We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - quiet and clean”
Review of Kookaburra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kookaburra Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value - quiet and clean”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Simple motel, with friendly staff and good value for money. Rooms are small but clean with TVs, kettles etc. Small verandah area and BBQ area if you are staying longer.
Close walk to the Platypus creek, and a nice walk into town. Didn;t try the country breakfast but it seemed good value!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWArby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    41
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
97
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our teenage children in two linked rooms.The rooms were very clean, well maintained and the breakfasts were lovely on the small verandah. The wi fi was great for the kids and there is a lovely circular walk around the village down by the river for platypus spotting!!All in all a great stay here on our way around the atherton tablelands!!e The hosts were helpul and friendly and recommended places to eat. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah278_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
339 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Our group stayed for one night at this clean comfortable little motel.Free WI-Fi was a very nice plus. Our room, though small was very nice and had a table outside overlooking the very pretty garden. The hosts were very helpful and knowledgeable. We had heard it was possible to see wild platypus nearby and we were given exact directions with the result that I did indeed see the platypus.It was also a short walk into town to the Lake Eacham hotel for a classic pub meal for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed one night in Yungaburra. Kookaburra Lodge is a very clean, comfortable motel , with very reasonable room rates. It also has free wi-fi. Located a few minutes walk from the main street. The owners were extremely helpful, providing lots of local information and recommendations. It is set in a lovely garden environment. We had dinner at Flynn's Restaurant, which is just a stroll down the hill. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good centre for exploring the Tablelands. Highlight of Yungburra is the fact that you can see platypus in the water, lovely and engaging animals. "Historic Yungburra" it is just a quiet pleasant little hamlet with a pub and some restaurants, Nic's Restaurany is great. Accomodation is very small but pleasant and clean. Nice surrounds. Very enjoyable. The Hosts were lovely. This is close to the township and an easy walk to the Lake Eacham.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights with our family as we were in town for a family wedding. Rooms accomodate 2 people only with queen or twin bed configuration, which suited us fine. All rooms had ensuites which while not modern were clean and quite roomy. We ordered breakfast one morning, the scrambled eggs are delightful and the pancakes lovely and fluffy. All of our party slept well and our hosts were wonderful. This is close to the township and an easy walk to the Lake Eacham hotel for a pub meal, or other restaurants Flynns and Vienna restaurant also just as close.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativecatz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Having decided upon this property as a 'base' for our touring/re-discovering the Tablands region, we found our stay pleasant. The Hosts were lovely, including their friendly four-legged friend. The day we arrived, we relaxed on the balcony outside our room, overlooking the lush garden, which has such a varying array of plants. The room was pleasant & clean. The bathroom housed the shower, basin, small fridge & amenities & had the toilet in a seperated section.
Breakfast was served on the table & chairs setting on the balcony, which was lovely, even though on the first morning, the weather was overcast & showery in patches. The area is undercover & out of the weather, so you could still enjoy the tranquilty of the surrounds. Delivered at the time stated & with a friendly disposition & manner.
Yungaburra, itself, is a pleasant villiage with several restaurants close by, including a Historic Pub, which has the occassional entertainment of touring & local musicians. All these venues are within a pleasant walking distance from the Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyNorthernGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.3 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
2.2 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Lodge

Property: Kookaburra Lodge
Address: 3 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Lodge is a 12 room motel set in tropical gardens in the heart of historical Yungaburra village. Each room is en suite and air-conditioned with its own veranda where room service breakfasts are served. The motel's off-highway location is a bonus with no traffic noise. We are within walking distance from restaurants, shops and Peterson creek where the Platypus live. We are also Bike Friendly so if your riding the Mountain Bike Trails or the scenic roads around the Tablelands we have secure storage for your bike along with workbench and tools and wash down area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kookaburra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Yungaburra
Kookaburra Motel Yungaburra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing