We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Kookaburra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kookaburra Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here for just one night unfortunately, but could have stayed for a week. Friendly owners (the place was for sale by the way) and a very cosy place with nice gardens. The rooms are small-ish but have everything you need and there is a covered outdoor sitting area at every room. Rooms are clean and you have everything you need. The breakfast is recommended, with fresh products and good coffee. They'll bring it to your room. And the price is just fantastic, still possible these days as this place shows!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is a small motel with a dozen compact rooms set around a nice garden. The space in the rooms is well used and it doesn't feel too cramped. We were on a 2 week road trip so had a pile of stuff with us and managed not to be tripping over it all the time. The fridge is in the bathroom which might upset some people.

It is walking distance to anything is Yungaburra - but then again anywhere in Yungaburra is walking distance from anywhere else!

Free wifi seemed pretty good and we were in one of the furthest rooms from reception were I'm guessing the router is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our host at first disputed our booking. Bad start. Tiny clean room crammed with unnecessary nick nacks instead of a comfortable bed. Ours was hard as a rock. Likewise the blanket. The light outside on the veranda assured us of a service station ambience the whole night. Location is excellent. Why not consider buying this property (it's on the market) and improve it?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidWhiteFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Simple motel, with friendly staff and good value for money. Rooms are small but clean with TVs, kettles etc. Small verandah area and BBQ area if you are staying longer.
Close walk to the Platypus creek, and a nice walk into town. Didn;t try the country breakfast but it seemed good value!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWArby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our teenage children in two linked rooms.The rooms were very clean, well maintained and the breakfasts were lovely on the small verandah. The wi fi was great for the kids and there is a lovely circular walk around the village down by the river for platypus spotting!!All in all a great stay here on our way around the atherton tablelands!!e The hosts were helpul and friendly and recommended places to eat. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah278_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Our group stayed for one night at this clean comfortable little motel.Free WI-Fi was a very nice plus. Our room, though small was very nice and had a table outside overlooking the very pretty garden. The hosts were very helpful and knowledgeable. We had heard it was possible to see wild platypus nearby and we were given exact directions with the result that I did indeed see the platypus.It was also a short walk into town to the Lake Eacham hotel for a classic pub meal for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed one night in Yungaburra. Kookaburra Lodge is a very clean, comfortable motel , with very reasonable room rates. It also has free wi-fi. Located a few minutes walk from the main street. The owners were extremely helpful, providing lots of local information and recommendations. It is set in a lovely garden environment. We had dinner at Flynn's Restaurant, which is just a stroll down the hill. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.2 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
0.3 mi away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
On the Wallaby Lodge
On the Wallaby Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yungaburra
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Lodge

Address: 3 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range: £60 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Lodge is a 12 room motel set in tropical gardens in the heart of historical Yungaburra village. Each room is en suite and air-conditioned with its own veranda where room service breakfasts are served. The motel's off-highway location is a bonus with no traffic noise. We are within walking distance from restaurants, shops and Peterson creek where the Platypus live. We are also Bike Friendly so if your riding the Mountain Bike Trails or the scenic roads around the Tablelands we have secure storage for your bike along with workbench and tools and wash down area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kookaburra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Yungaburra
Kookaburra Motel Yungaburra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing