We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want ambience ,service and food equal to anywhere in the world, put Eden House at the top of your to visit list.”
Review of Eden House Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eden House Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want ambience ,service and food equal to anywhere in the world, put Eden House at the top of your to visit list.”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Eden House has a lovely anbience in a beautiful setting. The villas are beautifully appointed with a feeling that you are the only ones there. The food is fresh and stronly showcases the areas foodbowl, equivalent to the best you could find anywhere in the world, the staff were friendly, knowlegable and efficient. Wow what a find.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    23
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
100
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

My fiancee and I stayed here over a recent long weekend, and while the property itself was comfortable and pleasant, we will not return because of a sour taste left in our mouths by the attitude of the assistant manager, Susan.

On a recommendation from a workmate, and based on the reviews here, we booked our weekend's accommodation here. I booked through their website and at the time of booking, I noted the 'room and breakfast' rate was the same as the rate which also included a massage each and a dinner at their restaurant. Naturally I booked this package, thinking it was probably a special deal at the time, and received email confirmation of this price with its inclusions.

The next day however I received a telephone call from Susan who rang to inform me that the rate I had booked was not available and there had been an error on the website. She did not apologise for any confusion (and instead had a curt tone which almost insinuated I had deliberately tried to rip them off!) and offered to sell me a similar package (with less inclusions than the initial booking had offered), and for $200 more - naturally I declined. My first inclination was to stick to my guns, given I had written confirmation of the deal and the price, or withdraw my booking and stay elsewhere on principle, however conscience got the better of me and I decided to 'do the right thing'. We decided instead to support the local small business and changed our booking to B&B only at the correct rate. We tried to book a simultaneous massage for the two of us on the Saturday afternoon, but unfortunately this was not available as Susan explained theirs is only a small spa. We had no problem with this and decided not to arrange any massage sessions.

A week before we arrived, Susan was kind enough to send through an email to see if we wanted to make any bookings for dinner or massages, given it was anticipated to be a busy weekend. This was appreciated and we booked dinner, but no massages.

My fiancee injured her back in the days leading up to our weekend away, so after the drive from Townsville she was feeling quite sore. When we arrived, we explained this to Susan and asked if there might be any available bookings for her to have a last-minute massage. To this, Susan replied "You people make me so angry when you do this! This is why I asked you to book ahead!". We were more than a little taken aback by this response and very nearly walked away, but her back was really very sore so she booked in for a half hour massage. For the record, my fiancee reported the spa was very pleasant, and the masseuse was good.

That night we had dinner at the restaurant - the food was very good, as was the service.

After checking out on the Monday, I received a phone call from Susan to let me know that I had left my iPod cable in the villa. Unfortunately I was out of radio range when she rang and we were already 2 hours away by the time the voicemail came through, so on returning home I contacted Susan to ask if she would post it back to me, and offered to reimburse her for the postage. I was surprised to read in her reply email that she would charge me $10 for postage, when really the post bag and stamp would have cost less than $5. I replied to Susan that I would have thought instead that she would have taken the cable to the post office and charged me for the cost of the satchel and postage. I reminded her of the error on their part with my initial booking and thought perhaps it would be a gesture of goodwill for her to do this.

She did not reply to this email, but a few days later I received my cable with an enclosed credit card docket (using my preauthorised credit card) for $10.25 - that is, $10 for her postage fee, plus 0.25% credit card processing fee!!

I am aware that I may sound petty by squabbling over this small amount, but it is the principle of the matter, not the money itself which has galled me. Susan's general attitude, from her response to their initial mistake with the reservation, to her perfunctory reply to our query regarding massage bookings, and finally the saga of the lost cable reminded us that it doesn't matter how nice your restaurant or rooms are - in the hospitality industry it's the staff that make all the difference.

The place was nice enough, but our experience was soured and when we next return to the region we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spin_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhousegm, General Manager at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
We are very sorry to hear that the reviewer’s experience with one of our team overshadowed what would otherwise have been a very positive review.
I can assure readers that the difficulties encountered by this reviewer are a very isolated incident – indeed we receive a great number of rave reviews on the friendliness of our staff – particularly Susan. I am unable to speculate as to why this reviewer has had a contrasting experience, but would like to offer our sincere apologies that this has marred their stay with us.
An unfortunate part of our industry is that sometimes, despite best intentions, things do not go as planned. We pride ourselves on doing everything we can to rectify the situation if and when things go awry. I am sorry to hear that in this instance, we fell short in our efforts to accommodate our guest’s requirements. This feedback will certainly be used to improve the way we manage these interactions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

If you need somewhere to relax and get away from the everyday grind or to just spoil yourself and your partner this is the apart of the world you most come too. The wonderful people at Eden House will make it feel like a home away from home. The service, food and spa facilities are world class. we can't recommend this retreat enough. Thank you to eden House for such an amazing stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhousegm, General Manager at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Thank you very much for a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsville
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2010

The breakfast was just sensational, the staff were fabulous. We especially wanted to mention how fantastic it was that the staff especially got a banana in for our young son for breakfast. The food for the wedding was to die for. The staff was friendly and helpful which showed from the moment we arrived. Our room had ants and the staff upgraded us which was just wonderful. I would recommend the venue for any funcion espeically weddings and the garden/spa cottages were perfect for our young family. We will be staying at Eden house again in the near future for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamily_of_4_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhousegm, General Manager at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
Thank you very much for the great review! It is always pleasing to hear that our staff continue to 'go the extra mile' - it's such an important part of what we do.
We were very sorry that your stay was 'gatecrashed' by the ants, but appreciate your understanding of our challenges with garden accommodation and tropical, wet season summers! Also glad to hear you enjoyed the upgrade to one of our Spa Cottages - it was our pleasure.
We hope to welcome you back to Eden House again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Eden House is absolutley a delight to visit, particularly if you are wanting to rekindle and bond with someone special, don't forget to treat yourself to the day spar, it was fantasticly relaxing and great start to the evening - life is to short not to experience the retreat of Eden House - Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaKate310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhousegm, General Manager at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 2 January 2010
Thank you to the reviewer for their kind words. We can wholeheartedly recommend the spa, but advise guests to book ahead to ensure we are able to accommodate their treatment. As a small spa, times tend to book out early and it is rare that we have spare therapists available for 'spur of the moment' bookings.
Otherwise, we will do everything we can to make sure your time with us is as relaxing as this reviewer's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2009

From the moment we checked everything about the stay was enjoyable. We were greeted by friendly host Jason, given a map to view platypus and enjoy a leisurely walk around a nearby creek. We had dinner at the restaurant - superb. The rooms were tastefully decorated, very comfortable and the complimentary port was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jps21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhousegm, General Manager at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Thank you for a great review! As was pointed out, there are lots of wonderful, relaxing walks in and around Yungaburra, and our staff are only to happy to point you in the right direction. If you are lucky, you may even see a rare Platypus at Peterson Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockyer Valley
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We would recommend this great place to couples. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help us. Quiet and very private location. Great cottage (no.10) complete with two person spa - clean and spacious. We felt it was close to 5 star. All the little touches like complimentary port, special selection of mini bar options, quality linen, blankets and towels (which were plentiful), air conditioned, comfortable bed, robes and down pillows. Plunger coffee and macadamia cookies in the room instead of the usual instant! We had dinner on the verandah - I had Salmon Tortelli and very tasty Chicken Pie and my husband had Calamari entree and Barrimundi main - sadly couldnt fit desserts in. We both had the Country Breakfast which was great serving size and perfectly cooked, juice and toast and plunger coffee.

Our only suggestion, perhaps a wide tyred trolley to get your luggage along the gravel path to your cottage.' We hope to stay again next time we are in the area, hopefully have time to get some time in the spa. Would be the perfect place to have a small wedding!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMAS4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhousegm, General Manager at Eden House Retreat, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
On behalf of all of our team, thank you very much to the reviewer for sharing their positive experience at Eden House. As always, we are very pleased to hear such positive feedback, and are glad that our attention to the 'little things' has left such a good impression! We hope to welcome you back to Eden House again soon, even if it is a little further from home than would be ideal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yungaburra hotels
0.2 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
129 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#7 of 7 in Yungaburra
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
On the Wallaby Lodge
On the Wallaby Lodge
#1 of 7 in Yungaburra
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House Retreat

Property: Eden House Retreat
Address: 20 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly Eden House Retreat and Mountain Spa)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden House Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House Retreat offers secluded, luxury accommodation in the heart of historic Yungaburra Village. It is the ideal retreat to relax and indulge. Escape to Eden House Retreat- it's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eden House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Retreat And Mountain
Eden Resort Retreat And Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing