We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently stayed in one of the cottages at Mt Quincan crater retreat. It was wonderful in every way. It was peaceful, beautiful, and the cabins are excellently designed for a restful retreat, with just the right amount of luxury. Everything we needed was there. I can't think of anything that could have improved our stay. Kerry and Barb are excellent hosts and have clearly thought hard about getting the balance of attention and privacy right. They succeed. It has my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Some cabins face into the crater (trees) and some face the panoramic view. You might have a prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
212
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Mt Quincan retreat, what a way to spend the weekend. Start with a rainforest hideaway, a double jacuzzi, king size bed, add in great breakfasts, the silence of no children and an abundance of natures wildlife four feet from your balcony. Paradise on the tablelands. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Kamala room is quiet isolated and overlooks the rainforest and crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This would have to be North Queensland's best kept secret, We have stayed at many B & B’s throughout Australia and New Zealand and this would have to be our best B & B experience. Your hosts Kerry and Barb have thought about every little detail from the home baked goodies on arrival to the beautiful do it yourself country breakfast provided in your room. We loved the canopy cabins with the outdoor shower and took full advantage of two great walks around the property. This is a retreat in the true sense of the word and your stay is extremely private, I felt we were on the other side of the world instead of just one and a half hours from home. I can't believe it took us so long to get there but we will definitely be back and would love to make it an annual event.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins with the outdoor showers, what a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A perfect place to relax and recharge. The views are breathtaking and the cabins are secluded, cosy and intimate, it's like being in your own little world. Kerry and Barb thought of everything to make our stay so much more enjoyable. A perfect way to celebrate our anniversary of 23 years. We cannot recommend highly enough in staying here and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric-Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I have travelled around the world and Mt Quincan is still our favourite place to stay. Barb & Kerry are the most wonderful people and the cabins are amazing. Mt Quincan is the most romantic and relaxing place - we got engaged at Mount Quincan and even had the amazing privilege of also getting married there! Our most recent stay was our fourth stay and was to celebrate the news that we are expecting our first child - we discussed other places to go and see but still keep coming back to Mount Quincan - it is worth every cent you and definitely won't regret it!!

Room Tip: All cabins are beautiful, when we got married at Mt Quincan our family stayed in the other cabins an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody_Mogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb K, Owner at Mt Quincan Crater Retreat, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
That is fantastic news Kyle and Jody - congratulations.
We feel very special to have been part of your engagement and wedding celebrations and wish you all the best for the next stage of your family life together.
Barb and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our last visit was around 10 years ago and it is exactly how I remembered.... So relaxing, wonderful views, great breakfasts and so very romantic. We just have to make sure we make the trip up North more often. Would highly recommend to couples wanting an intimate getaway from everyday life!!!

Room Tip: We loved the cabin overlooking the tablelands with out door shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

An amazing location on the slopes of Mt Quincan Crater. A1 service from the hosts Barb and Kerry Kehoe. The cabin was fantastic with breathtaking views over the tablelands. Will recommend this retreat to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
7.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
8.0 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
1.9 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
2.2 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
137 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Property: Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Address: 70 Hunt Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4885, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mt Quincan Crater Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing