catch live music on a Sunday. A real highlight on our trip in North Queensland!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisnMands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

interested in the positive reviews. We were upgraded to a spa suite. Good things: very positive reception. Walk to the pub for dinner. quiet, good shower, clean, spacious rooms. Not so good things: tiny old fashioned TV, couldn't see from bed. Dated decor (vertical blinds, old fashioned furniture) atrium constructed from concrete blocks, no view. Trip hazard - the bed is little step up (why?) Breakfast basket had no fresh fruit. Dark gravel pathways to cottage makes it difficult to roll your trolley, more lighting would make it less creepy! Spa was up for sale, restaurant closed, wonder how much longer before the whole establishment goes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3355Susan, Owner at Eden House Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate guests taking the time to view their experience. The Spa Cottage you stayed in is designed to have a little more of the 'old world feel/charm about it whereas our Luxury Spa Villas have a more contemporary decore.

Our restaurant has been closed for the past 12 months due to a family tragedy but we are delighted to announce that it will be reopening in January 2013 under the loving care of our daughter Tiffany and her amazing team. We are very excited about this !!

The Day Spa is still fully operational and offering our full comprehensive list of world class treatments, both therapeutic and relaxation.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here in august for the 2nd time and loved it twice as much as the first time we stayed. The rooms are lovely and very well maintained the spa baths are enormous and it feels so private. The Breakfast baskets in the rooms are lovely. We timed our visit to go to the Yungaburra markets the next day and it was just fanstatic they were happy to let us leave our car there for the day. I'm looking forward to the restaurant re-opening We will be there a lot more regularly when it does.

Room Tip: go the villas or cottages they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lexif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3355Susan, Owner at Eden House Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you for your comments. Eden House is now celebrating its 15th year of operation and is still under the ownership/management of the same family. You will be delighted to hear that the restaurant will be re-opening in January 2013 with the return of our daughter Tiffany who has an amazing team of young and vibrant staff to recreate the wonderful dining experience Eden House was so well known for. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Eden House. The first time was a couple of years ago with my boyfriend & this time is on my own for a work trip. The quality/standard of accommodation has not declined. The Spa Villas are large, delightful, cosy, clean & quite romantic. We like to stay here in the cooler months of year as the Villas are designed to keep u warm & comfortable. Eden House has a lovely restaurant, however it is closed on Monday nights. Not to worry as ther are other special upmarket restaurants in town such as Flynns Restaurant. Eden House also has a spa retreat available if you want to relax. The service is great & there is parking Onsite. Be aware that where you park is on loose stones. Makes it a little difficult if u have heavy luggage. Other than that, Eden House is a very special, unique place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalteseBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

we stayed here last minute (myself, mum, husband and 3 week old baby) and were treated very well by the staff- they moved us around to have 2 rooms next door and so had an upgraded room at the cheaper room price. they had a travel cot with linen ready and clean which was also at no charge. the villas were spacious, clean and well stocked with comfy living areas so was great to stay when it rained. brilliant location to the beautiful heritage village of yungaburra- try and be there for their monthly market and visit the awesome cafe down the road (whistle-stop cafe). we didnt try the spa but the building looks nice. the restaurant was closed when we were there but on previous visits the menu looked good and the area itself appealing

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angienilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.2 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malanda Lodge Motel
Malanda Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Malanda
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House Retreat

Address: 20 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly Eden House Retreat and Mountain Spa)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range: £70 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden House Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House Retreat offers secluded, luxury accommodation in the heart of historic Yungaburra Village. It is the ideal retreat to relax and indulge. Escape to Eden House Retreat- it's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Eden House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Retreat And Mountain
Eden Resort Retreat And Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing