We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - I can't believe it's closed! :(”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eden House Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful - I can't believe it's closed! :(”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Can't comment on the spa but I've had dinner here twice and both times the food was delicious, service great. Head and shoulders above anything else on the tablelands, which makes it sadder still that this place has closed its doors - no doubt due to lack of support. People on the tablelands enjoy your bloody pub meals as it's just about all you've got left.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3355Susan, Owner at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Many thanks for your complimentary comments on our restaurant and we too are sorry it has closed.
Hopefully the restaurant will re-open in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    22
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the luxury villa. It was very clean and modern. The room was a good size and very comfortable. But overall the resort was less than expected. The brochure talks of award winning gardens, open fire a bar and restaurant. The gardens are the walkways to the rooms, and yes, they are really pretty and full of flowers, just not a garden that you could sit in, but, in fairness, the brochure does not say you can. The open fire is electric, and the bar and restaurant are closed at present.
Overall, this is a very central, nice, clean accommodation, the people running it are lovely.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3355Susan, Owner at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We very much appreciate your feedback. Our gardens so receive wonderful comments from guests and passers by and for many years won the local Council garden competition. Its design is tropical and to create a feeling of relaxation.
Our fire places are now all electrical log fire look which give the same ambience as a live log fire but without the hassle of fire lighting, smoke and of course they are 'instant' in heating. Most clients find them amazing.
Unfortunately our restaurant is currently closed and we do apologise for any inconvenience to our guests. Fortunately there are several excellent restaurants within a couple of minutes walk from Eden House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We love Eden House. My goodness, from the absolutely friendly service to the wonderfully romantic setting I was stoked that we decided to stay. The room was beautifully set up and more spacious than I expected. The bathroom is massive and the double spa bath was delightful. We stayed in a luxury spa villa which included breakfast (a few goodies in the fridge) and we were right at the back of the retreat which felt like a million miles from anyone. I could go on but you should find out for yourself. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for villa 1 when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3355Susan, Owner at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
thank you for your complimentary comments.
It is our aim to provide wonderful accommodation, friendly and efficient service and like nothing more than to have our guests return again and again. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident, as there was some fair on in the area which had booked out most of the accommodation for the region. We were recommended to head to Yungaburra from Atherton - which is only a 10 min drive - and were pleasantly surprised when we came across this place. Eden House Retreat and Mountain Spa is a very welcoming place, and is all that you could wish for in a retreat. You definitely feel as if you have left all of your modern day worries at home, and the peace and serenity of the place is so relaxing. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is travelling or wishes to travel in the area. The hosts were very accommodating, especially since we arrived unexpectedly after hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahara007san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I really believe that the truly wonderful people of the world hide in the most out of the way places. Yungaburra is such a place. From the Eden house retreat at villa that we stayed in, to the wonderful food we tasted in their restaurant, everything was fantastic. A beautiful, quiet place to stay and lovely gardens surrounding. A family run business, you can see the passion behind the place and the care they give to everyone that crosses their path.
Our villa was simple, yet quiet and private and everything we needed. The dinner in the restaurant was superb and the staff there are amazing and very engaging. Thank you Tess, for talking us into dining with you!
Thank you to Tiffany and Susan, for allowing us to spend time with you in the morning for a coffee and a chat.
Highly recommend taking the time to go down to the Avenue of Honour at Lake Tinaroo, only a short drive away. The efforts that have gone into this have been nothing short of amazing!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be perfectly located for privacy and peace. Very comfortable and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went here for my daughters 15th birthday she has a brain tumor and has been through a lot. These girls couldn't do enough for us, the spa treatments were amazing and we had a beautiful tea in the restaurant for her birthday. The accommodation was clean and beautiful breakfast supplied and rooms serviced every day. The area was perfect only a short drive everywhere. We loved everything about it and will be back many more times and will be letting all our friends know.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A local told me that Yungaburra is the best place in the Tablelands. Eden House is a really, really nice place to stay in town. It's a quick drive to Atherton and Malanda. The retreat itself is very nice. I stayed in a one bedroom spa villa and it had everything I needed: a table, couch, kitchen facilities, comfortable bed and a great bathroom. When you stay here you get a pack in the frdge with breakfast goodies - coffee, toast, spreads, cereal, yoghurt - very thoughtful. Definitely will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.0 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
3.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
6.1 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House Retreat

Property: Eden House Retreat
Address: 20 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly Eden House Retreat and Mountain Spa)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden House Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House Retreat offers secluded, luxury accommodation in the heart of historic Yungaburra Village. It is the ideal retreat to relax and indulge. Escape to Eden House Retreat- it's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eden House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Retreat And Mountain
Eden Resort Retreat And Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing