We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome escape”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thanks Dennis and Louise for providing superb service during our 3 day escape. Mt Quincan is truly a special place. We loved the zest you have for the property and the wildlife and rainforest that are found in the surrounds are truly amazing especially the tree kangaroos. The recommendation for Flynns restaurant was also great.


Look forward to seeing you again soon at Mt Quincan

Steve and Nicole.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the crater provide a real sense of seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
216
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a beautiful peaceful spot this is. Everything has been thought of and the welcome basket of goodies and all the food in the fridge was wonderful. The scones with jam and cream on arrival were just delicious and just what we needed. The awesome double spa situated by the window was incredible. Watching the birds and the sunset and sipping champagne..bliss!! We really hoped to see some tree kangaroos and on our 2nd day we were rewarded. We got back to our treehouse at 4pm and right outside were mum and her baby eating in the tree!!! They eventually climbed down and did a couple of wonderful jumps and gave us lots of wonderful photos to treasure. The walk around the crater there was just great and we saw rainbow bee eaters catching moths and dragonflies for their breakfast. We saw the tiniest frogs ever too and they were only the size of a fingernail!!! Highly recommend this place for any romantic celebration or special get away.

Room Tip: Choose treehouse number 4 as you have the best chance of seeing a tree kangaroo there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very peaceful and tranquil place to stay and unwind. Loved the hamper and other little extras in the room, everything was thought off.. Great meeting Dennis and Louise, very welcoming. We will be back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second time back to Mt. Quincan Crater Retreat and it was more amazing than the first time and we didn't think that would be possible. We stayed in the same tree house with the outside shower. We saw a tree kangaroo while eating the great breakfast that was provided each day. It was a pleasure meeting and dealing with Barb's daughter, Kelly. Their friendly manner always makes us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a wonderful surprise! A spectacular location and beautifully appointed cabins were just the beginning. We were blown away from the minute we arrived - every little detail was thought of. This is a very special place - magical really!

Room Tip: Every room would be a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently stayed four nights in one of the crater view retreats, we had high expectations as we had heard about it from friends. Words cannot do it justice! Within minutes of settling in we were watching tree kangaroos from our balcony, something that was repeated a couple of nights later, they sure know how to put on a show! The service was exceptional, so friendly, welcoming and genuine. The attention to detail from the fireplace being set to the roses, port and breakfast all carefully prepared and left especially for us, these guys sure know how to treat a guest! We cannot recommend Mt Quincan highly enough to anyone that wants to spend a few days and nights in a very special place together in total relaxation. A big thanks from us!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, we will definitely ask for Kamala (4) again, views into the crater with no hint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-Marie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Mt Quincan for our one year anniversary and it was just an absolutely beautiful stay. We were greeted at the reception by Dennis who told us a bit about the retreat, the walks we could do and a bit about the wildlife that was around. He then gave us a little hamper that had freshly baked scones (delicious!!), binoculars, woollen socks and a welcome letter and showed us to cabin. After a quick tour of the cabin, we were left to our own devices and we didn't see another person at the retreat for the rest of our stay.
There were provisions for breakfast left in the cabin, along with coffee, tea, juice, oil, balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper. We had brought our own food to cook and the kitchen was well equipped with cooking utensils etc.
It was very peaceful and we were able to sit on the balcony, sip wine and just enjoy the scenery. We had pademelons and bush turkeys hanging around our cabin and we were left food to be able to feed them with.
Highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KezzaB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
7.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
1.9 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#7 of 7 in Yungaburra
20 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Property: Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Address: 70 Hunt Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4885, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mt Quincan Crater Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing